Gunna “DS4EVER” Album Review

Check out our review of Gunna's third record "DS4EVER".

Gunna » DS4EVER



  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Release Date: 2022-01-07
  • Explicitness: explicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 19
  • ℗ 2022 Young Stoner Life Records / 300 Entertainment

On Friday, January 7, 2022, Gunna unleashed his highly anticipated 3rd album. The album was released the same day as The Weeknd’s new “Dawn FM”, but it also owned its place on digital and streaming platforms. The album was released via YSL Records and 300 Entertainment and serves as the fourth and final instalment of the rapper’s “Drip Season” series.

There is no doubt that Gunna opted to go big with the album from the beginning of the year. The project became an instant success following its release. It dominated the top 20 of the Apple Music chart and has hit the top spot across several countries.

Cover Art

The cover art for the “DS4EVER” was unveiled on January 4, 3 days after he announced the album’s release date. American architect Daniel Arsham created the art. The cover art features which looks to be a sculpture replica of the ‘Too Easy’ rapper with dents to his face.

Gunna &Quot;Ds4Ever&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 14, 2024The dents come off as deep intentional scratches; one above the sculpture’s forehead, the other stretched down to its left brow, one across the right cheek, and the last just beside its chin. The sculpture spots what looks like black rectangular shades that cover the eyes and a bold snake-inspired chain with the name “Gunna” hanging underneath it. The art is audacious and daring.


A look at the guest contributors on the project proves that it was well thought out. It features contributions from Future, Young Thug, 21 Savage, Kodak Black, Chlöe, Lil Baby, G Herbo, Nechie, Yung Bleu, Chris Brown, and Roddy Rich. Future and Young Thug lend a hand on the “Pushin P” track, and Thug also comes through on “Mop”. Kodak Black features on “How You Did That”, and 21 Savage delivers on “Thought I Was Playing”. While Chlöe lends a hand on “You & Me”, G Herbo delivers on “Idk That Bitch”. Nechie, Yung Bleu & Chris Brown, and Future & Roddy Rich all contribute to the tracks “Life of Sin”, “Die Alone”, and “Too Easy (Remix)”.

Production & Vocal Delivery

Just like we mentioned earlier, Gunna went big with this album. The project features production credits from some of the biggest names in the game. They include Ambezza, Baso, Bobby Raks, Brandon McNab, Charlie Handsome, Dez Wright, DJ Cash, Fano, iWeirdo, Juke Wong, Lnk, Metro Boomin, Mike Will Made it, Nik Dean, Rex Kudo, Sean Momberger, Shawn Ferrari, Southside, Taurus, Turbo, Wheezy, and Young Twix. All the producers deliver greatly on the project.

The new “DS4EVER” was preceded by its lead and only single “Too Easy”. The joint was first released as a collaboration with fellow American rapper, Future on September 24, 2021. In early December, a remix was released, including an additional feature from “The Box” star Roddy Rich. The song went on to peak at number 38 on the US Billboard Hot 100 songs chart.

Before the album dropped, Gunna unveiled the official tracklist on social media on January 5th, after revealing the cover art the day before. It revealed an 18-track album with the American rapper delivering some of the tracks solo. Fans opened up on social media about anticipating some of the features.

Following the release of the album on January 7, the joint “Pushin P” featuring Future and Young Thug was released as a single. An official music video was also released for the song. In addition, several songs on the project have also gained attention on social media. Some of them include “Die Alone” with Chris Brown & Yung Bleu (which most fans admitted to listening to first before any other tracks on the album), “You & Me” with “Have Mercy” singer, Chlöe (which at some point was the highest-charting female song on Apple Music at no.12).


NO Title Artist Time
1 private island Gunna 2:12
2 pushin P (feat. Young Thug) Gunna & Future 2:16
3 poochie gown Gunna 2:21
4 mop (feat. Young Thug) Gunna 3:05
5 thought i was playing Gunna & 21 Savage 2:47
6 how you did that (feat. Kodak Black) Gunna 2:40
7 alotta cake Gunna 3:13
8 livin wild Gunna 2:22
9 you & me Gunna & Chloé 2:24
10 south to west Gunna 2:02
11 25k jacket (feat. Lil Baby) Gunna 2:00
12 too easy Gunna & Future 2:18
13 idk that bitch (feat. G Herbo) Gunna 3:30
14 flooded Gunna 2:32
15 life of sin (feat. Nechie) Gunna 2:52
16 die alone (feat. Yung Bleu) Gunna & Chris Brown 4:21
17 missing me Gunna 2:58
18 so far ahead > empire Gunna 5:37
19 too easy (Remix) [feat. Future & Roddy Ricch] Gunna 3:17

Gunna’s “DS4EVER” album has gained massive feedback since its release. Most fans have praised the album’s production, Gunna’s delivery on it, and the guest artists. While some have criticized the project for not being what they expected.


Back to top button