Patoranking “World Best” Album Review



  • Genre: Worldwide
  • Date: 05 Sep, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Track(s): 15
  • ℗ 2023 AMARI MUSIQ

World Best, Patoranking’s fourth studio album, is a masterwork of dancehall fusion. The album, which includes international superstars including Ludacris, Beenie Man, and Popcaan, was released on September 7, 2023. Prior to signing with Igberaga Records in 2010, Patoranking had already started producing music. With his 2014 breakthrough single, Girlie O, he firmly seized the spotlight in the Nigerian music industry.

Since then, Patoranking has been a staple and fan favorite on playlists featuring Nigerian music. His dancehall and afrobeats combination on his fourth album, World Best, shows him at his best. Since he released the Tonight and Abobi lead songs from it, the album has been eagerly awaited.

Album Cover Art

Patoranking &Quot;World Best&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 22, 2024

Patoranking, in a blue suit, can be seen lying down on a platform carved into the shape of the African map, representing his assertion of being the best out of Africa.

Tracks and Features

The motivational “Inshallah” begins the album with light and positive affirmations, as Patoranking sings about manifesting all the nice things he desires. He plays around with a Drill-type beat and it comes out half-baked, though his backup vocalists try their best to save the day.

The melodies and delivery of “Gyal Like You” feat. Kizz Daniel, in which he interpolates the well-known Christian chorus for a Highlife fusion, are all too familiar, despite the writing’s impressiveness. Similarities in the tune, delivery, and use of female backup vocals can also be found in the conscious single “Abobi,” which was released before to the album’s release.

He invites Zion Foster to help him praise his special lady as the “Woman Of The Year.” Somehow, Foster’s performance seems to eclipse Patoranking’s, as his voice and songwriting skills really shine in the song’s chorus. Patoranking does his best to hold his own, of course, serenading his woman over the great, trumpet-heavy instrumental. Ludacris joins him in “Miracle Baby,” where they both recount the rollercoaster rides that are their personal and career journey. Over the Phantom-produced beat, both artists show their gratitude while they low-key flex on the nonbelievers.

The album didn’t get going until the ninth track, where Victony sings a duet with Patoranking, who somewhat altered his flow, on the Phantom-produced song “Babylon,” adding a fantastic chorus. The album’s lead song, “Kolo Kolo,” which is also Patoranking’s last notable release, features a great verse from Diamond Platnumz.

The Killertunes-produced single “Na Na Na,” one of the stronger songs on the album, would have had more appeal with a female collaborator like Stefflon Don. One of the finest tracks on the album is the calm Highlife ode to his mother, “Mama,” which is sonically adapted to appeal to the sensibilities of older listeners.

“Control Me” features Gyakie, and though the melodies are a teeny weeny bit generic, they produce something nice. In the track, they celebrate their lovers and how much power their boo thangs wield over them. Beenie Man enters the mix to sing “Amazing Grace” with Patoranking. And sure enough, it’s about a woman. Both singers rave about their love interests and how thrilled they are to have them. This collaboration had the potential to do so much more than just bland flows and generic melodies.

Concluding the project, Patoranking urges everyone to put their “Lighters Up.” He gives himself his flowers and beats his chest as one of the best, regardless of how underrated he feels he is being treated as. The song could’ve been better if some more creativity was harnessed. However, you can’t exactly call it a terribly bad closer.


1 Inshallah 3:15
2 Higher 3:11
3 Gyal Like You (feat. Kizz Daniel) 3:12
4 Woman of The Year (feat. Zion Foster) 3:09
5 Smoke & Vibes 3:39
6 Tonight (feat. Popcaan) 3:16
7 Abobi 3:21
8 Miracle Baby (feat. Ludacris) 3:23
9 Babylon (feat. Victony) 2:57
10 Control Me (feat. Gyakie) 2:55
11 Kolo Kolo (feat. Diamond Platnumz) 3:23
12 Na Na Na 3:08
13 Mama 3:22
14 Amazing Grace (feat. Beenie Man) 3:24
15 Lighters Up 3:09

Album Theme

Patoranking’s ability to tell his success story, which he attributes to God, can be attributed to his willingness to relate his journey from humble beginnings. On his fourth album, he continues the conversation by delving into well-known Pop themes like love and having a good time while also making social commentary that he weaves together with well-known cadences.

Production Credits

Blaq Jerzee, c-Tea, DJ Breezy, Dotinc, Kel-P, Killertunes, Mixmasta Garzy, N2theA, Phantom (NG) & Yung Willis produced the album.


Back to top button