Lil Uzi Vert “Pink Tape: Level 1” Album Review

Pink Tape: Level 1 – EP

Lil Uzi Vert

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 04 Aug, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 6
  • ℗ 2023 Warner Music Group – X5 Music Group

“Pink Tape: Level 1” is a compilation of six songs taken from the full-length album, “Pink Tape,” released through Generation Now and Atlantic Records on June 30, 2023. PT also served as Uzi’s third studio effort. The selected songs on the brief compilation album courts features from Nicki Minaj and Cactus Jack signee, Don Toliver.

Album Cover Art

Lil Uzi Vert &Quot;Pink Tape: Level 1&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

Uzi transforms into the black version of The Flash for their new project, as they zap through the city, which is indicated by pink lightning sashes and the colorful but blurry surroundings.

Tracks and Features

The six-pack compilation kicks off with “Endless Fashion,” featuring the rap queen herself, Nicki Minaj. The song features Uzi and Nicki Minaj reworking Eiffel 65’s well-known dance/electronic smash “Blue (Da Ba Dee),” which results in the creative usage of hyper-melodic flows and luxury fashion references to create a standout. The pair confidently and artistically performs their lyrics, making allusions to the worlds of high fashion and opulent living. They acknowledge their critics and emphasize their ongoing development while sweeping all criticism under the rug. They value the fashion they currently experience despite their modest origins in the hood.

The song “Died and Came Back” has enough effervescent enthusiasm to rank among the album’s best. The track contains lyrics that are ostensibly directed at rapper Roddy Rich, who has asserted that he had sex with JT of the City Girls, another rapper who is currently dating Uzi. Roddy is patronized by Uzi, who uses phrases like “Your voice don’t sound the same, get your range back” in his songs. This is probably a reference to the fact that Roddy’s popularity has fallen off significantly since the peak of his lauded and enormously successful 2019 album.

Due to the album’s ethereal tone, “Patience” featuring Don Toliver slows things down and offers a much-needed musical shift, but by this point in the tracklist, it’s almost too late to save the album as a whole. The song explores the intricate intricacies of relationships and how vital patience is to them. Through its moving lyrics, the song touches on a number of different subjects, including drug use, romance, intolerance, betrayal, and love. The song’s authors, a duo, also reflect on the idea of true love and express their skepticism about its reality.

The song “All Alone” is a true, authentic smash. You can easily see yourself singing along to Lil Uzi Vert’s catchy tune and strung-out voice while intoxicated in a club while you listen to the song. Even the rhythm has that vibrant energy that always pushes the intoxicated needle. Lyrically, Uzi’s songs are intended to inspire the belligerent who spend money on problems and spoilt ladies.

In his song “Mama, I’m Sorry,” Uzi uses a tune reminiscent to Gotye’s “Someone I Used to Know.” In this particular song, they beg their mother’s forgiveness while confessing their drug addiction and the struggles they’ve gone through. Listeners can tell that Uzi takes pride in his street cred.

While discussing making sure they don’t feel any drama, “Rehab” has an otherworldly sense to it. The song is another mellowed-out trap tune that is good but doesn’t really stand out from other of the album’s better songs.


No Song Title Artist(s)
1 Endless Fashion Lil Uzi Vert (Ft. Nicki Minaj)
2 Died and Came Back Lil Uzi Vert
3 Patience Lil Uzi Vert (Ft. Don Toliver)
4 All Alone Lil Uzi Vert
5 Mama, I’m Sorry Lil Uzi Vert
6 Rehab Lil Uzi Vert

Album Theme

Lyrically, this is a typical Uzi affair including flexing, cash, and feelings. Even so, they do confront the issue of their sexuality. Not that ‘Pink Tape: Level 1’ is a challenging piece of personal abstraction, nevertheless. A terrific, neon-tinted countercurrent of rap flows right beside.

Production Credits

206Derek, Bobby Raps, Brandon Finessin, Breezey Muzik, Bugz Ronin, Don Cannon, iamBNJMIIN, Ike Beatz, leqn, Lyle Leduff, Matt Spatola, Pitt Tha Kid, qqqu1ncy, Quincy Riley & sense handled production.


Back to top button