Miley Cyrus Drops ‘Psycho Killer’ Cover From Talking Heads Tribute Album

From the forthcoming Talking Heads tribute album, Miley Cyrus has released her rendition of “Psycho Killer.” In December last year, A24 Music revealed “Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute to Talking Heads’ Stop Making Sense.” The album is already available, with 16 musicians covering songs from the New York band. Talking Heads themselves performed the 1978 version of “Take Me to the River” by Al Green, which is featured on the already published Lady version of the song. The synthpop-heavy version of the famous song “Psycho Killer” by Miley Cyrus has now been published. Despite her initial performance of the acoustic version at Chateau Marmont in March, it has since been discovered that the album version features a pulsating synth in the background and a new-wave, solid beat.

The pop star contributes some brand-new lyrics to the cover as well. “Burning Down the House,” performed by Paramore on January 31, was the first song heard before the collection. Rumours of a breakup began after the pop-punk band deleted all of their social media accounts, which was their first new release since then. As payment, David Byrne released his version of the band’s smash song “Hard Times” on vinyl ahead of its exclusive Record Store Day release. The covers of “Girlfriend Is Better” by Girl in Red, “Psycho Killer” by Miley Cyrus, and “Making Flippy Floppy” by Teezo Touchdown have also been published. The project also features The National, Blondshell, The Cavemen, Jean Dawson, Kevin Abstract, The Linda Lindas, Toro y Moi, and BADBADNOTGOOD, among other musicians.

Celebrated with the recent re-release of Jonathan Demme’s legendary concert film Stop Making Sense, the album aims to introduce Talking Heads’ music to a new generation of listeners while providing longtime fans with an alternative take on the band’s songs.

The ‘Everyone’s Getting Involved: A Tribute to Talking Heads’ Stop Making Sense’ tracklist: 

1. ‘Psycho Killer’ by Miley Cyrus
2. ‘Heaven’: The National
3. ‘Thank You For Sending Me An Ange’l—Blondshell
4. ‘Found a’Job’—The Linda Lindas
5. ‘Slippery People’: Él Mató a un Policía Motorizado
6. ‘Burning Down the House’—Paramore
7. ‘Life During Wartime’ by Dj Tunez
8. ‘Making Flippy Floppy’ (Teezo Touchdown)
9. ‘Swamp’ by Jean Dawson
10. ‘What A Day That’Was’—The Cavemen.
11. ‘This Must Be The Place’ (Naive Melody)—BADBADNOTGOOD (Feat. Norah Jones)
12. ‘Once In A Lifetime’ by Kevin Abstract
13. ‘Genius Of Love’ by Toro y Moi (feat. Brijean)
14. ‘Girlfriend Is Better’—Girl In Red
15. ‘Take Me To The River’ – Lorde
16. ‘Crosseyed And Painless’ – Chicano Batman (Feat. Money Mark)

Back to top button