Kizz Daniel “Maverick” Album Review


Kizz Daniel

  • Genre: African
  • Date: 28 Jul, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 20
  • ℗ 2023 FlyBoy INC / EMPIRE

Nigerian singer Kizz Daniel has returned with a new album, “Maverick,” and fans are buzzing about it. Here’s a review of the project.

In 2021, Kizz Daniel released the “Barnabas” EP. The project housed seven tracks and featured contributions from The Cavemen and Kelvyn Colt. It also produced the hits “Lie,” “Eh God (Barnabas),” and “Pour Me Water.” Daniel has since dominated the charts with his music and earned a niche for himself in the competitive Nigerian Afrobeats scene.

Kizz’s return with a new album marks another promising era for his musical career. In 2022, he began releasing songs from the new album but did not share information about the album until later this year. The star had such a fantastic year with hits such as “Buga” with Tekno and “Cough (Odo).” The songs became two of the most successful hits in Africa in 2023.

This year, Daniel released a few more songs from the album and finally officially announced the album. He unveiled the title to be “Maverick.” Of course, fans were ecstatic to hear what he’d been cooking. The album was released on July 28, and the response has been massive. It seems Kizz is set to shake the airwaves again as much as he did in 2021 with “Barnabas.”

Cover Art

Kizz Daniel &Quot;Maverick&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 17, 2024

We are wondering if Kizz Daniel is an artist who you’d classify as creative with his album covers. However, we would all agree that his last two cover arts for the full-length albums’ “No Bad Songz” (2018) and “King Of Love” (2020) were very creative.

This time, the Nigerian Afrobeats star kept things simple but not like he did with the “Barnabas” cover in 2021. The “Maverick” cover art featured an RnB-inspired cover art with a split photo of his face and upper body. Kizz is dressed in a black coat and a hat to match. He also accessorizes with dark shades and an earring. The photo screams “old RnB,” and he absolutely pulls it off.

In our opinion, the “Maverick” album might become Kizz Daniel’s biggest album of all time. Why? Well, most of the pre-released tracks on the album were massive hits. In 2022, Kizz released “Buga,” a celebratory party jam featuring singer and producer Tekno. The song spilled past the borders of Nigeria and held Africa in a dance grip.

It was followed by the social media-viral jam “Cough (Odo),” which received a remix with Becky G before the album dropped. “RTID (Rich Till I Die)” and “Shu-Peru” were also released as singles, and they were equally very successful.

Tracklist & Features

You should know that Kizz Daniel’s first two albums, “New Era” and “No Bad Songz,” both contained 20 tracks. His third studio album, “King Of Love,” housed 17 tracks. With the new “Maverick” album, Kizz returns to his usual 20-track project. The album features contributions from some of Africa’s best talents, including Pryme, Johnny Drille (who co-wrote and produced a few tracks), Nomcebo Zikode, Not3s, Blaqbonez, Chike, Jahmiel, DJ Big N, Yemi Alade, Young Jonn, and American singer and songwriter Becky G. His children Jalil and Jelani also make appearances on the album in the song “Feran You Two.”

1 Red & Green Kizz Daniel 1:54
2 My G Kizz Daniel 2:40
3 Flex Kizz Daniel 3:07
4 Cough (Odo) Kizz Daniel 2:56
5 Show You Off Kizz Daniel & Pryme 2:27
6 Shu-Peru Kizz Daniel 2:19
7 Buga (Lo Lo Lo) Kizz Daniel & Tekno 3:03
8 Feran You Two Kizz Daniel, Jalil & Jelani 3:37
9 Feran Mi Kizz Daniel & Johnny Drille 3:16
10 Complicated Kizz Daniel, Jahmiel, Nomcebo Zikode & Not3s 2:47
11 E’better Kizz Daniel 3:13
12 Blood Is Thicker Kizz Daniel 2:27
13 One Dollar Kizz Daniel & Blaqbonez 2:01
14 Easy To Love Kizz Daniel & Chike 2:46
15 Pour Kizz Daniel 2:13
16 Never Kizz Daniel 2:13
17 Anchovy Kizz Daniel 2:24
18 RTID (Rich Till I Die) Kizz Daniel 2:52
19 Side Chick Kizz Daniel, DJ Big N, Yemi Alade & Young Jonn 2:27
20 Cough Kizz Daniel & Becky G. 2:57


Kizz Daniel has always had fun with his music. He has experimented with hard beats and fun slang. Since 2022, he has also been in his party era and released music to cement this. Kizz’s fourth studio album, “Maverick,” celebrates his incredible talent and comedic wordplay. With the singles already recording massive streams, the album is en route to being his most streamed project across various platforms. It’s been one year short of a decade since Kizz debuted with “Woju,” and he has remained one of the most consistent and celebrated artists in Nigeria.


Back to top button