Boyfriend Casts Her Hyper-pop Spell On No Doubt’s Anthem “Just A Girl”

The next taste of Boyfriend’s upcoming highly-anticipated debut album is a modern hyper-pop makeover of No Doubt’s iconic “Just A Girl.” Feeding into the ethos of her artistry, this song has been a jab at gender norms since it was first released in the mid-nineties. With Boyfriend’s rock meets hyper-pop stylings, the song is given a new air of playful defiance. “Just A Girl” is available today on all DSPs and streaming platforms here:

“Ever since I started doing music I’ve been told to release cover songs, (usually by some industry person convinced that’s what would make me a star, cue eye roll) but as a songwriter, I always wanted to put my words out into the world, not someone else’s,” says Boyfriend on covering No Doubt. She continues, “But ‘Just A Girl’ already perfectly says what I want to say, as it does pirouettes on the razor’s edge of satire where I, as a songwriter, love to balance and dance.”


Sugar & Spice will be released in its entirety on September 9, seeing the New Orleans-based artist accompanied by a spectacular array of her favorite femme collaborators including longtime musical associate Big Freedia, TikTok star Bailey Flores, Los Angeles-based psych outfit Death Valley Girls, and more. The album also includes big-name production from Gold Glove (Slayyyter, Big Freedia), Little Shalimar (Run The Jewels, Trixie Whitley), KC Da Producer (Justin Bieber, Lil Wayne, T.I.), and Not A Friend (Gia Woods).

Prior to today’s release, Boyfriend released the debaucherous “Dance With the Devil” featuring Pussy Riot, which debuted at #30 on the SubModern charts ( Soon to be released, fans can expect a depraved masterpiece of a music video co-directed by Pussy Riot co-founder Nadya Tolokonnikova and visual artist Yulia Shur, with an appearance from legendary model/performance artist Amanda Lepore. Also off of Sugar & Spice, Boyfriend has released her and Big Freedia’s rework of the riot grrrl classic “Deceptacon” and the album’s title track featuring Pyra.

Boyfriend will set out on a headline tour of her long-awaited debut album at the top of October, beginning in San Francisco, CA, and coming to a close in Austin, TX. All tour information can be found here: Casts Her Hyper-Pop Spell On No Doubt'S Anthem &Quot;Just A Girl&Quot;, Yours Truly, News, April 22, 2024


  • 10/1 – San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
  • 10/7 – Mobile, AL – Alabama Music Box
  • 10/8 – Brooklyn NY – Elsewhere – Zone 1
  • 10/14 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th St. Entry
  • 10/20 – Nashville, TN – The End
  • 10/21 – New Orleans, LA – The Rabbit Hole
  • 10/22 – Denver, CO – Ophelia’s Electric Soapbox
  • 10/28 – Seattle, WA – Barboza
  • 11/5 – Washington, D.C. – Pie Shop
  • 11/11 – Birmingham, AL – The Nick
  • 11/12 – Atlanta, GA – Smith’s Olde Bar
  • 11/17 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall (Upstairs)
  • 11/18 – Dallas, TX – Limbo Room at The RUINS
  • 11/19 – Austin, TX – Mohawk (Inside)

Back to top button