Big Time Rush “Another Life” Album Review

Another Life

Big Time Rush

  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 02 Jun, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 10
  • ℗ 2023 Bought The Rights LLC under exclusive license to BMG Rights Management (US) LLC

“Another Life” is the fourth studio album released by Big Time Rush. It was released on June 2, 2023 through their own indie label, Bought The Rights, and BMG. The new album serves as BTR’s first album in nearly a decade, following 2013’s “24/seven.” Last month, the band confirmed the release date of their new album, which will coincide with their appearance on Today as part of the 2023 Citi Summer Concert Series. The new album has ten brilliant tracks and no features.

Album Cover Art

Big Time Rush &Quot;Another Life&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

BTR can be seen bordering the four corners of their new album cover. Their faces are split in half to accommodate the album’s title superimposed on the band’s name in the centre of the cover like a stamped seal.

Tracks and Features

“Can’t Get Enough” is a great album opener, bearing elements of Dance and Pop that help the boy band on their mission of love and appreciation for a love interest. They sing about how intoxicating the love is, making them long for more. The song’s arrangement and melody boost the mood. In the next track, BTS beats their crush to it by being the first to admit their romantic feelings. And since they already have a premonition that their crush feels the same, BTS, over the party-worthy Pop beat, tells their crush to quit playing, so they could make “Waves.”

In “I Just Want To (Party All The Time),” the band does an unbelievably good cover of Eddie Murphy’s 1985 classic, “Party All the Time.” They also add some nice group harmonizing as they sing about wanting having a blast, turning up on the dancefloor and partying till they drop, regardless of the situation. Distraught, the band express a dilemma in “Weekends,” and they sing about how much they loathe lovers that blow hot and cold. However, this particular theme comes with a little twist. Not only is the babe lukewarm, she calls only on weekends! And if this was a true story for anyone of the band members, it’s totally understandable why a song would be made about it because there’s only so much a man can endure.

The theme of love and romance spills into “Work For It,” as BTR express their willingness to show how much a love interest is wanted. First, they get into their emotions and fill the babe in on how they feel and the pressure that’ll be applied to bag her. “Can’t Forget You” describes experiences with a beloved blast from the past, and how they got played but somehow can’t erase the player from their minds. Fond memories with an ex-lover who did you dirt are truly the worst nightmares of heartbreak. You’ll want to push and punch and kick them out but they remain fastened to the walls of your mind like the dried-up blood of a killed insect. Oh, and the group harmony at the end of the track was pretty lit.

Usually, it’s the guy who plays the role of ‘savior,’ but the case seems different with BTR. They sing about a nice, lovely lady, who came along and became the sun that showed the way out of a dark place, eventually making them “Brand New.” Cool, moving songwriting. They tap into their inner Westlife for “Ask You Tonight,” and deliver a wonderful chorus and generally, a great performance. In the song they seem sure about taking things to the next level with a special lover.

Though they aren’t “Superstitious,” they sing about being the spell of a woman. Funnily enough, they wouldn’t have it any other way. Rightfully closing the project with the title track, “Another Life,” the band shine their light and inspiration through their hopeful lyrics that encourage the desire to live a more fulfilling life, seeing as we all, well, most of us, get one shot at it.


1 Can’t Get Enough 3:26
2 Waves 3:14
3 I Just Want To (Party All the Time) 2:50
4 Weekends 3:04
5 Work for It 2:33
6 Forget You Now 3:15
7 Brand New 3:37
8 Ask You Tonight 3:00
9 Superstitious 3:13
10 Another Life 2:31

Album Theme

Love and its trials.

Production Credits

Producers on the album include Adam Korbesmeyer, Bryan Todd, Cut&Dry, Maffio, Nick Furlong & Will Ventres.


Back to top button