Lola Brooke “Dennis Daughter” Album Review

Dennis Daughter

Lola Brooke

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 10 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2023 Arista Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, under exclusive license from Team Eighty Productions, Inc

“Dennis Daughter,” Lola Brooke’s debut album, has finally been released.

Lola Brooke combines parts of gritty street feelings, Jersey Club vibes, R&B, commercial vibes, and drill vibes to explore a wide variety of sounds throughout the album.  There’s a subtle refreshing quality to the album’s tunes that come from her predictable approach, even while her rap style stays consistent in terms of competitive spirit and gritty emotions.

In a way, “Dennis Daughter” is a “reintroduction” to Lola Brooke, since while her career has developed and we have come to know her—or rather, fans have—through her freestyles, interviews on New York hip-hop stations, and other activities, fans never really got to know the real Lola.

That is the message Lola Brooke wants to convey to us through her self-reflective moments on the album, which enable us to understand the origins of her hustle and attitude as well as how the work she does now makes the people she loved proud in heaven.

Album Cover Art

Lola Brooke &Quot;Dennis Daughter&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 22, 2024

Dressed as a tomboy, Lola poses for a shot in front of what appears to be a painted background, where she tilts her hat-covered head to the side to show off her nice loop earring.

Tracks and Features

Lola Brooke makes an effort to keep things interesting by experimenting with different production styles or crafting these incredibly catchy songs that resonate with the bridges and choruses. Songs like “Don’t Get It Started,” “It’s Me Again,” and “Shelter Baby (Be That Bitch)” are a few examples, given that some rappers don’t always write the most elegant choruses, preferring instead to go for a more direct approach.

Lola’s vocal rhythm gives the song additional depth, as demonstrated in the lines of “It’s Me Again,” as she transitions from a loop of arrogance to toughened rap verses. They have a certain emotional quality to them, which enables some of the deeper tracks to stand out more from the context material. In “God Bless All The Rappers,” which addresses the significance and standing of rap in the artistic community, one rapper’s passing is mourned and an actor receives one last run of In Memoriams.

The album has few features, most of them are unmemorable and unimpressive aside from the mediocre verses of “Best Side.” The song that stood out was “Don’t Get Me Started,” mostly due to the three featured musicians’ harmonious performance. The seamless transition from Nija’s more electro-hip-hop-inspired vocals to Lola Brooke’s loop chorus, which has a Pop Smoke vibe. Nothing here is overdone, while Lola Brooke and Coi Leray’s performances flow effortlessly.

All of the experiences she has had are mirrored in the internalized sincerity with which she delivers her verses in “I Am Lola,” in which Lola plays on her hazy distinction between classism and brand recognition while expressing peculiarities rooted in reality. As narrated in “Dear Dennis,” Lola Brooke begins the album’s last act with this heartfelt tribute to her father, with whom she had a turbulent relationship but who she recognized had mental health issues and an addiction that led to domestic abuse.

Album Theme

On her debut album, Lola Brooke addresses a variety of subjects, including sex, wealth and success, death, discipline, and poverty.


1 Intro (2023 Flow) 1:37
2 I AM LOLA 3:14
3 Don’t Get Me Started (feat. Coi Leray & Nija) 3:19
4 Best Side 2:02
5 Pit Stop (feat. French Montana) 2:47
6 It’s Me Again 2:26
7 You (feat. Bryson Tiller) 2:41
8 Vacant Heart 2:34
9 Dear Dennis 2:52
10 Shelter Baby (Be That Bitch) 2:08
11 God Bless All The Rappers 3:17
12 Don’t Play With It (feat. Latto & Yung Miami) 2:59

Production Credits

Producers on the album include  Alex Goldblatt, Coi Leray, Dizzy Banko, Ejmacc, Helluva Beats, ilir808, Jacob Cooper, Jay The Great, Johnny Bravo, Khristopher Riddick-Tynes, LilJuMadeDaBeat, Ob1 Music, Reefa, reggie, Ryda, Sambeatzz, Scotty 2 Hotty, Tsunami & Unicus.


Back to top button