VGMAs Nominees: Nigerian Stars Shine In 2023 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards Nominations

Nigerian music stars Burna Boy, Ayra Starr, Asake, and Kizz Daniel have received nominations for the 2023 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards (VGMAs) in the Best African Artist category. Other Nigerians who made the nomination list include Omah Lay for Best Collaboration, Mayorkun for his feature on Camidoh’s ‘Sugarcane’ remix, Yemi Alade for her collaboration on ‘Dumebi’ with Mzvee, and BNXN for ‘Better Days’ with Sarkodie. The 2023 VGMAs will take place on May 13 at the Grand Arena of the Accra International Conference Centre (AICC).

Below is a summary of the key categories and their nominees:

Best African Artist

Arya Star
Burna Boy
Kizz Daniel
The Therapist

Best Collaboration

Camidoh – Sugarcane (Remix) ft. King Promise & Mayokun
King Promise – Ten Toes ft. Omah Lay
MzVee – Dumebi ft. Yemi Alade
Sarkodie – Better days ft. Bnxn

Best Afropop Song

Stonebwoy – Therapy
Wendy Shay – Survivor
Black Sherif – Oil in y Had
DopeNation – Gboza
King Promise – Ten Toes ft. Omah Lay
Kuami Eugene – Takeaway
KiDi – Blessed ft. Movado
Fameye – Thank You

Best Highlife Song

Epixode – Atia ft. Kwabena Kwabena
AK Songstress – My Proposal
Adina – Adi Dede
Kwesi Authur – Adom
Kelvyn Boy – Down Flat
Kofi Kinaata – Have Mercy

Best Hiplife Song

Lasmid – Friday Night
Medikal – Stubborn Academy
Jay Bahd – Anadwo
DJ Breezy – Abonten ft. Kwesi Authur, Mugeez, Stonebwoy, Black Sherif & Smallgod
Amerado – Grace ft. Lasmid
Kweku Flick – Ewiase

The nominees were announced during a ceremony on March 18, 202The VGMAs celebrate the achievements of artists in the Ghanaian music industry and beyond, focusing on recognizing outstanding talent and dedication to the art of music.

See the nomination list below:

Full Nomination

Category Nominees
Best Hiplife Song Yeeko – Okyeame Kwame ft Kuami Eugene
No Fugazy – Sarkodie
BiiBi Bese – Kwame Yogot ft Kuami Eugene
Accra – Medikal
Abodie – Captain Planet ft Kuami Eugene
Kom – Fancy Gadam
Zinabu – Dopenation ft Dancegod Lloyd, Afrobeat, DWP Academy
S3k3 – Mr Drew
Video of The Year Mon Bebe – KiDi
Mood – Mr Drew
Odeshie – Epixode
Bad Girls Luv Money Remix – Amaarae
Slow Down – King Promise
Rollies And Cigar – Sarkodie
Nyinya – Bosom P Yung
Let It Go – Kweku Smoke
Fine Girl – Mona 4 Reall
Best HipLife/HipHop Artiste Sarkodie
Okyeame Kwame
Black Sherif
D Black
Best Afrobeats Song Celebrate – Kwesi Arthur
Dollar On You – Kuami Eugene
E Choke Sefa ft Mr Drew
Coming Home – Mzvee ft Tiwa Savage
Sugarcane – Camidoh ft Phantom
Mon Bebe – KiDi
Je M’apelle – Darko Vibes ft Davido
Best Afropop Song Wendy Shay ft Shay Gang – Heat
Gyakie ft Omah Lay – Forever Remix
Mr Drew – Mood
King Promise – Slow Down
D Black ft Quamina MP, Stonebwoy – Enjoyment Minister
Amaarae ft Moliy, Kali Uchis – Bad Girls Luv Money Remix
Fameye – Praise
Afrobeats/Afropop Artiste Sefa
King Promise
Mr. Drew
Wendy Shay
Best Gospel Song
Joyce Blessing – Oluwa Is Involved
Joe Mettle – Ye Obua Mi
Ohemaa Mercy ft MOG Music – Ote Me Mu
Diana Hamilton – Awurade Ye
Celestine Donkor – Only You
Bethel Revival ft Joe Mettle – Enyo
Akesse Brempong ft MOG Music – Yaweh
Empress Gifty – Eye Woaa
Scott Evans – Mapek3
Obaapa Christy – The Glory
Best HighLife Song
Kofi Kinaata – The Grace PT1
Ak Songstress – Jonathan
Akwaboah ft Cina Soul – Obiaa
Bisa KDei – Yard
Kuami Eugene – Te Na Fie
Cina Soul – Feelings
Best HighLife Artiste
Cina Soul
Bisa Kdei
Kuami Eugene
Kofi Kinaata
Album Of The Year
Sarkodie – No Pressure
KiDi – The Golden Boy
Joe Mettle – Experience
Akwaboah – Lighthouse
D Black – Loyalty
Kuami Eugene – The Afro Highlife
Songwriter Of The Year
Minister OJ – Deburu
Fameye – Praise
Abiana – Bo Nooni
Kofi Kinaata – The Grace PT 1
Akwaboah – Obiaa
Diana Hamilton – Awurade Ye
Best Hiphop Song of the Year
Abotre – Amerado ft Black Sherif
Winning – Kwesi Arthur ft Vic Mensa
Second Sermon – Black Sherif
Coachella – Sarkodie ft Kwesi Arthur
Sika Aba Fie Remix – Kweku Darlington ft Kuami Eugene and Kweku Flick
Sore Remix – Yaw Tog ft Stormzy and Kwesi Arthur
Best Reggae/Dancehall Song
Stone Bwoy – 1Gad
Kidi – Touch It
Samini Ft Efya – Picture
Stone Bwoy – Greedy Men
Larruso – New Gen
Epixode – Odeshie
Female Vocal Performance of the year
Celestine Donkor – Only You
Abiana – My House
Esther Godwyll – Faithful God
Niiella – Where You Are
Efe Grace – Overflow
Cina Soul – OMG
Male Vocal Performance
Akwaboah Ntro – Naa
Black Sherif – Golddigger
Joe Mettle – Ye Obuami
KiDi – Bad Things
King Promise – Slow Down
Kweisey Pee – Amazing God
Luigi McLean – Mala
Best African Artiste
Fireboy DML
Collaboration of the year
Captain Planet ft Kuami Eugene – Abodie
Okyeame Kwame ft Kuami Eugene – Yeeko
D Black ft Stonebwoy, Quamina MP – Enjoyment Minister
Sefa ft Mr Drew – E Choke
Kweku Darlington ft Kuami Eugene, Fameye, Yaw Tog, Kweku Flick – Sika Aba Fie Remix
Sarkodie ft Kwesi Arthur – Choachella
Kwame Yogot ft Kuami Eugne – Biibi Besi
Ohemaa Mercy ft MOG Music – Ote Mimu
International Collaboration of the year
Coming Home – Mzvee ft Tiwa Savage
Sore Remix – Yaw Tog ft Kwesi Arthur, Stormzy
Sad Girls Love Money- Amaarae ft Moliy, Kali Uchis
Je M’appelle – DarkoVibes ft Davido
Second Sermon Remix – Black Sherif ft Burna Boy
Spiritual- KiDi ft Kuami Eugene, Patoranking
Non-Living Thing- Sarkodie ft Oxlade
Best Gospel Artiste Of The Year
Diana Antwi Hamilton
Rev. Obaapa Christy
Celestine Donkor Music
Empress Gifty
Joe Mettle
Ohemaa Mercy
Akesse Brempong
Record of the Year
Ntro Naa – Akwaboah Music
Country Hot – Afriyie Wutah
Praise – Fameye
Meduru – Minister OJ
Sad Girls Luv Money – Amaarae ft Moliy & Kali Uchis
Love Locked Down – Okyeame Kwame ft Adina Thembi
Best Reggae/ Dancehall Artiste Of The Year
Best Rap Performance Of The Year
5th August – 5 – Lyrical Joe
Last Verse – Strongman Burner
Wudini – Obibini
Wontease3 – TeePhlow
Rollies and Cigar – Sarkodie
The Throne – Amerado Burner
Best New Artiste Of The Year
Black Sherif
Kweku Darlington
Kwame Yogot
Vodafone Most Popular Song Of The Year
2nd Sermon – Black Sherif
Dollar On You – Kuami Eugene
Ye Obua Me – Joe Mettle
Praise – Fameye
E Choke – S3FA
Mood – Mr Drew
Artiste Of The Year
King Promise
Kuami Eugene
Black Sherif
Joe Mettle

Back to top button