With An Expanded Edition, Big Sean Honors The 10-Year Anniversary Of His Mixtape “DETROIT”

For its tenth anniversary, Big Sean released his 2012 mixtape Detroit on streaming sites.

Before releasing the album at midnight on Sunday, September 4, the Detroit rapper made the announcement. The mixtape contains all of the original tracks with J. Cole, French Montana, Kendrick Lamar, Chris Brown, Juicy J, Wiz Khalifa, Royce Da 5’9, Jhené Aiko, Wale, SayItAintTone, Earlly Mac, Mike Posner, James Fauntleroy, and Chip Tha Ripper are among the artists who have contributed to the album.

Along with the skits by Common, Jeezy, and Snoop Dogg, “More Thoughts,” an unreleased song from 2019, is also included. “10 years since i dropped this baby n it’s finally available on all platforms + the song ‘More Thoughts,’” Big Sean wrote on Instagram. “What a journey it’s been already, cant thank y’all enough. #DETROITMixtape See you soon. New music very soon.”

Before Detroit became available for streaming, Big Sean used Twitter to respond to fan inquiries regarding the mixtape’s creation. Speaking on collaborating with J. Cole, he said: “at the time n Cole were working in studios right next to each other at NO ID studio n seeing each other everyday in passing for awhile. That’s how we made 24k of Gold.”

When Detroit was first made available on DatPiff on September 5, 2012, the website crashed due to the over 1.5 million views in one day and the 500,000–700,000 downloads that occurred within three hours.

Back to top button