J.I.D “The Forever Story” Album Review

The Forever Story


    • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
    • Date: 26 Aug, 2022
    • Content: explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 15
  • ℗ 2022 Dreamville/Interscope

This is the 3rd full-length album from Atlanta emcee J.I.D. “The Forever Story” is his most intimate work to date. Rap icons Yasiin Bey, Lil Wayne, 21 Savage, as well as colleagues Lil Durk, EARTHGANG, Kenny Mason, Ari Lennox, and many more, appear as special guests on the album. Each song on the album serves as a chapter in J.I.D’s origin tale as a former collegiate football player turned rapper, serving as a precursor.

Album Cover Art

J.i.d &Quot;The Forever Story&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, October 3, 2023

J.I.D is seen in relaxed in a meditative state of mind amidst of different black people, male and female, dressed differently and engaged in different activities as well. There’s a specific highlight on police brutality especially toward black people and the online awareness that now comes with it creatively showcased at the left, bottom corner of the photograph. And judging by the album title, the rapper not only tells his story on this project, but also touches on many topics in the society and how it affects his fellow black folks.

Tracks and Features

After the tuneful “Galaxy” intro, Nonstop da Hitman’s “Raydar,” the album’s first track, begins with a powerful bass line and some hi-hats and declares that “when it rains, it pours” before the beat changes to a more dramatic declaration that he will “take the cattle then burn the farm.” However, “Dance Now” samples Zusha’s “Yoel’s Niggun” and talks about making people dance with his 9, while “Crack Sandwich” takes a more challenging approach and admits that you can tell he never had shit.

The EARTHGANG tags along for the KAYTRANADA/JD Beck-laced “Can’t Punk Me” reminding everything that nothing will stop them leading into Baby Tate & 21 Savage coming into the picture for the chipmunk soul/trap banger “Surround Sound” produced by DJ Scheme talking about putting the rap game on their backs & snatching crowns. “Kody Blu 31” incorporates a crooning sample in the mix encouraging listeners to swang on, but then the Lil Durk-assisted “Bruddanem” shoots for a more mellow aesthetic thanks to DJ Khalil talking about loyalty.

The romance-focused “Can’t Make U Change” opens with a funky instrumental from Dreamville in-house producer Elite before switching into a melodic vocal loop. In the meantime, on “Sistanem,” J.I.D describes the life of a tour over some open boom bap production. “Stars” begins with a murky BADBADNOTGOOD beat and J.I.D talking about having his goals set, with E. Jones changing it up into boom-bap turf and a fantastic Yasiin Bey verse for the outro, while the Lil Wayne-assisted “Just in Time” takes a more symphonic approach while talking about having the time today.

While the song “Better Days” weaves some piano chords into the mix and talks about balancing the highs and lows, “Money” puts a guitar and some live drums provided by Khrysis into the mix and admits that’s all he truly needs. The album closes with “Lauder Too,” a futuristic follow-up to a highlight from The Never Story that was laced by James Blake and Thundercat. The bonus track “2007” is a 7 and a half minute epic that looks back on J.I.D’s life over the past 15 years; it’s a shame that the sample couldn’t get cleared because it’s a great choice for a closer.

Tracklist / Songs





1 Galaxy JID 0:52
2 Raydar JID 3:24
3 Dance Now JID & Kenny Mason 3:47
4 Crack Sandwich JID 4:57
5 Can’t Punk Me JID & EARTHGANG 3:23
6 Surround Sound (feat. 21 Savage & Baby Tate) JID 3:49
7 Kody Blu 31 JID 3:44
8 Bruddanem (feat. Lil Durk) JID 3:55
9 Sistanem JID 6:09
10 Can’t Make U Change JID & Ari Lennox 4:48
11 Stars (feat. Yasiin Bey) JID 4:18
12 Just In Time (feat. Lil Wayne) JID & Kenny Mason 3:27
13 Money JID 4:26
14 Better Days (feat. Johnta Austin) JID 4:14
15 Lauder Too (feat. Ravyn Lenae) JID 3:53

Album Theme

An honest take on his personal journey as an artist and a black man and the state of things in the black community.

Production Credits

Producers that worked on the album are as follows: 2one2, A.J. Hall, Aviad, BADBADNOTGOOD, Bass Charity, Benji., Cardiak, Cesar Americo, Childish Major, Christo, DJ Khalil, DJ Scheme, drift boy, E. Jones, Elite, Feliciano Ponce, Groove, Hero the Band, Hollywood Cole, James Blake, JD Beck, JID, KAYTRANADA, Khrysis, Latrell James, monte booker, Nami, Nightlie, Nonstop Da Hitman, Nurі, Pluss, Quincy Riley, Tane Runo, TBHits, Thundercat, TU! & Yuli.


The request is not properly authorized to retrieve the specified playlist.

Back to top button