Russian Circles Release New Album “Gnosis”

Heavy instrumental greats Russian Circles have released a new album Gnosis via Sargent House. Their eighth album, Gnosis eschews the varied terrain of their past works as it razes a path through the most harrowing territory of their sounds by employing a new songwriting technique.Russian Circles Release New Album &Quot;Gnosis&Quot;, Yours Truly, News, April 13, 2024

Rather than crafting songs out of fragmented ideas in the practice room, full songs were written and recorded independently before being shared with other members so that their initial vision was retained. While these demos spanned the full breadth of the band’s varied styles, the more cinematic compositions were ultimately excised in favor of the physically cathartic pieces.

The album was engineered and mixed by Kurt Ballou at God City with additional tracking done at Chicago’s Electrical Audio. The band recently released their first ever music video for the title track, a video that has quickly amassed over 100k views in less than two weeks. Watch that below.

The band will embark on US and international tours next month. Kicking off September 15th in Minneapolis, the US portion will make stops in Denver, San Francisco, Los Angeles, DC, Brooklyn and more before wrapping November 12th for a hometown Metro Chicago show. In March of 2023 the band will continue their dates in the EU with Cult of Luna. See full dates below.

Gnosis Tracklisting

  1. Tupilak
  2. Conduit
  3. Gnosis
  4. Vlastimil
  5. Ó Braonáin
  6. Betrayal
  7. Bloom

Back to top button