Morravey “Ravi” EP Review



  • Genre: Afrobeats
  • Date: 02 Nov, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 5
  • ℗ 2023 Nigeria – Sony Music Entertainment West Africa Limited, under exclusive license from Davido Music Worldwide

Morravey &Quot;Ravi&Quot; Ep Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 12, 2024

Morravey, an exceptional artist whose style and vocals captivated listeners on Davido’s ‘Timeless’ album, has finally released her EP titled “Ravi”. Fans have been eagerly anticipating the EP, which showcases Morravey’s unique blend of musical influences. She drew inspiration from her homeland’s diverse cultural fabric and grew up in the vibrant city of Port Harcourt, where music and creativity were an integral part of her upbringing. Her music reflects the city’s resiliency, love, and happiness. The EP features soulful R&B melodies, infectious pop hooks, and the vibrant rhythms of afrobeats and dance. Each song on the EP tells a story, capturing the essence of Morravey’s upbringing and the spirit of Port Harcourt. With this release, Morravey is set to make a lasting impact on the music industry, captivating listeners with her powerful vocals and heartfelt lyrics.

Album Art

Morravey &Quot;Ravi&Quot; Ep Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 12, 2024

For the EP, the album art is rather plain and doesn’t do too much. The DMW princess is glamming up while posing and snapping a picture. One star in the night sky suggests that she wants to be among the stars that the entertainment world will be praising for years to come. The word ‘Ravi’ in Morravey’s EP title means sunshine, perfectly capturing the brilliant energy she brings to her music. Each track in the EP showcases the singer’s versatility and musical ability, captivating listeners with their diverse sounds and moving lyrics.

Tracks And Features

The question “What is love?” effectively captures the complexity of the modern definition of love. With a smooth blend of Afro-R&B tunes, Morravey’s soulful voice creates an intimate picture of longing and uncertainty that profoundly connects with listeners. Morravey’s lyrics delve into the intricate layers of emotions experienced in relationships, exploring themes of vulnerability and passion. Through the music, she invites listeners to reflect on their understanding of love and its multifaceted nature.

The singer sings joyfully in “High Again” about living life fully and appreciating what she has. It has a vibe reminiscent of Amapiano and will undoubtedly cause heads to nod. The song invites listeners to bask in the unadulterated delight of the present by capturing the exhilarating rush of youth and the blissful sensation of being on cloud nine.

The third song by Morravey, “Condo,” is a vibrant tribute to her hometown, Port Harcourt. She skillfully incorporates the city’s dialect into the song to build a connection between the listener and the authentic voice of her people. “Condo” has a more carefree attitude, where Morravey sings about not letting lies get to her and how her energy and way of life will always lead her towards fame and wealth. Her excellent vocals and musicianship are highly commendable on this track, and the lyrics also contain references to drug abuse.

“My Baby” is another fantastic piece of music from the EP. The Afropop song will undoubtedly quickly become a fan favourite. The joyous tune, which sounds like it belongs at a wedding, is ideal for love-related celebrations. She subtly jabs at politicians who make empty promises and claim their children treat her well. A lovely lead guitar solo concludes the song. With their sincere emotion and lively delivery, Morravey’s captivating vocals eloquently capture the essence of savouring special moments with others.

The featured performance of label leader Davido, who gives a top-notch performance with a verse that is pretty respectable and harmonious, makes “Magician” one of the songs that many will be vibing to more. This song highlights DMW and Moravey’s rise to prominence. The song, set to rhythmic beats and celebrating young women’s independence and resiliency, cemented Morravey’s place as a powerful voice in the modern music scene. This concludes the listening experience, but fans can watch how the PH talent develops worldwide.






1 WHAT IS LOVE Morravey 2:57
2 HIGH AGAIN Morravey 2:54
3 CONDO Morravey 2:36
4 MY BABY Morravey 3:07
5 MAGICIAN Morravey & Davido 2:28

Album Summary

Morravey’s “Ravi” EP showcases her wide range and deep artistic talent. The EP has generated a lot of enthusiasm, and Morravey’s fans, who have been eagerly waiting for her solo debut, should expect more treats from her. With this EP, Morravey presents a compelling argument for female empowerment and themes of success, love, relationships, and life that are highly relevant in today’s society. While excitement surrounds the EP’s release, Morravey has hinted at even more surprises for her devoted fans who have been patiently waiting for her solo debut, even as they keep a close eye on Morravey’s musical journey so they don’t miss any of the layers of her artistry that continue to reveal themselves.


Back to top button