Foo Fighters “But Here We Are” Album Review

But Here We Are

Foo Fighters

  • Genre: Rock
  • Date: 02 Jun, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 10
  • ℗ 2023 Roswell Records, Inc.

“But Here We Are” is the concept album that the Foo Fighters never wanted to make. They made it a year after the devastating death of their brother and quarter-century hyperdrive engine, drummer Taylor Hawkins. This, the band’s first album since 2021’s Medicine at Midnight, is a bittersweet triumph and easily the most meaningful music they’ve created.

Of course, several great bands lose members prematurely, sometimes due to the rock and roll lifestyle. Some people can march on in the wake of death, while others cannot. So, certainly, the entire record is a Hawkins tribute. It’s breathtaking at times. At moments, it just sounds like the Foo Fighters, which is fantastic given where they were a year ago.

Album Cover Art

Foo Fighters &Quot;But Here We Are&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 23, 2024

If you looked at the above image and wondered if there was anything there, you are in order or should be, because there is nothing but faint lines across what is supposed to be an album cover, taking minimalism and simplicity to a different level.

Tracks and Features

Opening track “Rescued” makes it clear right away that the Foos are still active and is a typical energetic power-pop and rock song. They’re still steady rockers who are aware of the potential of a well-placed vocal hook and the occasional tempo variation. The song “Under You” is strong pop with a lot of self-reflection and lyrics about getting over loss and remembering his loved one. Grohl wonders if he’ll ever climb out from under tragedy. He sings of being uninspired on some days.

With Grohl reflecting on how he’s hearing voices and “none of them are you,” “Hearing Voices” is more excellent pop-rock. His simple “I wish you were” and “Nothing like you could last forever” admissions are when it becomes really raw. Despite its focus on someone facing reality, the title track, “But Here We Are,” comes across as a little musical filler.

Grohl’s unavoidable Beatles influence is evident in “The Glass,” which is a tried-and-true formula at times. Even though Grohl rightfully acts like he doesn’t want to trip on anyone’s toes throughout the entire record, “Nothing at All” serves as a reminder that there are still drums in a Foo Fighters song. It started as a straightforward yet well-constructed pop song and turned into a lighthearted rocker.

Dream-pop song “Show Me How” has wonderful harmonies from Grohl’s daughter Violet, 17, who serves as a constant reminder that the Foos are a large family. Power ballad “Beyond Me,” which features Grohl pleading for understanding and is initially accompanied by piano and develops into another successful Beatle-like development, stands in stark contrast to it. Grohl laments, “It just beyond me.”

This prepares for the monumental “The Teacher.” On the most epic song on the album, going existential was an obvious choice. However, the grand gesture is essential. It then takes off with excellent dynamics and enough fuel to run for 10 minutes, making it the longest Foo Fighters song ever, like a train picking up speed for the long journey.

The Foos end with “Rest,” a heartbreakingly genuine emotional message from Grohl to Hawkins, just when you think they can’t give any more. The song is the best homage they could have paid to their late friend. We all deserve to feel such love.


1 Rescued 4:18
2 Under You 3:39
3 Hearing Voices 3:48
4 But Here We Are 4:43
5 The Glass 3:49
6 Nothing At All 3:27
7 Show Me How 4:53
8 Beyond Me 3:54
9 The Teacher 10:04
10 Rest 5:33

Album Theme

The album is a reminder, a look at the band’s journey, and a strong declaration that they still here even though their friend and bandmate is no more. Not only is Hawkins’ inventiveness, wit, and electric presence missing—technically, but not in spirit, as the band would say—but his passing also has an impact on the Foos in the crucial regard of their creative spirit. He is the subject of every song, and it seems like there will be more to come.

Production Credits

To produce the album, Foo Fighters worked closely with record producer Greg Kurstin, a frequent collaborator.


Back to top button