Christina Perri ”Songs for Christmas” Album Review

Songs for Christmas

Christina Perri

  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 3 Nov, 2023
  • Content: Cleaned
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2023 Elektra Entertainment LLC

Christina Perri ”Songs For Christmas” Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 29, 2024

Christina Perri, the talented singer-songwriter, has embraced the festive season spirit by releasing her latest album, “Songs for Christmas.” The album, which was launched on November 3, features a collection of Christmas classics such as the heartwarming “Silent Night,” the cheerful “Frosty the Snowman,” and the ever-popular “Let It Snow.” In addition to the holiday favourites, the album includes a brand new, original song, “Christmas Dream,” showcasing Christina’s exceptional songwriting skills.

Christina has also released two other lullaby albums dedicated to her daughters besides her latest holiday album. Her first lullaby album, “Songs for Carmella,” was released on her eldest daughter’s first birthday in 2019. Following the success of her first lullaby album, Christina released “Songs for Pixie” in honour of her younger daughter’s first birthday. Tragically, she also lost a child, and her latest lullaby album, “Songs for Rosie,” is a tribute to the child she lost. Christina’s music is a reflection of her life’s journey and celebrates the love she has for her family.

Album Art

Christina Perri ”Songs For Christmas” Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 29, 2024

The album cover art is a beautiful display of the Christmas spirit. The cover features eye-catching elements such as twinkling Christmas lights and hanging cards that will put anyone in a festive mood. Including a baby cot on the artwork adds a touch of innocent playfulness, making it the perfect soundtrack to a cosy Christmas morning spent with loved ones, commemorating the season’s meaning. Overall, the album art exudes warmth and joy, perfectly capturing the essence of the holiday season.

Tracks And Features

The listening experience starts with a beautiful acoustic version of “Silent Night” and fantastic backup vocals, creating a stunning opening. The backup vocals add a mesmerizing harmony to the acoustic rendition of “Silent Night,” resulting in an enchanting atmosphere. As the song progresses, the listener is captivated by the seamless blend of soothing melodies and heartfelt lyrics, setting the stage for an unforgettable musical journey.

Next comes “Christmas Dream,” which picks up from where the first track stopped and sees the vocalist sing a lullaby to her newborn as the newborn experiences a first Christmas. The acoustic rendition and delivery are tight, and the backups do an excellent job. The soothing melody of the lullaby creates a peaceful atmosphere, while the heartfelt lyrics capture the joy and wonder of this particular moment. The harmonious blend of the vocalist’s voice with that of the backup singers adds depth and emotion to the performance. The balanced mix of the vocalist’s voice with the backup singers adds depth and feeling to the performance, making it truly captivating.

“A Marshmallow World” paints a love ballad with food-themed lyrics that continue the themes of the Christmas spirit. The song captures the essence of a winter wonderland by using clever food metaphors to describe the joy and warmth of being in love during the holiday season. The playful and whimsical lyrics create a delightful atmosphere, making “A Marshmallow World” a great addition to any festive playlist.

“Mele Kalikimaka” is a country-themed Hawaiian song for Christmas. The ukulele and banjo wish the listener a merry Christmas in a jolly way. The song’s catchy melody and upbeat rhythm create a joyful atmosphere, transporting listeners to the tropical paradise of Hawaii during the holiday season. With its unique blend of country and Hawaiian elements, “Mele Kalikimaka” has become a beloved Christmas classic that brings smiles to people’s faces year after year.

“Frosty the Snowman” sees the vocalist give her rendition of the famous Christmas anthem, but with a swing of her own. Her unique style and jazzy interpretation breathe new life into the beloved holiday tune, infusing it with a playful and infectious energy. The vocalist’s smooth vocals and catchy rhythms make “Frosty the Snowman” a refreshing and delightful rendition that will get everyone dancing.

Christina Perri’s rendition of “Let It Snow” is a remarkable take on the holiday classic. The song’s opening notes immediately invite the listener into a cosy winter wonderland as Perri’s soulful voice carries them away. Her unique interpretation of the tune showcases her distinctive vocal style, infusing it with a fresh, modern energy while still paying homage to the original melody. The song’s arrangement features a beautiful piano accompaniment that perfectly complements Perri’s vocals, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere. Whether curled by the fire or driving home for the holidays, Perri’s version of “Let It Snow” is perfect for your festive playlist.

“Christmas Waltz” is a celebration composition for the season as the vocalist and her backups wish the listener a happy Christmas. The song’s enchanting melody and graceful rhythm evoke a sense of joy and nostalgia, transporting listeners to a world filled with warmth and holiday cheer. With heartfelt lyrics and harmonious vocals, “Christmas Waltz” captures the essence of the festive spirit, making it a timeless classic that brings people together in the true spirit of Christmas.

“White Christmas ” is another rendition of a famous Christmas anthem that sees the vocalist say her dreams for the Christmas season aloud. The song, originally written by Irving Berlin, beautifully captures the nostalgic longing for a snowy Christmas with lyrics that evoke a sense of warmth and joy. The vocalist’s heartfelt delivery adds emotional depth to the song, making it a timeless favourite during the holiday season.

“The Christmas Song” concludes the amazing and chill Christmas listening experience. The vocalist makes her Christmas wishes to her listeners and wishes them a merry Christmas as the ringing bells bring the experience to an end. She expresses her gratitude for the joy and warmth the holiday season brings and hopes that her music has added a touch of magic to their celebrations. As the final notes fade away, she leaves her listeners with a heartfelt message of love and peace, reminding them to cherish the true spirit of Christmas throughout the year.


No. Title Duration
1 Silent Night 1:40
2 Christmas Dream 2:31
3 A Marshmallow World 2:21
4 Sleigh Ride 2:32
5 Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer 1:50
6 Mele Kalikimaka 1:36
7 Frosty the Snowman 1:46
8 Let It Snow 2:14
9 Christmas Waltz 1:49
10 Wonderful Christmastime 1:56
11 White Christmas 1:34
12 The Christmas Song 3:41

Album Summary

Perri’s music sets the perfect ambience for the holiday season. Her beautiful renditions of some of the most popular Christmas anthems will surely put you in a festive mood. With her unique and creative spin on the jingles, she has breathed new life into these classic tunes, and her original compositions are full of merriment and joy. This is a fitting arrangement for the yuletide season, and what better way to soothe your loved ones than with a Christmas lullaby that will wrap them in a warm embrace and lull them to a calming sleep.


Back to top button