Taylor Swift Drops A Surprise Double Album With “The Tortured Poets Department”

American singer, Taylor Swift revealed a major surprise two hours after her eagerly-awaited album “The Tortured Poets Department” was released, stating that it’s a double album!

Four previously unannounced bonus tracks—”The Manuscript,” “The Bolter,” “The Albatross,” and “The Black Dog”—were included in the fifteen additional songs. These tracks were supposed to be offered on different physical album versions. Now, these eleven additional tormented tracks comprise the second edition of “TTPD.”

Given that pop singer Swift had been quietly hinting at the schedule for a few days, the unexpected release at 2 a.m. may not have come as a huge surprise to all of her ardent fans. In addition, she had a peace sign amidst the souvenirs on the bookshelf, which she had displayed at the Grammy Awards in February to reveal that she had been hoarding the album for two years.

After that, Swift unveiled a teaser video on Wednesday that showed the change from her “Midnights” period to the “Tortured Poets Department.” The video opens with a wall clock that is set to 2:00. Finally, Swift’s Instagram profile revealed a mystery two-hour countdown right as the album was released on Friday at midnight.

Prior to its release, the album set records on Spotify. The project, according to the streaming service, became the “most pre-saved album Countdown Page in Spotify history.”

Back to top button