Jonas Brothers “The Album” Album Review

The Album

Jonas Brothers

  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 12 May, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2023 Jonas Brothers Recording, Limited Liability Company, under exclusive license to Republic Records, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

The Jonas Brothers explore unexplored musical territory with their sixth album, “The Album.” On 2019’s Happiness Begins the band sowed some seeds blooming into a more natural sound. Although hooks are still king in this context, the sounds on this JoBros record cast a wider net.

The band dials in a contemporary take on a throwback record with a blend of funk, R&B, Americana, and occasionally even a flash of country music. It’s not a coincidence since the band has stated that the ’70s music their dad listened to inspired this project.

On “The Album,” most of the songs clock in at around two minutes, a trend emerging in pop music that may be influenced by TikTok, as opposed to the around three-and-a-half minutes typical of a radio-length tune. The Jonas Brothers appear to want to leave their mark in a shorter time, but that is neither here nor there.

Album Cover Art

Jonas Brothers &Quot;The Album&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, June 23, 2024

The Jonas Bros look super dapper on the cover of their joint new album, as they don different outfit styles and assume different model-worthy poses for the cam. The natural landscape backdrop and white screen in front of it add their unique splash to the choice of rich colors for the shoot. Though the hunky brothers appear different, they are united in purpose, which spilled into The Album.

Tracks and Features

With the opening track, “Miracle,” they set the tone for the album with a seductive groove and show-stopping high-pitched verses while maintaining the carefree mood they are renowned for. Even ballads about love have more flavor thanks to songs like “Vacation Eyes,” which has a great chance of becoming the younger generation’s first dance song at weddings. The song is improved by the energetic percussion and the usage of a chromatic harmonica, which elevate it and make it more exciting and humorous.

“Sail Away” and “Wings” keep the celebration going, mainly relying on the band’s excellent sense of harmony and even concluding a cappella. However, “Montana Skies” and other songs on the album adopt a different approach. The tempo on MS is kept upbeat by that acoustic-driven tune, but it has a Fleetwood Mac-like rawer, harmony-focused feel.

The group is at its best when it belts out memorable, catchy one-liners referencing popular culture, like on the song “Americana,” which combines pop, R&B, and a little folk. On “Celebrate!” Nick Jonas takes the lead. Its title is appropriate for a song that erupts in the chorus with the aid of a choir. The percussion breakdown aids the song’s emotional conclusion in the bridge.

The brothers’ competitive dynamic, which every sibling is all too familiar with, is the theme of their second early song, “Waffle House,” which follows. The brothers say in the song’s lyrics that no matter what, everything will work out when we spend a special simple moment with our loved ones. This song may be the most melodious dedication to the all-day breakfast restaurant franchise. A delightful and contagious romp is the self-deprecating song about fighting and talking it out as brothers in a diner.

“Vacation Eyes,” a slickly performed funk ballad that slows things down while still preserving the personality and spirit of the album, ushers in the first change in momentum. It seamlessly transitions into “Summer in the Hamptons,” a reggae-influenced song with JoBros trading off rapid vocal lines that feel like a prolonged interlude.

The summertime vibes are still present in the song “Summer Baby,” which is sure to please fans of the band’s distinctive pop style. The song trades in its ’70s roots for influences more akin to a modern pop groove. For these young men, the poignant song “Little Bird” explores new lyrical ground: the bond between a father and daughter. With the audience clapping, it sounds like it is being done live.

The album’s soaring and rough closing track, “Walls,” was created in collaboration with singer-songwriter Jon Bellion, who also served as executive producer.


1 Miracle 2:21
2 Montana Sky 2:49
3 Wings 1:58
4 Sail Away 3:12
5 Americana 2:00
6 Celebrate! 2:06
7 Waffle House 2:25
8 Vacation Eyes 3:32
9 Summer In The Hamptons 2:07
10 Summer Baby 2:41
11 Little Bird 3:09
12 Walls (feat. Jon Bellion) 4:26

Album Theme

“The Album” celebrates love in all its manifestations, making it ideal for those who view everything through adoring rose-colored lenses. In their most recent album, the Jonas Brothers are all about love. Every lyric conceals a nod to their houses for the married parents with children. And although while their music focuses on that well-known delicate sensation, experimenting with other genres gives it a more unique and modern vibe.

Production Credits

Colin Brittain, Daniel Tashian, Ido Zmishlany, Johnny Simpson, Jon Bellion, The Monsters & Strangerz, Pete Nappi, Tenroc & The Diner produced The Album.


Back to top button