2 Chainz “Dope Don’t Sell Itself” Album Review

Read our review of 2 Chainz's seventh studio album "Dope Don't Sell Itself".

Dope Don’t Sell Itself

2 Chainz

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Release Date: 2022-02-04
  • Explicitness: explicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 12
  • ℗ 2022 Gamebread, LLC, under exclusive license to Def Jam Recordings, a division of UMG

On Friday, February 4, 2022, 2 Chainz’s seventh studio album was made available to fans across various digital and streaming platforms. The album was first announced in mid-2021. At the time, he shared that the project would serve as his last trap album. Of course, fans were excited to hear what he’d do with the project to bow out of Trap gracefully.

In January 2022, 2 Chainz announced that the album was done and shared plans to release it this year. With the new album, 2 Chainz gives fans what some would call some of his best Trap music. The fans seem to feel it because the album has been well talked about all over social media since it was released.

Cover art

2 Chainz &Quot;Dope Don'T Sell Itself&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024
Album Art

2 Chainz first drew attention to the album before it was released when he shared the cover art. The cover art was unveiled on January 25, 2022, and he called it his “first bank account”.

The art features a photo of a shoebox stacked full of dollar bills. A hand (Chainz’s maybe) with iced-out chains on its wrist, icey rings, and a long roll of blunt between its fingers try to put the shoebox cover in its place.

The art seems to show how many made selling dope is kept. No doubt Chainz called the shoebox his first bank account. He had once stated that he dealt marijuana while in high school and got arrested at the age of 15 for possession of cocaine. So the art pays homage to his past life.


With the “Dope Don’t Sell Itself” album, 2 Chainz goes big with all the features. He teamed up with some of the biggest and most acclaimed voices in Trap and rap to create stunning collaborative joints with them.

On 9 out of the album’s 12 tracks, Chainz collaborates with other artists. They include Moneybagg Yo, Beat King, Lil Baby, Roddy Ricch, 42 Dugg, YoungBoy Never Broke Again, Lil Durk, Sleepy Rose, Swae Lee, Stove God Cooks, Symba, Major Myjah, and Jacquees.

On each of the album’s features, 2 Chainz seems to play into the vibe of each artist. The collaborations are basically tracks made in heaven because each featured artist seems perfect for the song. The fourth track, “Outstanding”, featuring Roddy Ricch, proves this. Chainz blends into Ricch’s laid-back vibe while still maintaining his signature style.

Production & Delivery

2 Chainz worked with a long list of Hip Hop producers to make the album happen. Some of the producers on the album include Grammy winners, nominees, and upcoming ones. They all do amazing jobs on the project.

They include WomaticTracks and Corey Swimmer, who worked on the first track, “Bet It Back”. BeatKing produces “Pop Music”, Buddah Bless “, King Pen Ghostwriter”, and “10 Bracelets”, Hit-Boy, Corbett, and G. Ry “Outstanding”. FKi 1st & Nolan Presley “Neighbors Know My Name”, LilJuMadeDaBeat  “Million Dollars Worth Of Game”, Mondo & Mannie Fresh “Free B.G”. Smash David & TurnMeUpJosh “Lost Kings”, Big Papito & Krispy Hendrixx “Caymans”, LordQuest & Caston Grigsby “Vlad TV”, and C-Gutta, Luke Crowder & Kitwan McCoy “If You Want Me To”.

2 Chainz’s delivery on the album is perfect. That’s the best way to describe it. He rides every beat without stressing. He also does not bother about being outperformed by his guest artist and dominates the songs proving whose project it is.

The “Dope Don’t Sell Itself” album houses a total of 12 tracks, most of which are features with guest artists. Chainz first unveiled the album’s tracklist on January 27, 2022, two days after releasing the cover art. The tracklist was released through the CD pre-order via his official website.

Two singles were released to promote the album before officially released on February 4th. The lead single “Million Dollars Worth of Game”, which features 42 Dugg, was released on January 7. The second single, “Pop Kings”, featuring Moneybagg Yo and BeatKing, was released two weeks later, on January 27, 2021.


Tracks NO

Tracks Title

Play Time

1 Bet It Back 2:57
2 Pop Music (feat. Moneybagg Yo & Beatking) 2:05
3 Kingpen Ghostwriter (feat. Lil Baby) 2:22
4 Outstanding (feat. Roddy Ricch) 2:55
5 Neighbours Know My Name 1:44
6 Million Dollars Worth of Game (feat. 42 Dugg) 2:38
7 Free B.G. 1:44
8 10 Bracelets (feat. YoungBoy Never Broke Again) 3:09
9 Lost Kings (feat. Lil Durk & Sleepy Rose) 2:37
10 Caymans (feat. Swae Lee) 3:13
11 Vlad TV (feat. Stove God Cooks, Symba & Major Myjah) 4:27
12 If You Want Me To (feat. Jacquees) 2:38

Since the project was released, the songs “Outstanding” featuring Roddy Ricch, “Lost Kings” featuring Lil Durk & Sleepy Rose, “Caymans” featuring Swae Lee, and more have been faves among fans.


Before the “Dope Don’t Sell Itself” album was released, fans were informed that it would be 2 Chainz’s last Trap album. Of course, with that information, there were high hopes for it. It seems those hopes were met. Since the album’s release on February 4, there have been positive reactions to it all over social media. While Chainz may not have delivered his best work, it is inarguably a well-produced and delivered project. Be sure to check it out.


Back to top button