Elton John And Bernie Taupin Scheduled To Be Recipients Of The 2024 Gershwin Prize For Popular Song

The 2024 recipients of the Library of Congress Gershwin Prize for Popular Song are John, 76, and his longtime songwriter collaborator Bernie Taupin.

In 2007, the Library of Congress instituted the esteemed prize to honor musicians who have demonstrated “influence, impact, and achievement in the field of popular song.” Having written music together for more than 50 years, John and Taupin, both 73, originally met in 1967. With the release of “Crocodile Rock,” they achieved their first No. 1 U.S. hit in 1973.

Greatest hits they’ve done together include “Goodbye Yellow Brick Road,” “Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me,” “Bennie and the Jets,” “Your Song,” “Rocket Man,” and “Tiny Dancer.” The announcement was made over two weeks after John won an Emmy for outstanding live variety program, solidifying his spot in the EGOT hall of fame.

Carla Hayden, the Librarian of Congress, declared on Tuesday that Taupin and John “have written some of the most memorable songs of our lives.” Additionally, a memorial show honoring John and Taupin will take place in Washington, D.C. on March 20.

The show will be broadcast on PBS on April 8 at 8 p.m. ET. John described the honor as a “incredible honor.” In September, the 2023 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee explaining their successful collaborations, said that “the music is the glue that’s kept us together all these years.”

Back to top button