YoungBoy Never Broke Again “Ma’ I Got A Family” (A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Hosted by DJ Drama) Album Review

Ma’ I Got A Family (A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Hosted by DJ Drama)

YoungBoy Never Broke Again

    • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
    • Date: 21 Oct, 2022
    • Content: explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 19
  • Never Broke Again, LLC / Atlantic Records, ℗ 2022 Atlantic Records Group LLC

U.S. rapper, NBA Youngboy, celebrated his 23rd birthday with the release of “Ma’ I Got A Family (A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition),” a new mixtape presented by mixtape guru DJ Drama. Released by Never Broke Again, LLC and Atlantic Records, it is the rapper’s 21st mixtape.

Only two features—from Nicki Minaj and rising star Yeat—are included in the album’s 19 songs. The song’s title is a notification to the multi-platinum rapper’s mother Sheronda Gaulden that he is starting a family. The new project is Youngboy’s sixth of the year and his second in as many weeks with the release of 3800 Degrees.

Album Cover Art

Youngboy Never Broke Again &Quot;Ma’ I Got A Family&Quot; (A Gangsta Grillz Special Edition Hosted By Dj Drama) Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

The cover art shows a smiling YB and his fiancé, Jazlyn Mychelle, holding their two kids as they stand before a see-through glass demarcation which reveals another section of the house. This is a proud statement, like the album title suggests, that the Louisiana rapper is not joking about starting a family neither does he joke with them.

Tracks and Features

The album opens with “Pop Out,” having DJ Drama on the intro in the first few seconds before YB enters with the chorus and his verses. Slick talk and references to the perks of the fast life are littered all over the song. The beat arrangement is excellent and DJ Drama’s background input at intervals makes the song bearable to listen to. The second track, “Rain,” has an R&B feel to it though it’s mainly Trap. The track paints a picture of unrequited affection/attention as YB says “please just leave me” if the love isn’t true. He also tells some tales about family and loyalty as well as relaying his pain.

“Sedated,” the third track on the album is a cool Trap track composition. There are smooth violin and saxophone notes in the background and it’s just serenading. YB likens his relationship with his “baby” to a sedation and says she’s the most addictive as described in his words during the few ending seconds of the track. Drug-related indulgences, the thug life as well as some crime-related talk, were also fused into the lyrics. Nicki Minaj comes in as the first album feature on “I Admit.” The beat arrangement is that of typical Trap, though some guitar and piano chords are also heard in the background. Nicki’s delivery is top notch and this for sure has to be one of the best tracks on the album.

“I Don’t Text Back” features Yeat and as usual, YB and Yeat go off on a slick talking spree in their verses. DJ Drama, however, can be heard faintly in the background going about his hype business. “Kick It” wraps up the listening journey with DJ Drama coming in at the first few seconds with another amazing hype intro. Apart from the regular slick talk, the song touches on love and relationships while YB goes in hard, delivering his verses and telling his struggle story as well as showing his resilience. On the song, he also sends a message across to his critics. While all of that is happening, DJ Drama can be heard doing his thing in the background at intervals, and he does a good job by bringing the track to a befitting close.


1 Pop Out 2:39
2 Rain 2:25
3 Sedated 2:07
4 Get Right 1:49
5 Right Now 3:31
6 McQueen 2:18
7 Ben Lomond Mountain 2:53
8 Kentrell Talk 1:02
9 Sport Mode 2:17
10 Pay Me 2:42
11 All The Problems 2:14
12 Chose 2:31
13 Rose Gold 2:06
14 I Admit (feat. Nicki Minaj) 3:27
15 Change On Me 2:59
16 King Of The Jungle 3:00
17 I Don’t Text Back (feat. Yeat) 2:11
18 Act A Fool 2:12
19 Kick It 2:06

Album Theme

Taking pride in his family and achievements as well as relaying his determination to keep grinding through all his personal struggles.

Production Credits

Producers that worked on the project are as follows: 17OnDaTrack, 6lement, 808 Mafia, Aldaz, Bans, BEATSAINTFREE JG, Ben10k, BJondatrakk, Callari, Census, Chief Keef, Cv, Danes Blood, Dmac, Don, DP Beats, D-Roc, Drum Dummie, Dunk Rock, Dylan Kidd, ForeignGotEm, G06 Beatz, Haisofn, Harto Beats and a host of others.


Back to top button