Feist Releases Critically Acclaimed Sixth Studio Album “Multitudes”

Feist "Multitudes" Album

Multitudes, the sixth studio album by Canadian singer-songwriter Feist, was released today via Interscope Records to critical acclaim. The album was largely composed and rehearsed during the same-titled experimental performance from 2021 to 2022, and was profoundly influenced by the mutuality of the unconventional experience.Feist Releases Critically Acclaimed Sixth Studio Album &Quot;Multitudes&Quot;, Yours Truly, News, April 15, 2024

Multitudes was produced by Feist with longstanding collaborators Robbie Lackritz and Mocky, with additional production by Blake Mills on “Borrow Trouble” and recorded in a residential studio in the California Redwoods.

After the birth of Feist’s daughter and the abrupt death of her father, she was left with “nothing performative in me anymore,” which led to the formation of Multitudes. As she purged her songwriting of any propensity to conceal unwelcome truths, Feist gradually arrived at a collection of songs rooted in a raw and potent realism tinged with otherworldly beauty.

The production of Multitudes, created by Feist and legendary designer Rob Sinclair, involved a subtle subversion of normalized conventions between the performer and the observer. It was the first live performance to be designed with 360-degree immersive sound integrated into the production, and the album was also recorded with immersive sound integrated into the production using audiophile-grade Dolby ATMOS by Grammy-nominated producer-engineer Robbie Lackritz.

Feist first investigated her idiosyncratic musicality as a teenager, when she played in a local punk band, and later debuted with 1999’s Monarch (Lay Your Jewelled Head Down). In addition to co-founding the Juno Award-winning indie-rock collective Broken Social Scene, Feist attained breakthrough success with her full-length sophomore effort Let It Die, which won the 2004 Juno Award for Alternative Album of the Year.

The Reminder was released in 2007 and received international acclaim, landing on best-of-the-year lists from publications such as Pitchfork, NPR, Spin, and Rolling Stone, as well as garnering Feist the 2007 Shortlist Music Prize and four Grammy Award nominations.

Jon Pareles, the New York Times’ primary popular music critic, deemed Metals the best album of 2011 and winner of the Polaris Music Prize. Feist went on to premiere the Pleasure Studies podcast in 2019 – which was awarded “Podcast of the Year” by Apple Podcasts – and soon began developing the Multitudes live show, a boundary-pushing collaboration conceived by Feist and Robbie Lackritz and developed in collaboration with artist/filmmaker Colby Richardson, artist Heather Goodchild, and Artistic Producer Mary Ellen Mark.

The latest album by Feist, Multitudes, demonstrates her artistic development with songs rooted in raw and potent realism, with a touch of otherworldly beauty. It is a testament to Feist’s musicality and ability to stretch production and live performance boundaries. Multitudes is now available on all platforms for streaming.

Feist Multitudes Track List:

  1. 01 In Lightning
  2. 02 Forever Before
  3. 03 Love Who We Are Meant To
  4. 04 Hiding Out in The Open
  5. 05 The Redwing
  6. 06 I Took All Of My Rings Off
  7. 07 Of Womankind
  8. 08 Become The Earth
  9. 09 Borrow Trouble
  10. 10 Martyr Moves
  11. 11 Calling All The Gods
  12. 12 Song For Sad Friends


Back to top button