Avenged Sevenfold “Life Is But a Dream… 1” Album Review

Life Is But a Dream…

Avenged Sevenfold

  • Genre: Rock
  • Date: 02 Jun, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 11
  • ℗ 2023 Avenged Sevenfold under exclusive license to Warner Records Inc.

Avenged Sevenfold &Quot;Life Is But A Dream… 1&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

American heavy metal band Avenged Sevenfold, often known as A7X, was founded in 1999 and is based in Huntington Beach, California. M. Shadows, who sings for the group, is joined by Zacky Vengeance on rhythm guitar, Synyster Gates on lead guitar, Johnny Christ on bass, and Brooks Wackerman on drums.

The eclectic rock music of Avenged Sevenfold is well-known, as are the dramatic album covers and paraphernalia. On their debut album, Sounding the Seventh Trumpet, the band established a metalcore sound, carrying over to their second album, Waking the Fallen. However, the band’s sound had changed into a more conventional heavy metal style by the time the City of Evil, the band’s third album, and first major label release, was released. Before their drummer, James “The Rev” Sullivan, passed away in 2009, the band continued to experiment with new sounds with its self-titled record and proceeded to find success among the general public. With the assistance of drummer Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater), Avenged Sevenfold continued despite his passing. He recorded and toured in support of their fifth album, Nightmare, which debuted at number one in 2010 atop the Billboard 200.

Avenged Sevenfold &Quot;Life Is But A Dream… 1&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

Avenged Sevenfold has put out seven studio albums, one live album/DVD, two compilation albums, and eighteen singles, and has sold more than eight million albums globally. Numerous certification honors have been given to their music, including five platinum album awards from the RIAA in their nation. In addition, the 2018 EP Black Reign contains all four original songs they wrote for the Call of Duty: Black Ops series. On Loudwire’s list of the Top 50 Metal Bands of All Time, the group came in at number 47.

Album Art

Avenged Sevenfold &Quot;Life Is But A Dream… 1&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

The Album art features “dark” art that sees the Grim Reaper standing on a ledge with skulls at either side of where he stands, wielding his infamous sickle. The message is simple yet sad -Indeed, the grim reaper will come for everyone when it’s their time.

Tracks And Features

Game Over is the first song on the album and is a mix of melancholy and emphasis. A tranquil guitar intro contrasts with the dynamic verses. The end heralds a melancholic solo paired with the lyrics, “Can’t you see life is but a dream anyway…”.

The song “Mattel” is partly reminiscent of earlier works by Avenged Sevenfold. Lyrics like “Now I know this might sound crazy, but I smelled the plastic daisies, and it seems we’ve found ourselves in hell” describes Mattel’s theme perfectly: Peace despite the Chaos. Heavy double bass action, dramatic guitar solos, alternating vocals, and screams give the theme additional emphasis and emotion.

“Nobody” is the first single that serves as an appetizer. The guitar intro is reminiscent of an alarm and transitions into a minor arpeggio. The musical structure is very detailed and charged – in contrast, the song is broken up by acapella interludes with an important message. The lyrics suggest that it’s about a person who realizes that they are not just the product of human existence but everything: the universe, all knowledge. The outro is a fast solo that changes keys in between and ends with violins in the background.

“We Love You”  is a complete mashup of genres. The rhapsody-like structure of the piece captures the subject’s emotional content. The phrase “more power, more pace, more money, more taste” sums up what drives us and what ruins our reality. The song is about the pressure society puts on people to consume and exploit as much as they can. The dynamic changes between the progressive and experimental character and the rock, experimental metal, country, etc., were expertly crafted. For instance, the song “Beautiful Morning” is a gritty mashup of grunge and nineties alt-rock with a dash of their metalcore background and the album’s message of sending you down the cosmic rabbit hole of Life is But a Dream as you discover yours.

M. Shadow’s tenor voice opens the song “Cosmic.” The composition of guitar arpeggios, piano, and slow lyrics invites the listener to dream. In contrast, there are siren-like sounds, effects over the vocals, and strings as an outro.

The song “G” by Synyster Gates begins with a guitar solo and effects. The song has a rebellious vibe thanks to spoken vocals, background solos, and female choirs. “What? What did I do? There is a deafening “Jesus Christ, you’ve got to be kidding me!” “(O)rdinary” has an extremely eccentric personality. The song is finished with effect-heavy vocals, a guitar solo, and alarm-like sounds. The music of “(D)eath” has a vintage movie vibe. The traditional ballad character provides Drama and sheer melancholy, broken up by depressing solos. Since this is a hard metal, the song’s dramatic ending with drums, brass, and strings keeps the intensity high. The title track, “Life Is But A Dream,” graces the album’s end with a playful piano piece in a minor key.


1 Game Over 3:46
2 Mattel 5:30
3 Nobody 5:53
4 We Love You 6:15
5 Cosmic 7:31
6 Beautiful Morning 6:32
7 Easier 3:37
8 G 3:37
9 (O)rdinary 2:52
10 (D)eath 3:19
11 Life Is But a Dream… 4:29

Album Summary

In the end, Life is But a Dream… is the truth. You’ll adore this if you enjoy experimental music with solid emotional undertones and thought-provoking lyrics. The variety of genres adds to the work’s intrigue. A7X didn’t come up with this half-baked and abandon it in the middle of development; they see it through to completion. There is little question, however, that the album will be remembered warmly in the future due to its excellent writing. This was undoubtedly created by music enthusiasts that are passionate about the art. Very few mainstream bands in Avenged’s situation are taking such chances.

This album is significant because, in addition to challenging this talking point, it also pushes the listener and rewards them with a mind-expanding experience that might lead them to investigate groups like Mr. Bungle or Frank Zappa. So, in conclusion, notwithstanding your opinions about the band, give Life is But a Dream… a try; it’s sure to rank among the top albums in 2023, primarily for exploring Heavy Metal lovers.


Back to top button