Tyler Childers “Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?” Album Review

Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?

Tyler Childers

    • Genre: Country
    • Date: 30 Sep, 2022
    • Content: Not-explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 24
  • ℗ 2022 Hickman Holler Records, under exclusive license to RCA Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment.

The eagerly-awaited new record from Tyler Childers and The Food Stamps is titled “Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?” The eight tracks on the album are presented in three different aural viewpoints, Hallelujah, Jubilee, and Joyful Noise, as part of the album’s three-part conceptualization.

The collection, which was created by Childers and The Food Stamps, was mostly recorded at James Barker’s home studio, Dragline Studios, and includes both original songs and classics. The Jubilee version expands on the Hallelujah version by including strings, horns, background vocals, and a variety of exotic instruments like the dulcimer, mbira, and sitar. The Hallelujah version captures Tyler and the core band performing live in a single room over the course of two days.

The final version, Joyful Noise, is a collection of remixes made with DJ Charlie Brown Superstar (Brett Fuller), and it features samples from a variety of sources, including “The Andy Griffith Show,” Thomas Merton, comedian Jerry Clower, and church service fragments taken from the Kentucky Center for Traditional Music archives.

Album Cover Art

Tyler Childers &Quot;Can I Take My Hounds To Heaven?&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 29, 2024

With a simple illustration of a hound, drawn in golden ink underneath the album title written also in similar ink shade, the album art features something with a shared semblance to the front cover of a book designed in antique style. And because the main project is a collection of three different parts, it only makes sense that it is represented as a unique book.

Tracks and Features

The most enjoyable part of this record is figuring out the distinctions between the “Hallelujah” and the “Jubilee” tracks. The subtlety, in addition to the insertion of voiceovers and other clear examples in the latter part, is what really stimulates you and occasionally gives you goosebumps down your spine.

This first section has the sound of an organ. The songs tend to be more melancholy and straight-laced. Of course, when we examine Tyler Childers’ own evolution, we cannot ignore the evolution of “Purgatory.” It’s no accident that the title tune from his debut studio album is included here. This track list is completed by the song “Heart You’ve Been Tendin’.” Just before “Jubilee” begins, there is a brief bit of rock ‘n’ roll. Some of the album’s strongest instrumentation can be heard in this fantastic tune.

“Jubilee” seems to be a celebration of all that is admirable. More trumpets and brass instruments are added in general. Brass makes everything more vibrant. It interjects, demands to be heard, and calls for celebration and joy. Jubilee! By no means is this a praise and worship service. It is nice to sing and thank God, so we are doing that now. or to show kindness to others simply because it is right to do so. that there is good because there is good in life.

This has the needed concept-alum feel thanks to Tyler’s inclusion, who reads Bible scriptures. I believe that this initiative is primarily an artistic endeavor. As time goes on, it becomes more bizarre. These tracks have more nuance now that he has added vocal samples and samples to “Two Coats” and “Jubilee,” entirely changing what it was in the prior iteration.

“Joyful Noise” won’t appeal to everyone. Some people could enjoy what it signifies and demonstrates, though. These ideas and songs—which are already weaved together from various types and influences—are taken and rendered abstract by the artist. Because of how accurately the songs depict its subject matter, it nearly felt as though you could reach out and touch it.

Album Theme

Although it is inaccurate to refer to “Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven?” as a pure gospel project, there is no doubting the sense of salvation and renewal present in these songs, especially the new Childers originals. This three-sided devotional is transformed into a minor epic by Childers, who consistently supports any sense of artistic richness with a strong sense of authority rooted in the past and a broad sense of imagination.


1 Old Country Church 4:46
2 Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven? 4:04
3 Two Coats 3:25
4 Purgatory 4:24
5 Way of the Triune God 3:28
6 Angel Band 6:12
7 Jubilee 4:29
8 Heart You’ve Been Tendin’ 4:45
9 Old Country Church 4:47
10 Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven? 4:15
11 Two Coats 3:30
12 Purgatory 4:23
13 Way of the Triune God 3:27
14 Angel Band 6:12
15 Jubilee 4:37
16 Heart You’ve Been Tendin’ 4:46
17 Old Country Church 3:09
18 Can I Take My Hounds to Heaven? 4:41
19 Two Coats 6:15
20 Purgatory 4:55
21 Way of the Triune God 3:10
22 Angel Band 5:17
23 Jubilee 4:24
24 Heart You’ve Been Tendin’ 5:23

Production Credits

The Food Stamps & Tyler Childers took responsibility for the album’s production.


Back to top button