Kendrick Lamar “Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers” Album Review

Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers

Kendrick Lamar

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Release Date: 2022-05-13
  • Explicitness: explicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 19
  • pgLang/Top Dawg Entertainment/Aftermath/Interscope Records; ℗ 2022 Aftermath/Interscope

After a longish break from releases, few people can return to the turf and release music that actually resonates with members of the public. American rapper Kendrick Lamar might be counted among the few following the release of his “Mr Morale & The Big Steppers” album.

Before the release of the compilation, many people had thought that the songster had retired from music. And some had said that he should as well retire because at this stage – after such a lengthy break – people wouldn’t listen to him.

Well, Kendrick Lamar had other ideas. He had apparently been working on something on the sides. And he pulled off a grand coup when he announced via a laconic Instagram post that a new body of work was on the way.

He directed fans to his website for more details about the project. True to his promise, the project dropped just on time. In this article, we’ll throw more light on “Mr Morale & The Big Steppers” album. So, hop along.


The project’s artwork mirrors a homely moment with “a king,” his “queen,” and their two children, indicating an addition to his family – or, if you should ask us, a hint at continuing productivity even when no one expected.

Kendrick Lamar &Quot;Mr. Morale &Amp; The Big Steppers&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 24, 2024


The tracklist of the project is, in a sense, an acknowledgement that fans would love a big feast after being starved for years. With 18 sumptuous tracks that interrogate several themes., including the rapper’s life, there’s really something for everyone.

  1. United In Grief
  2. N95
  3. Worldwide Steppers
  4. Die Hard
  5. Father Time
  6. Rich (Interlude)
  7. Rich Spirit
  8. We Cry Together
  9. Purple Hearts
  10. Count Me Out
  11. Crown
  12. Silent Hill
  13. Savior (Interlude)
  14. Savior
  15. Auntie Diaries
  16. Mr Morale
  17. Mother I Sober
  18. Mirror

Key Songs

More often than not, in any music project, some songs stand out more than others. That’s the reality of Kendrick Lamar’s latest album as well. However, there are some songs we’re much more enamoured with, and we think you should know about them.

Track 1, “United In Grief,” is one such song. It stands out because of its universal message. Just about anyone out there can relate to it. Anyone who has truly lived should be able to connect with it.

Another number that resonated with us is the Sampha-featured “Father Time.” It’s easy to see why any father – or anyone who aspires to be a father – will love this jam. Of course, the list isn’t limited to these two songs. But they will suffice.


Several messages are embedded in the “Mr Morale & The Big Steppers” album. You may think of it as an eclectic mix of messages that will intrigue any lover of good music, whether they’re athletes for rap or not.

There’s the message of life and Kendrick Lamar coming into his own. There’s the message of fatherhood, ambition, hope, and even love – all put together with great care, creating one of the most memorable albums of 2022.


Guest artists are like condiments to stew – they bring flavours to songs. Some of these flavours resonate. Some don’t. The point is, Kendrick Lamar recognised the vitality of working with others on a project of 18 tracks, and he ended up picking some artists that complemented him beautifully.

Among the artists who made the cut are Kodak Black, Blxst, Amanda Keifer, Summer Walker, Sampha, Taylour Paige, Beth Gibbons, Tanna Leone, Baby Keem, Sam Dew, and Ghostface Killah.

Summing Up

“Mr Morale & The Big Steppers” was long coming, and that’s in the sense that Kendrick Lamar’s immediate past project was released years ago. Fans had to wait for a very long time. In the end, their patience was rewarded. Kendrick Lamar returns with a body of work that should earn iconic status soon.

With the release of the “Mr Morale & The Big Steppers” album, Kendrick Lamar beautifully asserts himself as still in charge, with his musical charms of old – and definitely worth having on a playlist for an extensive period.


Back to top button