Wiz Khalifa “Multiverse” Album Review


Wiz Khalifa

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Release Date: 2022-07-29
  • Explicitness: explicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 17
  • ℗ 2022 Taylor Gang Ent. / Asylum Records

Throughout the album, he experiments with drill, gospel, alternative hip-hop, funk, R&B, and these genres throughout Multiverse. Even though he doesn’t sound natural in the majority of genres, you can’t fault him for trying or being daring when it comes to embracing serendipity. Ultimately, what makes this compilation a terrific listen is the information that Wiz gifts us with. Yes, he keeps track of his hoes and other possessions, but he also keeps track of the friends he lost, his spiritual life, and his love connections.

Album Cover Art

Wiz Khalifa &Quot;Multiverse&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 26, 2024

Artistically painted on the cover of the album is an animated version of Wiz in the company of three different women all on him like white on rice. In his all white fit and pricey chain dangling about his neck, he appears to be living his best life, which is also clearly portrayed on the album.

Tracks and Features

The 17-track album gets its start with “Big Daddy Wiz” featuring Girl Talk, an ace producer-engineer and frequent collaborator of Wiz’s. The song is pretty much an ode to the good life, to the superstar life and all its thrilling perks. Wiz says kickin’ it with him comes with nice benefits, but he is also cautious to mention that overstaying your welcome around him might not be the best decision.

Reminiscent, he walks down “Memory Lane,” bringing to the fore his past experiences with a bad chick he lost, or more like, left him. Now he’s only reminding the ex of what she’s missing and the good times spent, but underneath all that, he actually does miss her and wonders if she feels the same. Solid production.

Getting super real on “1000 Women” with assistance from THEY., Wiz opens up about how things are and have been with him lately. In the stead of desiring gazillion women, he has become introspective and more family-oriented. The song is all about self-care, protecting your energy and rolling with the right one that really gets you, one “you can fess to.” THEY., as always, came through with the needed sauce on the chorus and backup vocals.

On “We Don’t Go To Nightclubs Anymore/Candlelight Girl,” we get a chill side of Wiz. The song stands out from the rest, many thank to its slow-paced, classic vibe that is felt at the beginning, with trumpets and bird chirping playing in the background, adding their own spice to the tune. The transition into “Candlelight Girl” was seamless, with Wiz having his vocals tuned in a way that fits and also shapes the slow, classic vibe of the track.

If you don’t become momentarily sober listening to “Homies”, you either don’t have feelings or just plain numb. How do listen to Wiz Khalifa singing about his dead homies the way he does on this song and not feel a thing? From the passing of his close guys to Mac Miller and Nipsey’s demise, Wiz relays his inner feels and how much he misses his people that were taken too soon.

Bringing THEY. again into the picture on “Goyard Bags,” Wiz promises to always be there for his significant other, while on “Nobody Knows” he tries to convince his love interest that he is the only one that really knows things about her, things no one else knows. Love makes a man think in a different manner which we find on this track where we can hear Wiz getting all vulnerable.

Bringing the show to a close with a healthy dose of positivity and gratitude, Wiz goes in on “Thank Him”, appreciating the Man upstairs for His blessings. A fitting end for a really cool body of work.


NO Title Time
1 Big Daddy Wiz (feat. Girl Talk) 2:11
2 MVP 2:34
3 Memory Lane 2:46
4 1000 Women (feat. THEY.) 3:42
5 Like You (Groove 3) 1:55
6 Something Real 3:58
7 High Maintenance 3:20
8 Bad Ass Bitches 1:58
9 Iced Out Necklace 2:35
10 Keys 4:00
11 We Don’t Go Out To Nightclubs Anymore/Candlelight Girl 8:10
12 We’re Not Even 3:44
13 Homies 6:30
14 Mirror Love (Groove 2) 3:51
15 Goyard Bags (feat. THEY.) 1:30
16 Nobody Knows 3:25
17 Thank Him 2:58

 Album Theme

Vulnerability and the cruise of the superstar life.

Production Credits

Producers that worked on this album include Bankroll Got It, Diego Ave, Girl Talk, Hitmaka, IllaDaProducer, Jae Roc, Kenneth Wright, Quadwoofer, Saxl Rose, Scott Storch & Sledgren.

Back to top button