French Montana “Mac & Cheese 5” Album Review

Mac & Cheese 5

French Montana

  • Genre: Hip-Hop
  • Date: 23 February 2024
  • Content: Explicit
  • Track(s): 21
  • 2023, @Coke Boys Records/Gamma

The talented Moroccan-born rapper has been pouring his heart and soul into his latest music project, Mac & Cheese 5, which marks the final instalment of his beloved mixtape series that has been a fan favourite for almost 15 years. The album boasts an incredible lineup of well-known artists, including the likes of Kanye West, Rick Ross, Lil Wayne, Lil Durk, JID, Lil Baby, Meek Mill, Westside Gunn, Bryson Tiller, SAINt JHN, Buju Banton, Jenn Carter, Kylie Richh, Mikky Ekko, Jeremih, 41, and Amber Run. The artist initially announced the album’s release in November, offering a visual teaser and release date. Unfortunately, the album’s release was delayed by a month, leaving many fans disappointed. French later revealed Lil Baby’s guest appearance on the album in a December Instagram post, teasing the fans with more information about the other featured artists. This album comes more than a year after French’s last album, Coke Boys 6, which was also heavily loaded with features and included prominent artists like Chinx, ASAP Rocky, Benny the Butcher, Jeremih, Max B, Kodak Black, and Nav.

Kanye West makes a double appearance on two songs, “Where They At” and “Stand United,” while Rick Ross graces two tracks, namely “Splash Brothers” and “Millionaire Row.” Meanwhile, Diddy, who has been embroiled in controversy and sexual abuse allegations, was initially featured on an earlier version of the tracklist, which also included The Weeknd and 21 Savage. However, the final version of the lineup is notably distinct, with several big names like Drake, Future, Kodak Black, Chris Brown, Swae Lee, Ty Dolla Sign, Lil Tjay, and PartyNextDoor being noticeably absent.

Album Art

French Montana &Quot;Mac &Amp; Cheese 5&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 12, 2024


The album Art by French Montana boasts an intriguing, captivating, and vibrant cover. The cover features an image of French Montana, adorned with his signature jewellery, and has a star painted on his face, right above his left eyebrow. The star is a significant symbol, which, in this case, may represent his roots. In this instance, it could be interpreted as French Montana’s way of affirming his cultural identity and heritage. The star on his face could also represent his status as a celebrity and a celebrity in the music industry. Overall, the album cover is visually stunning and thought-provoking art, perfectly capturing French Montana’s style and persona.

Tracks And Features

The album’s listening experience starts with a bang, as French’s “Dirty Bronx” featuring Amber Run sets the tone. The cinematic track also has a music video directed by Kid Art. In the song, French fittingly responds to his detractors, giving each of their criticisms a response. Amber Run’s vocals perfectly complement the dreamy lyrics that highlight the reality of the situation.

“Stand United” is a hard-hitting hip-hop track and the first collaboration on the album, featuring the likes of Kanye West, Saint JHN, and Buju Banton. The song deals with unity and division among people, particularly the youth. The lyrics address people’s perceptions of each other and how they should react to disunity.

Rick Ross and Lil Wayne team up on “Splash Brothers,” a track that boasts of their musical prowess. Lil Wayne’s lyrics are a testament to his rap skills, while Rick Ross reminds everyone that he is still winning and getting the bag. “Okay” is a smooth track that features Lil Baby and ATL Jacob. The song’s flute intro perfectly fits the lyrics covering love, relationships, hustle, grind, gangsterism, and luxury.

“Where They Are” is a hip-hop track that features Kanye West and Westside Gunn. The song is as controversial as it gets, with lyrics that aim at the paparazzi and the Grammys. The soundtrack mimics gunshots, adding to the track’s intensity. “Too Fun” sees Kylie Rich, Jenn Carter, and 41 collaborating on a song to celebrate their journey as industry players. The group is unapologetic about the fun they’ve had along the way.

JID collaborates on “Praise God,” a track testament to their gratitude, hope, courage, relationships, and prayers. The song’s beat is on fire, and the lyrics testify to their musical prowess. Lil Durk and Montana come together on “Money Ain’t a Thing,” a track about brotherhood, gangsterism, and love lost among friends. The lyrics address the rising killings among the youth for money-related issues and point out that there are things that supersede the love of money.

Jeremih collaborates on “Goals,” a track that showcases his R&B skills. The song talks about love and relationships, and Jeremih’s smooth vocals perfectly fit the lyrics. Bryson Tiller collaborates on “Fake Friends,” a track that deals with themes of disloyalty and dishonesty. The lyrics speak about how friends appear when your money is up, and the duo admits that many things have broken them but helped fix their vision.

Rick Ross is back with “Millionaire Row,” a song celebrating the good life. The lyrics are a testament to their wealth, and they’re unapologetic about it. The album’s listening experience ends on a chill note with “Documentary,” featuring Mikky Ekko. The song’s relaxed vibe is a perfect way to end the album.

Album Summary

French Montana is a renowned musician who has entertained his fans with his latest project. This project features some of the most illustrious collaborations in the music industry, including Montana, who brings his A-game to the show. The album may not have matched the same chart success as some of his previous releases, but it is undoubtedly one of his most cohesive works. From the opening track to the final song, a seamless flow takes you through his music. You won’t find any skips here; every piece is a testament to his artistry and creativity.


Track Number Title Artists Duration
1 Dirty Bronx Intro French Montana & Amber Run 3:32
2 Talk To Me French Montana 3:16
3 Stand United (feat. Buju Banton) French Montana, Kanye West & SAINt JHN 2:44
4 Splash Brothers French Montana, Rick Ross & Lil Wayne 3:42
5 Okay French Montana, Lil Baby & ATL Jacob 3:13
6 Casino Life 3 French Montana 2:34
7 Where They At French Montana, Kanye West & Westside Gunn 2:54
8 Skit French Montana 1:28
9 Too Fun (feat. 41) French Montana, Kyle Richh & Jenn Carter 3:28
10 Facts French Montana 2:16
11 Praise God French Montana & JID 3:15
12 Money Ain’t A Thing French Montana & Lil Durk 3:14
13 Goals French Montana & Jeremih 3:38
14 Other Side French Montana 2:11
15 Fake Friends French Montana & Bryson Tiller 2:52
16 Where We Came From French Montana 1:53
17 Made It In USA French Montana 2:38
18 Millionaire Row French Montana, Rick Ross & Meek Mill 2:47
19 Ride The Wave French Montana 1:51
20 Back In Style (Interlude) French Montana 2:49
21 Documentary French Montana & Mikky Ekko 4:10


Back to top button