SPINALL “TOP BOY” Album Review

Top Boy


  • Genre: Worldwide
  • Date: 17 Feb, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 15
  • ℗ 2023 TheCAPMusic

Afrobeats pioneer DJ Spinall released his much-awaited album “Top Boy” under TheCAPMusic/Venice on February 17, 2023. The album comprises 15 songs, each with a distinctive fusion of sounds, rhythms, and team-ups with some of the top acts in the music business. The remarkable roster of performers who contributed to “Top Boy” is one of the album’s most notable aspects. This album reminds us why Spinall remains one of the significant playmakers on the African music scene.

Album Cover Art

Spinall &Quot;Top Boy&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

Spinall is in a lovely brown Ankara outfit with his signature cap to match. As the cam captures his side profile, the Gucci logo on designer glasses frames is caught in the frame. The polished, wealthy vibe is just giving Top Boy.

Tracks and Features

Top Boy starts with some bass, drums, and trumpets, which introduce the smooth vocals of Zaiam on “Cruise,” which also features some sick ad-libs and backup vocals from fast-rising Abuja-based artist Azanti. Zaiam rides the beat with energy and sleekness. He knows how to navigate a South African House music instrumental like this one. While rhyming and vocally sliding on the track with finesse, Zaiam expresses himself without restrictions. He talks about his feelings and real situations in the Nigerian political scene. On the second track, Minz dishes the smooth new school melodies on “Everyday.”

Niniola makes a memorable appearance on “Give Me Love,” a track that sees her emotionally vulnerable with her lover and states what she wants and wouldn’t tolerate. Nini is all for love and its cute little perks, but she is unwilling to let herself go or risk her life for it. She wants to be loved and loved right. The Amapiano beat put her the right energy to deliver something this incredible. No one does it like Niniola. Following that is a Rolex wristwatch found on a car dashboard belonging to AG Baby’s lover. Next, Adekunle Gold tells us how he wooed his lover and the sweet nothings he filled her ears with.

AG describes how delectable his lover’s body is and branched out a bit to touch on his friendship with Spinall that goes way back. The beat and supporting vocals in the chorus glue the entire melody together. Taking over, BNXN and Stefflon Don enter the scene to deliver something unexpectedly amazing. The beat works so well with BNXN’s flow. Steff’s contributions bleed into the vibe effortlessly. The drums raise the tempo of the track. Great mixing. Then comes “Top Mama,” featuring Reekado Banks, Phyno, and Ntosh Gazi. Reeky did his thing, dropping one of the hottest choruses for a hardcore Amapiano tune—Trust Phyno to bring the needed energy and vibe to an indigenous African sound.

“Honest” with the fantastic Tay Iwar, R&B singer Tamera and TSB is undoubtedly a standout track. The vulnerability in this song is just so pure and adorable. Tay is doing the best in his power to keep the relationship but also has his limits. He wants honesty from his partner. Tamera also cues from that vibe and pours out her unreserved feelings like a cup that has been full for a minute. The beautiful blend of R&B and dancehall in the instrumental worked perfectly on this song. Asake comes in on “Palazzo” and tells us why it is essential to dance and party, while Amaarae makes come confessions on “Bow Down” as she indulges in those things that make her feel like a princess.

It still makes no sense why Spinall will bring two super-talented artists only to give them less than a two-minute slot. But the pair of Blxckie and Ladipoe take what they get and turn it into gold, spitting their hardest verses yet. Teaming up with DJ Snake, Summer Walker, Äyanna, and Nasty C, Spinall brings the album to an end with “Power (Remember Who You Are),” and all featured musicians put their best foot forward in their various contributions.


1 Cruise (feat. Azanti & Zaiam) 2:32
2 Everyday (feat. Minz) 2:29
3 Give Me Love (feat. Niniola) 3:46
4 Cloud 9 (feat. Adekunle Gold) 3:08
5 Oshey (feat. BNXN fka Buju & Stefflon Don) 2:29
6 Top Mama (feat. Reekado Banks, Phyno & Ntosh Gazi) 3:28
7 Honest (feat. TSB, Tay Iwar & Tamera) 3:02
8 Palazzo (feat. Asake) 3:06
9 Bow Down (feat. Amaarae) 2:03
10 Outside (feat. Blxckie & LADIPOE) 1:52
11 Just to Be (feat. Jess of VanJess) 3:24
12 Bunda (feat. Kemuel & Olamide) 3:34
13 Sere (Remix) [feat. Fireboy DML & 6LACK] 3:14
14 Power (Remember Who You Are) [feat. Summer Walker, DJ Snake & Äyanna] 3:34
15 Power (Remember Who You Are) [feat. Summer Walker, DJ Snake, Äyanna & Nasty C] 3:41

Album Theme

The musings of a man feeling on top of the world, with the right proportion of vulnerability and vibes.

Production Credits

Spinall produced most songs on the project alongside other skilled producers, including Ozedikus, Kel-P, Smeez, D3AN, TMXO, Magic Sticks, and others.


Back to top button