Marshmello “Sugar Papi” Album Review

Sugar Papi


  • Genre: Pop in Spanish
  • Date: 02 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 10
  • ℗ 2023 Sony Music Entertainment US Latin LLC under exclusive license from Joytime Collective

The celebrated DJ and producer Marshmello has released “Sugar Papi,” his highly anticipated album with a stellar cast of Latin performers. The album was released ahead of the Latin Grammy nominations, where Marshmello might win his first Latin Grammy for his chart-topping smash song “El Merengue” with Manuel Turizo.

The album is a musical fusion of Latin rhythms with Marshmello’s pop sensibility. It has collaborations with a wide spectrum of artists and explores a variety of genres, including electronic music, funk, and reggaeton. A catchy ode to Latin music, “Sugar Papi” has collaborations with a variety of Latin musicians, including Young Miko, Tiago PZK, and ChocQuibTown.

Album Cover Art

Marshmello &Quot;Sugar Papi&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 27, 2024

A cube of sugar is stuck between the teeth of a lady whose lips are covered in red lipstick with Marshmello’s name on the upper lip and the album title on the lower. Additionally, Marshmello’s smiley signature logo is seen inscribed in red on the sugar cube.

Tracks and Features

“Tempo,” featuring Young Miko, begins the album. The quite brief track packs some dancefloor heat, kicking off the party in high gear. Miko nudges the ladies to bring it all and not shy away from the chance of having a great time. Miko comes correct with the flow and bars, though rapped mostly in Latin.

“Tusi” features LiL CaKe and Brray, who both perform in their native lingos, making it tough for folks who don’t understand the language. However, the vibe and party bounce wouldn’t be lost on listeners, especially the party animals. This almost feels like that typical kinda song played loudly in the background of a movie scene where a drug cartel is turning up in their natural habitat.

For “El Merengue,” Marshmello taps Manuel Turizo. Though the song is perfomed wholly in Latin, you can still get with the Caribbean groove. Also, Manuel’s vocals bounce along with the richly instrumented beat. The beat switches up again for “Come Yo :(” with Tiago PZK. Tiago delivers an emotional rendition with a sonorous voice that goes well the dance beat.

Marshmello teams up with Anuel AA for “Alcohol.” The featured singer’s raspy voice and his melodies paired with the beat make the song something you want to move your body to regardless of the fact that the singer also performed in his native language. Farruko makes an appearance in “Esta Vida.” And unlike the rest of the features, Farruko brings a fresh vibe and flow with his sing-along style. The beat also complement the singer’s voice as it builds up till the chorus before exploding into a full-on party banger.

Polimá Westcoast takes the floor in “Super High,” another party jam. You can almost imagine a bunch of sweaty young party people gyrating and dancing to this on high volume in a packed club with flickering lights. Marshmello really pulled out the best show stoppers for this record, and they all ate, including Polimá on this song, who brought the needed energy and vibe to match the bouncy beat.

Marsh invites the brilliant Nicky Jam to “Say Woah!,” which he did with artistic finesse, filling the song with good vibes and melodies that raise the song’s replay value. You may not get the language, but Nicky’s delivery and voice will eventually have you jamming out to this on repeat. “Dónde Están Que No Veo” features the musical group ChocQuibTown, who rip the beat apart with different flows while maintaining the same hype energy throughout.

Marshmello links with the amazing Luisa Sonza on “Sou Musa do Verão,” a party track charged with some lustiness but still gets the job done. Sonza put on a show with her rendition and by how it all came together, you can tell she knew her exact mission with the interesting beat, which slowed down in pace toward the song’s end. For the closing song, Fuerza Regida and Marshmello do their thing on “HARLEY QUINN,” dedicated to all the beautiful ladies with a generous dash of coo-coo.

Album Theme

Marshmello’s “Sugar Papi” pays melodic homage to his love and appreciation for Latin music and culture. Since Marshmello grew up listening to Latin music, working on a Latin project came naturally to him because of his love for the genre.


1 Tempo Marshmello & Young Miko 1:47
2 Tusi Marshmello, LiL CaKe & Brray 2:39
3 El Merengue Marshmello & Manuel Turizo 3:09
4 Como Yo 🙁 Marshmello & Tiago PZK 2:21
5 Alcohol Marshmello & Anuel AA 2:51
6 Esta Vida Marshmello & Farruko 3:29
7 Super High Marshmello & Polimá Westcoast 2:29
8 Say Woah! Marshmello & Nicky Jam 2:17
9 Dónde Están Que No Los Veo Marshmello & ChocQuibTown 3:33
10 Sou Musa do Verão Marshmello & Luísa Sonza 3:07

Production Credits

Angel Tumbado, Caleb Calloway, Dj Trone, Earwulf, Edge, Eydren, Hayden Tree “Munk”, J. Cross, JOP, Jorgie Milliano, Lennex, LiLMexicoBeatz, Marshmello, and a few other producers were involved in the album’s production.


Back to top button