Various Artists “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” Soundtrack Album Review

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By

Various Artists

    • Genre: Soundtrack
    • Date: 04 Nov, 2022
    • Content: Not-explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 19
  • ℗ 2022 Def Jam Recordings, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc., and Hollywood Records, Inc.

Marvel Studios has released the soundtrack album, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever — Music From and Inspired By” to support the second installment of their blockbuster superhero, sci-fi film, “Black Panther.” Over 40 international musicians recorded songs for “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever – Music From and Inspired By” soundtrack in Lagos, Nigeria, Mexico City, London, and Los Angeles.

Rihanna, Tems, Fireboy DML, OG DAYV, Future, CKay, PinkPantheress, E-40, and many more are among the featured musicians. The score and the original songs on the soundtrack were composed and produced by Ludwig Göransson, who has won two Emmys, two Grammys, and an Oscar.

Album Cover Art

Various Artists &Quot;Black Panther: Wakanda Forever&Quot; Soundtrack Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 25, 2024

Stealthily emerging from the shadows is the one, the only Black Panther in his full regalia (read as suit) and glory. A great depiction and an iconic choice for the soundtrack album cover since the entire record was made in its honor.

Tracks and Features

The 19-track soundtrack album opens with a Rihanna comeback track, “Lift Me Up.” The beautifully-sung track is a tribute to the Late Chadwick Boseman who was a lead cast in the movie “Black Panther.” The lyrics contain a lot of affection whilst paying homage to the ones we hold dear. The piano chords and solemn string instrumentation really breathe life into the track and as expected, Rihanna’s delivery is superb. “Love and Loyalty (Believe)” comes next and the Amapiano rhythm features DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Yung Stunna, and Busiswa. The song emphasizes on the belief in love and loyalty. All the featured acts give an awesome delivery as they combine brilliantly to create magic, thanks to the excellent beat arrangement.

Burns Boy is on the third track titled “Alone.” His delivery is just sensational and the afro-Pop track is just an example of how versatile the legend is. The song touch on topics that border on trust, family, life, love and fate, gratitude, resilience as well as the desire for good company. The background vocals add splendor to the track as Burna burns bright and clear on the track. Tems on a remake/cover of Legendary Singer Bob Marley’s “No Woman No Cry,” is simply amazing. She lays her powerful vocals over a solemn instrumental that goes ahead to highlight the intricate beauties of her rare sound. The track for many would serve as a source of encouragement. Bob Marley would be totally proud.

Stormzy holds down the “Interlude” and this track is pure fire. Stormzy delivers with aplomb and shows why he continually referred to as one of the greats. The wordings of the song speak about love, pain, family, brotherhood and dilemma. The song has a fantastic beat arrangement that perfectly suits a delivery that nuts. Fireboy DML is on “Coming Back For You” and says “remember who you are.” This love song is full of encouragement and Fireboy comes through in his astonishing way as always. The background vocals add to the groove of the track, giving it a melodic African tune. The afro-R&B track is a wonderful listen for sure.

Tobe and Fat Nwigwe go hard on “They Want It, But No.” The track almost sounds like war cry material, but the high-pitched tune actually turns out to be a worthy inclusion on the album. The album’s closing track, “Mi Pueblo,” features Guadalupe de Jesus Chan poot. There’s a monologue by a lady as flowing currents play in the background. The lady seemed to be eulogizing and passing messages in the same breath. Her speech brings the album to an end. An awesome listening journey for real.


1 Lift Me Up Rihanna 3:16
2 Love & Loyalty (Believe) DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna & Busiswa 6:20
3 Alone Burna Boy 3:41
4 No Woman No Cry Tems 3:33
5 Árboles Bajo El Mar Vivir Quintana & Mare Advertencia 4:21
6 Con La Brisa Foudeqush & Ludwig Göransson 2:47
7 La Vida (feat. E-40) Snow Tha Product 2:37
8 Interlude Stormzy 2:18
9 Coming Back For You Fireboy DML 2:56
10 They Want It, But No Tobe Nwigwe & Fat Nwigwe 2:37
11 Laayli’ kuxa’ano’one Adn Maya Colectivo, Pat Boy, Yaalen K’uj & All Mayan Winik 3:44
12 Limoncello OG DAYV & Future 2:34
13 Anya Mmiri (feat. PinkPantheress) CKay 3:08
14 Wake Up (feat. Rema) Bloody Civilian 2:42
15 Pantera (feat. Rema) Alemán 2:49
16 Jele DBN Gogo, Sino Msolo, Kamo Mphela, Young Stunna & Busiswa 3:49
17 Inframundo Blue Rojo 3:11
18 No Digas Mi Nombre Calle x Vida & Foudeqush 3:42
19 Mi Pueblo Guadalupe de Jesús Chan Poot 2:40

Album Theme

An ode to love, family and the late Chadwick Boseman. Rest his soul.

Production Credits

The soundtrack album was produced by Ryan Coogler, Ludwig Göransson, Archie Davis and Dave Jordan.



Back to top button