Charlie Puth “CHARLIE” Album Review


Charlie Puth

    • Genre: Pop
    • Date: 07 Oct, 2022
    • Content: explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2022 Atlantic Records Group LLC

Pop musician, Charlie Puth, has released “Charlie,” his first full-length album since 2018’s ” “Voicenotes.” The majority of the songs have a modest synth and loop arrangement, which lets Puth’s soulful harmonization take center stage. Despite most of the album lacked originality or lyrical depth, it is an album that allows the musician to exercise his talents as a talented producer.

Puth definitely puts everything he’s got into the twelve songs on the album, cramming more than was thought possible into a two-minute pop tune. Charlie doesn’t do anything particularly groundbreaking for Puth, but his vocal ability remains impressive. Although these songs frequently melt into one another, his quest for love—and a lover—can occasionally make for an interesting narrative.

Despite the fact that a majority of “Charlie” lacks profundity or a particular flare, the album is still vibrant and energetic, and what Puth lacks in poetic ability, he more than makes up for with brief moments of absolute pop greatness.

Album Cover Art

Charlie Puth &Quot;Charlie&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 28, 2024

Puth, in his singlet tucked into his black leather pants, leans on a white cube and striking a model-like pose for the cam. Meanwhile in the background, some words and images and musical instruments and notes are scribbled behind him, all of them having a kind of attraction to him.

Tracks and Features

Light Switch, the album’s lead track, is unquestionably a standout. This catchy, pure single serves as a reminder of why we first fell in love with Puth back in 2015. Despite being made with the clear intent of being divided into thirty-second chunks for the use of TikTok creators. The seminal “Funk Wav Bounces Vol. 1” by Calvin Harris seems to have impacted “Light Switch,” but sadly it doesn’t have the same creativity or freshness.

Despite this, Puth is still a skilled producer, as seen by the album’s other standout song, “Smells Like Me.” This flawless soft-pop song, along with the rest of the album, is not particularly ground-breaking but allows Puth to showcase his talent as a talented producer. It is a sweet, masterfully crafted example of Puth at his best.

The song “Left And Right,” which is catchy, cheerful, and skillfully crafted, has the album’s strongest Charlie Puth vibe. It’s easy to see why the song has received 88 million global streams; it’s a moment of pop greatness in cooperation with BTS’s Jung-Kook.

Another good example of Puth’s production prowess is the song “Loser.” The song’s weak bridge and simplistic hook, despite its sophisticated lyrics, show Puth’s awareness of the formulaic pop song and his ability to make it work so beautifully for him. The track isn’t particularly well-made, although there is a very minor pop-punk influence on “There’s A First Time For Everything.” There is a noticeable impression that Puth is approaching the music with little concern for curation or choice.

The musician also returns to the piano on the song “When You’re Sad I’m Sad,” which is where we first heard him perform in 2015 with his ground-breaking first single, “See You Again.” But ‘When You’re Sad I’m Sad’ doesn’t have the emotional depth it so obviously seeks, unlike ‘See You Again’. With the lack of depth or creativity in ‘I Don’t Think I Like Her’ and ‘No More Drama,’ the album’s quality declines toward the end.


1 That’s Hilarious 2:24
2 Charlie Be Quiet! 2:08
3 Light Switch 3:07
4 There’s A First Time For Everything 2:16
5 Smells Like Me 3:24
6 Left and Right Ft. Jung Kook 2:34
7 Loser 3:24
8 When You’re Sad I’m Sad 2:54
9 Marks On My Neck 2:18
10 Tears On My Piano 3:01
11 I Don’t Think That I Like Her 3:08
12 No More Drama 2:20

Album Theme

Puth attempts to paint a more intimate portrayal of himself on the 12 tracks on this album. According to Puth, who calls this record “sonically his personality,” the album personifies a wide range of real-life emotions, including both confidence and confusion.

Production Credits

Charlie was indeed very immersed into making this album because only him handled the album’s production.


Back to top button