Georgia “Euphoric” Album Review



  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 28 Jul, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Track(s): 10
  • ℗ 2023 Domino Recording Co Ltd

Georgia &Quot;Euphoric&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 23, 2024

Georgia strongly believes in the uplifting power of a vibrant pop chorus, and she is known mononymously by her first name. In her third album, “Euphoric,” the London-based producer and songwriter Georgia Barnes beautifully perceives the world around her with vivid colours. Her voice can be breathless and amazed while the synths exude a dazzling sparkle.

In 2015, Georgia released a self-titled debut album. However, it wasn’t until three years later, with her second album, “Seeking Thrills,” that she gained a larger audience. This album earned her a nomination for the Mercury Prize, and she even toured with HAIM and Carly Rae Jepsen. The ’80s inspire her music and tell stories of dancefloor romances. While the album was filled with vocoder effects and catchy moments, it was so well-constructed that it was sometimes difficult to discern her style as a performer.

Album Art

Georgia &Quot;Euphoric&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 23, 2024

The album cover depicts Georgia in a colourful hue portrait. She gazes directly into the camera with a look of intense curiosity, as if she is utterly intrigued by what she sees. Her parted lips suggest she is about to say something, while her expression conveys blissful excitement and a feeling lost in the moment’s euphoria.

Tracks And Features

The album has a more introverted direction compared to her previous works. In “Give It Up for Love,” the artist emphasizes the significance of giving space to others. “It’s Euphoric” also showcases her stepping away from her usual style. Georgia, the daughter of Neil Barnes from Leftfield, expands her instrumental range in her new album. The track “Give It Up for Love” showcases the acoustic guitar, and other songs introduce organic instruments like the sitar and cello. As a drummer, Georgia’s dance music style has always incorporated rhythm, which is still evident in tracks like “Mountain.”

“Live Like We’re Dancing Part II” is an upbeat track with multiple drum loops, perfect for getting festival crowds moving this summer. Meanwhile, “Keep On” has a dreamlike quality that evokes a weightless feeling. Both tracks are sure to be hits.

Georgia’s song “Things You’ll Never Know” may be similar to Robyn’s work, but Georgia has her unique style of gradually developing catchy melodies without relying on repetition. Unlike Robyn, Georgia incorporates acoustic elements into her music to add a human touch. Her voice is treated with Auto-Tune in “All Night”, and hyper pop glitches in “Friends Will Never Let You Go.” The album concludes with “So What,” where she takes a deeper dive. This album explores the theme of hopeless devotion and the eternal search for “the one.” It also serves as a testament to the solid musical chemistry between Rostam and Georgia.


1 It’s Euphoric 3:41
2 Give It up for Love 3:58
3 Some Things You’ll Never Know 2:49
4 Mountain Song 4:29
5 All Night 3:00
6 Live Like We’re Dancing (Part II) 3:45
7 The Dream 3:51
8 Keep On 4:10
9 Friends Will Never Let You Go 2:51
10 So What 3:39

Album Summary

Georgia has created her first collaborative album, showcasing a stronger sense of herself than ever before. Throughout the album, she emphasizes the importance of other people in her life. While the album is more accessible, some of the unique qualities of her earlier releases have been lost. Georgia blends different eras of electro-pop to create both polished and intimate songs. However, the album’s second half relies too heavily on slow, subdued songs, and Georgia’s lyrics lack impact.

Georgia’s first collaborative album showcases her growth as an artist and her ability to connect with others. The album’s accessibility allows a broader audience to appreciate her music, but it does come at the cost of some of the distinctiveness in her previous releases. Despite this, Georgia’s skill in blending different eras of electro-pop is evident throughout the album, resulting in a collection of polished and intimate songs. However, relying on slow, subdued tracks in the second half may leave listeners feeling worn out rather than ecstatic.


Back to top button