CDQ “Mood and Ecstasy” Album Review

Mood and Ecstasy


  • Genre: Worldwide
  • Date: 10 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 14
  • ℗ 2023 NSNS, under exclusive license to Mad Solutions LLC

NSNS Entertainment Label head and experienced rapper, CDQ, has enthralled his fans once more with his captivating new album, “Mood and Ecstasy.”

With this album, CDQ demonstrates why he is regarded as one of the most dynamic and versatile spitters on the Nigerian hip-hop/rap scene, skillfully fusing catchy melodies, infectious beats, and thought-provoking lyrics to create an immersive musical experience for listeners.

Album Cover Art

Cdq &Quot;Mood And Ecstasy&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, June 13, 2024

Set in an eerie wilderness backdrop, CDQ is dressed in an all-black outfit, sporting some chains and a hat, which he holds on to to strike a pose. Also, his feet barely touches the ground, though it becomes a tad confusing to understand how it reflects or even relates to the album title.

Tracks and Features

CDQ features Ebenezer Obey and Timbaland in the album’s opening track, “Vanity” where the rapper touches on a number of subjects ranging from personal to political. However, the song as a whole falls short of what you might expect from a collaboration of this calibre. Mr. Obey sings with some kind of lack of inspiration and while CDQ’s raps are energetic, his bars lack that OG quality and come off as slightly mediocre.

For “Put It On Me,” he teams up with Camidoh, and together, they attempt to convince their love interests to gladly bill them instead of looking outside and doing the most with other men for what they easily can provide. Picking Camidoh for this feature was a bright business choice, as the singer completely raised the vibration of the track with that beautiful chorus. CDQ also held his own, many thanks to the melodic beat.

“Manya” features Masterkraft and Dammy Thunda, which is basically a feel-good tune that celebrates the ‘outside’ life and its thrills. However, the track doesn’t exactly measure up to the quality of feel-good groove they probably had in mind. Not a bad production from Mastaa, as well.

Dammy Thunda makes a second appearance in “Feelings” in which he and CDQ get a little personal by sharing their struggles and how they have to push through them. CDQ also had some shots for religious hypocrites while doing most of his raps in his indigenous language of Yoruba. Dammy, again, plays the role of savior but could not exactly remedy the situation of the subpar track.

Mayorkun performs alongside CDQ in “Sare,” and you bet the Mayor of Lagos makes it all better with his great vocals and melodic chorus. CDQ did alright too, rhythmically riding the beat’s wave-blend of Afrobeats and Amapiano. Somehow, the song still doesn’t hit like a collab of this magnitude should.

At this point, it’s become a track record how all the features on this album end up making CDQ look like the featured rapper. Dandy came through in the merry “Call The Waiter” and proved just that. CDQ always does all he can to pull his weight, regardless. As the title suggests, this is an ode to all the dedicated club-goers and folks that like to turn up to the max. The music production also helps the cause a great deal.

Bad Boy Timz shows up on “Mugabe” and showcases why he is bad. So bad CDQ couldn’t do much good, though he tried. Both artists are on about the soft life and offering it to their babes for a bit of TLC in return. Masterkraft brought that original vibe with his fine Amapiano-injected production, making it a fun trampoline for both artists to jump on.

It’s disappointing to hear a song like “Igbolade,” which features industry OGs, D’banj and Timaya. You see names like those together on one track and automatically have high expectations, only to get let down and left wondering why supposed-to-be seasoned artists sound so washed up and unmotivated. That includes CDQ’s rendition, though he tried small. The beat might also have a hand in this tragedy, as it doesn’t exactly sound like what would spark creativity.

“Circumstances” closes the album on a high note, thanks to Amapiano and a catchy chorus.


1 Vanity CDQ, Ebenezer Obey & Timbaland 3:39
2 Alone CDQ 3:16
3 Put It on Me CDQ & Camidoh 3:25
4 Manya CDQ, Masterkraft & Dammy thunda 3:25
5 Feelings (feat. Dammy thunda) CDQ 2:54
6 Sare CDQ 3:11
7 Call the Waiter (feat. Dandy) CDQ 2:40
8 Mugabe CDQ & Bad Boy Timz 3:19
9 Pop CDQ 2:48
10 Doings CDQ 3:24
11 Enjoy Yourself (Mamita) CDQ 3:09
12 Gbele (feat. Dammy thunda) CDQ 2:31
13 Igbalode CDQ, D’banj & Timaya 2:28
14 Circumstances (feat. 9umba, Mdoovar & TOSS) CDQ 3:51

Album Theme

Celebrating life, shutting critics up and expressing loving affection.

Production Credits

Masterkraft and a host of other up-and-coming producers handled the album’s production.


Back to top button