Kodak Black “Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1” Album Review

Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1

Kodak Black

    • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
    • Date: 28 Oct, 2022
    • Content: explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 19
  • ℗ 2022 Atlantic Recording Corporation

Kodak Black hasn’t shown any signs of slowing down as he releases a new project, “Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1,” which was promoted by lead single “I’m So Awesome,” following an impressive start to the year with his studio album “Back For Everything.” The Floridian has continued to outwork all of his rivals even after the publication of his two-pack “Walk/Spin” and his Closure EP a few weeks ago. “Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1,” appears to be yet another installment in his already impressive career.

In spite of this, Kutthroat Bill doesn’t have enough depth to justify its 51-minute running time. However, Kodak does not give us anything on this record that we haven’t heard before: crime, bitches, drugs, and money. Kodak has undoubtedly improved his singing, and anyone who respects Kendrick Lamar’s judgment cannot question his appeal.

Album Cover Art

Kodak Black &Quot;Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 20, 2024

The album title, abbreviated to an acronym, is designed in bold red letters as two machetes cross each other the same way bones do across a skull. And in front of all that is a pitch black eagle in flight, rocking an iced-out chain with a pretty chunky pendant of a miniature man striking a pose of some sort.

Tracks and Features

The album starts out with “Kodak the Boss,” and the background vocal blend with the hip-hop beat arrangement from even the first few seconds makes this track a solid opener. Kodak speaks against disloyalty and fake friendships as well as recognizing the lessons he has learnt from situations life has thrown to him and how he’s turned out. The typical beat sequencing of the next track, “300 Blackout” is as good as the first. Kodak’s storytelling is seen in play as he replays events in his life and does an amazing job of painting the pictures colourfully as he rides the beat with superb delivery.

Then comes the first feature of the album, Lil Crix, on the track, “Play.” This one is a hip-hop sound and the typical ‘grass to Grace’ story. Expect a ton of slick talking, though. The next track makes room for another guest act on the album in the person of VVSNCE. Both artists deliver top-notch lyrics that touch on relationships and related topics. The piano chords in the background give this track a chill vibe you didn’t know it needed. “Ammunition” features NFL Tuewop and it has a Serene intro that really just pulls you in. The tune comes along with amazing loops and piano chords in the background that spice up the duo’s smooth delivery. For Trap lovers, the picture of the street life painted by the Duo can be vividly imagined.

Prince Swanny, the last feature of the album, coming in on the track, “Bad Man,” and his presence can be felt right from the first few seconds. Kodak and Swanny complement each other pretty good. The song reveals their belief in their lovers even though they acknowledge that it may not be a perfect love. The closing track, “Silencer,” finds Kodak in his elements. He points out his critics and rolls out his warnings to them, saying the “hate” they have for him won’t stop him from achieving what he sets out to achieve as the song wraps up the album with a dose of nostalgia.

Album Theme

Black’s most recent legal troubles are examined in “Kutthroat Bill: Vol. 1,” along with the controversy surrounding his conduct.


1 Kodak The Boss 2:13
2 300 Blackout 2:46
3 Slay Like Santa 2:13
4 If You Ever 3:37
5 I Can’t Sleep 2:25
6 Demand My Respect 2:32
7 Play (feat. Lil Crix) 2:03
8 Starter Kit (feat. VVSNCE) 2:36
9 I’m So Awesome 3:07
10 Game From Pluto 2:49
11 Walk 2:46
12 Spin 2:31
13 Ammunition (feat. NFL Tuewop) 3:12
14 Hop Out Shoot 2:57
15 Kutthroat Barbie 2:44
16 At The Cross 2:30
17 Freezing My Pinky 2:19
18 Bad Man (feat. Prince Swanny) 2:18
19 Silencer 3:08

Production Credits

AB, AJ Stay Workin, Al Cres, Ayo B, Ben Billions, Carl Paul, Carlton McDowell, C-ClipBeatz, DAVID x ELI, Dez Wright, D-Roc, Dr. Zeuz, Dyleechi, Dyryk, G Koop, Hittahbeatz, Honorable C.N.O.T.E., Kollision, Loaded Beats, Metro Boomin, OG Parker, Rippa On The Beat, Schife, SkipOnDaBeat, Smash David, Snapz, Terrence Rolle, TMGMoneyGame, Tye Beats, Wallis Lane & Wheezy held down the production department.


Back to top button