Red Velvet “The ReVe Festival 2022 – Birthday” Album Review

‘The ReVe Festival 2022 – Birthday’ – EP

Red Velvet

  • Genre: K-Pop
  • Date: 28 Nov, 2022
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: USA
  • Track(s): 6
  • ℗ 2022 SM Entertainment

Eight years into their career, it is evident that Red Velvet have been considering how to change with the times while retaining the best qualities of their artistic vision in the ‘The ReVe Festival 2022’ series. The albums from “The ReVe Festival” generally seek a medium ground where the two blend into a newer sound, as opposed to their previous releases, which fluctuated between lovable youth and alluring maturity.

“The ReVe Festival 2022 – Birthday” highlights their positive qualities while adding some unexpected components. The band skillfully makes use of its wide range of vocal tones, elevating “Birthday” above their previous works, and we’re more than prepared to see if that translates into a more structurally and functionally coherent sound in subsequent releases.

Album Cover Art

Red Velvet &Quot;The Reve Festival 2022 – Birthday&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 21, 2024

On the eventful album cover, a prey is on the run from the predator who is also in hot pursuit. Unfortunately, the drive hunger gives is way stronger than the one fear gives. The prey is already running out of time and probably knows this and is maybe already praying to the animal god of all preys to accept his preyed herbivorous soul. Meanwhile, the predator has other plans: catch a prey and kill to celebrate his Birthday.

Tracks and Features

George Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” is sampled at the beginning of the first track, “Birthday,” which modernizes it slightly with a carnivalesque arrangement accented by dance-pop, trap beats, and sounds from vintage pinball machines. Pre-choruses that are comparatively gentler and dreamier counterbalance the choppy, heavy verses and choruses. Although they give you that dopamine rush right away, the synth loops used to adapt “Rhapsody in Blue” are too loud and interferes with the group’s rapping and vocals.

Next is “BYE BYE.” Cool strings and a sick beat are accompanying their R&B style. You’ll adore the “cool girl” vibe they’re going for in the chorus, which is gorgeous. Wendy is fully utilizing the high notes in the background music. We’re utterly in love.

The following song is “Rollercoaster (On A Ride).” This song’s insanely catchy synths make up the backing tune. For the gals, this jam is really awesome. You’ll be very interested to watch what kind of choreography they’ll perform to this. The song does, however, lack some depth in spots because the vocals are layered on top of very high instrumental harmonies. Although the song feels a little bit too organized to be classified as hyper-pop, it’s easy to identify aspects that were unmistakably influenced by the genre. A steady light beat underpins the bold orchestration, and glittering xylophonic sound elements give texture. Being cool and self-assured sure looks great on Red Velvet.

Returning to the R&B genre is “ZOOM.” Literally, this song is all vibes. You’ll enjoy the beat, it’s quite catchy, and the singers did a fantastic job with the vocals. The fun, bassy R&B dance-pop is literally elevated by their vocals. The group treats getting caught with their lover in the act like a wicked game while Wendy extends her clear, crisp voice to deliver satisfying high notes. The song is laced with casual ad libs and peaceful confidence.

“Celebrate” is the album’s final song. This R&B song’s mid-tempo vibe is very relaxed and inviting. The harmony and the welcoming atmosphere will appeal to you. The quasi-balladic R&B sound does reveal a more vulnerable side of Red Velvet, but it also ruins the momentum of an otherwise outstanding offering, as if calling this party to a sudden end.



1 Birthday 3:36
2 BYE BYE 3:16
3 On A Ride 3:19
4 ZOOM 3:04
5 Celebrate 2:44

Album Theme

A feel-good record inspired by self-confidence and love.

Production Credits

The album’s arrangers are Aaron Kim, Dirty Rice, GHOSTCHILD LTD, Isaac Han, JINBYJIN, KENZIE, Loosendoor and a number of other names.


Back to top button