A-Q “God’s Engineering 2” Album Review

God’s Engineering 2


  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 05 May, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 11
  • ℗ 2023 Hustle Ink Entertainment

A-Q &Quot;God'S Engineering 2&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 26, 2024

A-Q has been blowing hot and has much to say since his affiliation with Chocolate City broke off. AQ contributed significantly to the rap industry, but another war raged on in the background as he toiled. This conflict is about control. While AQ put in a lot of effort to succeed and become an executive, streaming now poses a new obstacle. Although streaming has improved the state of music, it has unfairly affected artists in countries like Nigeria.

AQ is aware of the idea of control that an Apple Music/iTunes platform represents. AQ compares streaming farms and the internet to the US government’s purportedly illegal distribution of crack in black neighborhoods in the 1980s. This is the new type of colonialism, he then suggests.

The youthful troublemaker who established rappers subtly respected for his balls, AQ was well-known in the early 2000s. He released “Listen and Overstand,” his first album, in 2005. The desire to be respected was evident in AQ’s 2010 voice as fans fortuitously listened to his project, “The Past, Present, and Future.” The rest of the decade saw AQ release projects and finish university studies. This album is a follow-up to his “God’s Engineering,” released in 2020.

One more query remains: Does A-Q intend to reinforce his status as a “god” to the general public and to himself through “God’s Engineering 2”? AQ is the author and finisher of the stories told throughout the exquisite listening experience that makes up this composition. His approval and rejection are central to the story. As he bares all, he serves as judge, jury, and executioner.

Album Art

A-Q &Quot;God'S Engineering 2&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 26, 2024

The Album art has A-Q, who cuts a lost-in-thought figure in the black and white cover image as he looks responsibly dressed in a shirt and tie and with a pen and paper as he shows his executive side while still maintaining that he still has gas in the tank and no matter how long it takes, he’ll continue to be himself and give his best to the game.

Tracks And Features

The 11-track album, a follow-up to his 2020 release “God’s Engineering,” comprises joint efforts with Blaqbonez and Cobhams Asuquo. The masterpiece begins with “Friction,” A-Q gets things going quickly as he raps about things that annoy him, including his family, other rappers, his recent career change, rising and falling, and how he plans to enjoy life as he sees it right now. Intervals of discourse from various therapy sessions are interspersed throughout the song as the speakers make profound philosophical and inspirational remarks.

The following song, “Blueprint,” features A-Q bragging about himself. He declares his superiority in the industry, makes subtle jabs at brands with whom he has a contract breach, and claims that, as long as he follows his life’s plan, no other rapper comes close because he has only taken a small step back to rocket even further forward.

In “What’s Happening,” the rapper makes subtle allusions to a variety of topics, including politicians and their lies, brands with questionable motives, and the way society has recently placed more value on accumulating fortune than on responsibility or maturity.

Blaqbonez is the album’s opening featured artist with “Family.” A-Q is in a vicious mood, and his lyrics reveal his innermost thoughts as they allude to his recent departure from Chocolate City, where he had been a signed artist for more than five years. The usual slick talking occurs, and A-Q refers to him as a “giant.” This song is among the best on the album, and Blaqbonez does a wonderful job with the chorus.

A-Q sings about his role in “Mogadishu” and includes philosophical references in the song’s lyrics. Additionally, he references the influence of social media, gratitude, his personality, death, and his loved ones. He also raps about how difficult his life was before being famous and how hard he plans to work in the future.

A-Q’s song “King Solomon” has densely packed lyrics. A-Q has a lot to say to the listener, hinting at “crackheads” receiving management perks due to tribalism as well as discussing the development of AI, the appearance of “False gods” on the mic, and his status as “The Chosen One.” The lines of A-Q’s tranquility are threatened by life’s drama, even if this portrays him as a guy at peace. His acknowledgment of the adverse effects of his difficulties as a young artist shows an unmistakable sadness. Despite teaching the new artists what to do, he cannot guarantee that they won’t go through the same things.

Beginning with “PS2,” Blaqbonez performs it with his trademark zeal. He talks slickly and discusses his carelessness in his early years and how music has saved him and allowed him to provide for his family. The lyrics are full of real-life events as A-Q pays tribute to some of his former label mates, and the duo performs aggressively, yet it’s hard to miss the messages he throws in between verses.

In “All Paid For,” A-Q discusses social media influencers, streaming farms, and how even Twitter opinions are bought because of social media’s popularity. Then, he poses the query as the final thought. “What are you gonna do when the fame stops?”

AQ had a protracted battle, and now he is worn out. He swarms in the tides but declines further requests. His narrative is one of incredible achievement after running a marathon that seemed to have no end in sight, but his tranquility is more a result of exhaustion. He holds back from throwing punches at the game because he is worn out. Instead, to accept his life, he strives to understand himself.

Cobahms Asuquo, a legendary performer and producer, is featured on the song “Fate Vs. Destiny,” which has as its themes trace sights of the future and how aspirations have come true. A-Q claims that even if he didn’t pursue music, he was confident in succeeding in any endeavor. According to Cobahms, nobody can resist fate or reject destiny; if something is meant to be, it will be.

The last song on the album is titled “Outrospection.” As usual, A-Q is telling his story to the audience. He speaks of his family, his earlier days of scarcity and want, and how things have improved. He discusses the negative impacts of growing up in the ghetto, how tough it can be to grow up on the streets, especially if your family is conservative or stern, and how he has worked extremely hard to achieve where he is today.


1 Friction 2:31
2 Blueprint 2:22
3 What’s Happening 3:44
4 Family (A-Q & Blaqbonez) 3:21
5 Mogadishu 4:06
6 King Solomon 2:58
7 Ps2 (feat. Blaqbonez) 3:22
8 All Paid For 2:19
9 Man Made 3:24
10 Fate Vs Destiny (feat. Cobhams Asuquo) 3:40
11 Outrospection 3:04

Album Summary

A-Q has to follow industry regulations for a very long time. Standards that did not fit his principles or personality had to be met. With a nose of necessary conformist pretense, A-Q marooned the twisting roadways of the Nigerian music industry for a long time. However, he now navigates his course with the clarity that comes with calm.

However, he is a hard act to follow because not everyone will succeed in business and life like A-Q. He knows that only a select few can tell these tall tales from a place of understanding, so he doesn’t hold up his life as an example for others to imitate. He knows that most people, even those who are successful, must play the long game of deceit until they lose favor.


Back to top button