Christina Aguilera “La Fuerza” EP Review

Title: La Fuerza – EP

Artist Name: Christina Aguilera

  • Genre: Pop in Spanish
  • Release Date: 2022-01-21
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: International
  • Track Count: 6
  • ℗ 2022 Sony Music Entertainment US Latin LLC

This weekend, Grammy-winning American singer and songwriter Christina Aguilera blessed the world with her second Spanish project, “La Fuerza EP”. The Extended Play, which is reportedly the first of 3 parts, serves as a follow-up to Aguilera’s eighth album “Liberation” released in 2018. The entire 3-part project, when complete, will serve as her ninth album and second Spanish-language album after “Mi Reflejo” was released in 2000. The project is translated to mean “The Force”. This is just perfect because Christina has been a force in the music industry for years now. Referred to as the “Voice of a Generation”, she was significant in pop revival in the late 90s and early 2000s.

Cover art

Christina Aguilera &Quot;La Fuerza&Quot; Ep Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 28, 2024

A few days before the release of the “La Fuerza” EP, Christina unveiled the cover art for the project and announced the release date. The cover art design comes off a bit confusing. It feels like some presence when you look at it. Of course, that perfectly designs the word “Force”. It comes off as a symbol with so much happening perfectly in its design at once. An X-shaped cross dominates the art, right behind wings attached to what looks to be a steel rose (or a style wine cup of some sort). The art is striking, not easily defined but a true “force”.


The “La Fuerza” EP comes with some very impressive features including acclaimed singers Becky G, Nicki Nicole, and Nathy Peluso. The ladies appear in the song “Pa’ Mis Muchachas”. Aguilera has said that the song pays “homage to women”. So, it is only expected that it features strong female voices like hers. “I was introduced to Nathy, Nicki, and Becky, and there was no doubt in my mind that they were the perfect muchachas for this track.” She has also stated that she chose them because of the “strength that they exude”. In the song, she revealed that they tried to “make sure that this was a representation of Latin women who are the strength of a family, the backbone.”

She also worked with Puerto Rican singer, Ozuna on the EP. Ozuna appears on the song “Santo”, which was released on January 20 as the EP’s third single. Ozuna is the only male artist featured on the EP.

Production & vocal delivery

To create the EP, Aguilera worked with a couple of producers including Rafa Arcaute, DallasK, JonTheProducer, Yasmil Marrufo, and Federico Vindver.

Aguilera began work on the project during the pandemic. The EP was reportedly made in 4 weeks, with the first produced song (and lead single) being “Pa’ Mis Muchachas”. Speaking about it, she stated that she had worked with different collaborators. Working on the EP’s lead single, she said that “the energy was special”. “The guitar strings, the lyrics, intensity, and passion within the song poured out of everyone.”

There has never been any doubt or question about Christina’s vocal delivery on a project. She proved herself yet again as the undeniable “Voice of a Generation”. Her vocals dominate the entire project as the force we have always known her. It screams “Christina’s turf” from the first track to the last one.

The “La Fuerza” EP houses a total of 6 tracks. The first track is “Ya Llegué” followed by “Pa’ Mis Muchachas” as the second track and lead single. Tracks 3 to 6 include “Somos Nada”, “Santo”, “Como Yo”, and La Reina. In addition, three tracks,  out of the 6, were released as singles to promote the project.


NO Title Artist Time
1 Ya Llegué Christina Aguilera 3:03
2 Pa Mis Muchachas (feat. Nathy Peluso) Christina Aguilera, Becky G. & NICKI NICOLE 3:36
3 Somos Nada Christina Aguilera 3:01
4 Santo Christina Aguilera & Ozuna 3:03
5 Como Yo Christina Aguilera 2:46
6 La Reina Christina Aguilera 3:48

As mentioned earlier, the all-female collaboration was released on October 22, 2021, as the EP’s lead single. A music video accompanied it. Aguilera called the song “the first episode of a long story to come” and “a celebration of individuality”. The piano ballad, “Somos Nada” was released as the second single on November 18, 2021, along with its music video. With Becky G, Nicole, and Peluso, Aguilera performed the two tracks at the 22nd Annual Latin Grammy Awards.

The EP’s third and final single “Santo” featuring Puerto Rican singer, Ozuna was released on January 20, 2022, a day before the project dropped. Both Christina and her collaborators have been praised for their delivery on the EP.


While the “La Fuerza” EP marks Christina Aguilera’s return to making Spanish music, it also proves that she hasn’t lost touch. Everything about the project is well thought out, from its title, cover art, down to the tracks. It is all perfection. Indeed, the “Voice of a Generation” still commands attention today.


Back to top button