Drake “For All The Dogs: Scary Hours Edition” Album Review

For All The Dogs Scary Hours Edition


  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 17 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 29
  • ℗ 2023 OVO, under exclusive license to Republic Records, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc.

Drake has continued the “Scary Hours” EP series, which he first revealed on Instagram. The additional tracks were recorded shortly after “For All The Dogs” was released in early October. The “Scary Hours Edition” comprises six new tracks created collectively in just five days.

It’s the culmination of an era defined by spurts of influence and inspiration, unfolding like one continuous breath over a fine curation of boom-baps and bright-toned 808s courtesy of hip-hop’s finest beat makers.

Album Cover Art

Drake &Quot;For All The Dogs: Scary Hours Edition&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

The new album cover features a blurry picture of two animated little cherub-looking figures painted in blue ink and holding hands.

Tracks and Features

With the song “Red Button,” Drake is off to a great start on this EP. We anticipated and desired this when he announced that we would be hearing the old Drake on “For All The Dogs.” This song’s instrumentation is really subtle. It has a soothing melody with a gentle drum beat and an old-school vibe, mostly delivered by snares. The melody is supplied by a stunning vocal sample, which is accompanied by chimes and a guitar riff.

This single features some of the most intense rapping we have heard from Drake in a long time; he sounds more concentrated and animated than he has in a long time. Drake asserts that he is the best of his generation and criticizes his contemporaries. Additionally, he displays his contempt for Kanye West, attempting to genuinely rekindle their long-standing, intermittent feud.

With “Stories About My Brother,” Drake keeps rapping his ass off over a soothing soundtrack. This is just another extremely straightforward instrumental that highlights Drake’s outstanding performance. This song’s instrumental has a Saturday Morning Jazzy R&B vibe to it.  This tune has a very blue and melancholic melody that is complemented with a funky bass line, what sounds like a French horn, and some light piano notes in the background to lighten the mood.

The soft, faint instrumentals heard on the previous several tracks are carried over into “The Shoe Fits.” This song’s instrumental actually draws a little from the R&B vibe of the early 2000s. This track’s melody is supplied by a bright, warm synth sample, which is interspersed with distorted guitar tones.

The melody’s calming vibe is perfectly complemented by the quiet beat that is used. Drake responds to the people who criticized him for “For All The Dogs” not being as close to his previous work as he had claimed. He claims that this is the best version of him that we will ever get and that the previous version of him is no longer alive.

“Wick Man” bears a striking resemblance to earlier Drake songs compared to the three tracks that came before it. Nonetheless, the instrumental portion of the song sounds just like it belongs on his earlier releases. Though he doesn’t rap on this song with the same intensity and focus as he did on the previous three, Drake still uses a hard flow that effectively makes his point. When it comes to calling out and dominating other rappers, Drake draws comparisons to John Wick, declaring that he is undefeated and that anyone who challenges with him would be left in the dust.

The only track from the project with a feature is dubbed “Evil Ways.” Thankfully, J. Cole is in this song, making it a very significant feature. This song sounds more like a J. Cole song than a Drake song on the instrumental side. “Evil Ways” boasts a Southern Gospel Trap vibe. Drake and J. Cole rap about realizing that, despite their extended careers, they remain among the industry’s elite rappers.

Drake’s “You Broke My Heart” concludes “For All The Dogs: Scary Hours Edition”. This song, like “The Wick Man,” features an instrumental that makes me think of some of Drake’s early work.  Drake sings a little bit on the song, which changes things up and gives it texture, in addition to rapping with a fervor and fury that makes this song hit extra hard. Drake confronts his ex-partner for mistreating him and causing him lasting pain.


1 Virginia Beach 4:11
2 Amen (feat. Teezo Touchdown) 2:21
3 Calling For You (feat. 21 Savage) 4:45
4 Fear Of Heights 2:35
5 Daylight 2:44
6 First Person Shooter (feat. J. Cole) 4:07
7 IDGAF (feat. Yeat) 4:20
8 7969 Santa 4:19
9 Slime You Out (feat. SZA) 5:10
10 Bahamas Promises 3:04
11 Tried Our Best 3:29
12 Screw The World 1:52
13 Drew A Picasso 4:22
14 Members Only (feat. PARTYNEXTDOOR) 4:37
15 What Would Pluto Do 3:02
16 All The Parties (feat. Chief Keef) 3:38
17 8am in Charlotte 4:26
18 BBL Love 2:41
19 Gently (feat. Bad Bunny) 2:13
20 Rich Baby Daddy (feat. Sexyy Red & SZA) 5:19
21 Another Late Night (feat. Lil Yachty) 2:50
22 Away From Home 4:18
23 Polar Opposites 4:17
24 Red Button 2:40
25 Stories About My Brother 4:24
26 The Shoe Fits 6:14
27 Wick Man 3:01
28 Evil Ways (feat. J. Cole) 3:47
29 You Broke My Heart 3:50

Album Theme

Drake returns to his roots in “For All The Dogs: Scary Hours Edition,” showcasing his passion and fire on a number of stripped-back rhythms, rather than trying to fit into the current trends and sounds.

Drake presents his lyrics as a form of catharsis through confession throughout, yet his scathing critiques of rivals, lovers, fans, and critics counterbalance any introspection with an unwillingness to change.

Production Credits

The album’s production was taken care of by Drake, Teezo Touchdown, and Lil Yachty, alongside 40, Sango, Oz, Bnyx, Southside, Boi-1da, Vinylz, Tay Keith, FnZ, Jahaan Sweet, the late DJ Screw, Stwo, Gordo, Justin Raisen, and the Alchemist, among others.


Back to top button