Mat & Savanna Shaw “Christmas Together” Album Review

Christmas Together

Mat & Savanna Shaw

  • Genre: Holiday
  • Release Date: 2022-11-18
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 8
  • ℗ 2022 Mat and Savanna

The Daddy-Daughter-Duo, Mat and Savanna Shaw, present their brand-new Christmas album via Legendary Vocals. “Christmas Together” is a different compilation of carols meant to encapsulate the spirit of the holidays and its optimism and joy. The new album, which is a full-length offering, is a sequel to their last Christmas album, “The Joy of Christmas,” which followed after “Merry Little Christmas,” that went on to reach the top spot on the iTunes Holiday chart. “Christmas Together” is yet another lively, joyful project ready to brighten your spirits for the Yuletide season.

Album Cover Art

Mat &Amp; Savanna Shaw &Quot;Christmas Together&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

On a dark blue background, the duo of Mat and Savanna sit close to each other on a milk-coloured couch, all smiles, in the spirit of the holidays as Savanna shows off her wrapped present, possibly gifted her by her dad who also happens to be her singing partner. With such a cool parent, spending Christmas Together just couldn’t get any better.

Tracks and Features

The album opens with “Hark the Herald,” which sets out with some acoustic chords. The melodic modulations and vocal renditions by the duo make this track a worthy opener. The beat and orchestral composition, the stringy/piano chords in the background and the slight tune manoeuvres all add flavor to track.

The next track, “Jingle Bells,” has a jazzy vibe to it. The track witnesses Matt and Savanna compliment their vocals in sonorous form as they deliver a smooth, rousing rendition of the popular Christmas song. Also, there’s a saxophone interlude while the vocalists modulate at intervals as they both add a little creative twist to the tune as we know it.

The first guest feature of the album is Jim Brickman and he is invited on the track titled ” Christmases Together.” The ballad-like tune evokes emotion and paints the perfect Christmas picture everyone loves to have–one filled with love. The lyrics contain themes of family, love, relationships, and unity. The piano chords supports the vocal renditions in such a beautiful way, making this a lovely track fit for your Christmas playlist. On “The First Noel,” the duo bless us with their solos of the Christmas hymn in a commendable manner while also delivering some great harmony. The great instrumentation on the song just wonderfully complements the vocalizations as well as the modulations.

BYU Vocal Point is featured on “Carol of the Bells/Wayfaring Stranger.” The Acapella group in conjunction with Mat and Savanna deliver on the track and make this one of the best tracks off the album with respect to composition, melody, technique and vocal dexterity. The beatboxing and all the harmonizing come in clutch. Dave and Claire Crosby are summoned for assistance on “The Christmas Song”. The quartet’s delivery on the track is as just as deserving of praise as the others, with the acoustic guitar chords dictating the pace and setting the tune for the track. Themes of love and relationship are largely found in the lyrics as they try to express their emotions for the season.

Coming into the last track on the album, “What Christmas means to Me,” the duo sing to each other over an upbeat tune that features trumpets, tubas and bass chords in the background as they express what they want for Christmas and what it means to them. The piano and percussion chords bring the album to a melodic end.


Title Time
1 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing 3:57
2 Jingle Bells 3:36
3 Christmases Together (feat. Ji 2:54
4 The First Noel 4:29
5 Carol of the Bells / Wayfaring 4:00
6 What Child Is This? 4:50
7 The Christmas Song (feat. Clai 3:50
8 What Christmas Means to Me 3:59

Album Theme

Just like those fancy colorful lights sparkle on a Christmas tree, this album is another successful attempt at lighting hearts up for Christmas and celebrating the joy of spending that time of the year with family.

Production Credits

This hasn’t been made available.


The request is not properly authorized to retrieve the specified playlist.

Back to top button