Janelle Monáe, Miley Cyrus, And Others Are Nominees For The 2024 GLAAD Media Awards

The LGBTQ advocacy group GLAAD is all set to honor gay brilliance in the entertainment business with the 2024 GLAAD Media Awards, which will take place well into awards season.

The complete list of nominees for GLAAD’s annual awards, which will be presented in Los Angeles on Thursday, March 14, and in New York City on Saturday, May 11, was released on Wednesday, Jan. 17. At the annual ceremony, twenty openly LGBT performers won awards in the two main music categories.

GLAAD recognized Miley Cyrus, Janelle Monae, Boygenius, Billy Porter, Sam Smith, Troye Sivan, Brandy Clark, Kim Petras, Renee Rapp, and Victoria Monet for their 2023 album releases in the main music category of the awards for outstanding music artist.

As for the exceptional breakthrough music artist category, GLAAD nominated Chappell Roan, David Archuleta, Fancy Hagood, G Flip, Ice Spice, Iniko, Jade LeMac, The Scarlet Opera, Slayyyter, and UMI. This category honors emerging performers that achieved new heights of mainstream success in 2023.

GLAAD President and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis praised the organization’s long history of assisting the LGBTQ community and thanked this year’s awardees in a statement that was made public along with the nominees. Additionally, in 2019, the nonprofit media group gave Beyoncé the Vanguard Award for her LGBTQ+ allyship.

Back to top button