Imagine Dragons “Mercury – Act 2” Album Review

Mercury – Acts 2

Imagine Dragons

  • Genre: Alternative
  • Release Date: 2022-07-01
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 18
  • ℗ 2022 KIDinaKORNER/Interscope Records

It has been said that we are the sum of our experiences – in other words, we’re conditioned by the things we experience. The realities of life shape people, and they can decide to talk about the transformation or not.

For the American pop rock band Imagine Dragons, there is so much to talk about, and the group happily shares in a new body of work dubbed “Mercury – Act 2.” Of course, there’s an “Act 1,” but that’s not why we have made it here.

That said, it was a pleasure listening to Imagine Dragons as the group, which originates in Las Vegas, Nevada, spit its bars for those who would listen. Given the appeal of what was released, it is very tempting to make a joke of the group’s adopted stage name.

A dragon is supposed to spit fire, but the group did way more than that, as you’ll find out presently. Join us, then, as we treat what just dropped from the orbit of Imagine Dragons.


The artwork for the “Mercury – Act 2” album is the same as the one used for Par 1, except for some modest changes. The colour has moved from red to something else. But there’s still the lone figure, upside down this time.

In all of this, there’s just the hint of a group in love with symbolism and keen to share the same. Of course, the themes in the collection are pretty dark too. But, to the group’s credit, they actually know how to put a collection together.

Imagine Dragons &Quot;Mercury - Act 2&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, September 23, 2023


Given the composition of the albums we have listened to so far, we’re tempted to think we’ve entered the era of lengthy tracklists. What else explains the many songs artists have adopted for their albums of recent?

Anyway, Imagine Dragons’ “Mercury – Act 2” album has got a rich tracklist, beginning with “Bones,” going through “Higher Ground” and crashing through “Waves.” It doesn’t end there. However. Here is the full tracklist:

  1. Bones
  2. Symphony
  3. Sharks
  4. I Don’t Like Myself
  5. Blur
  6. Higher Ground
  7. Crushed
  8. Take It Easy
  9. Waves
  10. I’m Happy
  11. Ferris Wheel
  12. Peace Of Mind
  13. Sirens
  14. Tied
  15. Younger
  16. I Wish
  17. Continual (Ft. Cory Henry)
  18. They Don’t Know You Like I Do


By whatever metric, having 18 songs on a project opens the possibility of it being enjoyed by a large audience. There are, after all, several musicians who readily agree to work with the group.

Interestingly, although the group elected to collaborate with others on their album, they made sure to keep the collaborative list lean. There’s just one guest on the project. Cory Henrey appeared as the only guest on track 17, “Continual.”


There are several messages embedded in the album – messages that anyone can relate to because they are quotidian. But, first, there’s the message of unity and the group coming together after a significant loss. It goes beyond that, of course. But we’re going to leave you to do all the exploring yourself.

Summing Up

Imagine Dragons’ “Mercury – Act 2” album might not be the best compilation from the group. Yet, it’s a magnificent body of work and a piece of art that we see many people returning to after their first encounter.

Imagine Dragons are no dragons in a literal sense, but the group sure knows how to eat up boredom and leave fans craving for more. This much should be evident from the group’s latest compilation. And it doesn’t matter whether one is a pop or rock buff.

There’s just the pleasure of knowing the collective has put together a compilation worth every second of its playtime. The music may as well begin now. Everyone deserves a musical break of such great appeal. So let the music begin, if you please.


Back to top button