PinkPantheress “Heaven knows” Album Review

Heaven knows


  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 10 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 13
  • Warner Music UK Limited., ℗ 2023 PinkPantheress

“Heaven knows,” PinkPantheress’s debut album, is a masterpiece. Even if it’s not flawless, this debut album is nonetheless excellent. PinkPantheress expertly treads the fine line between experimenting with new sounds and being true to her characteristic sound, showcasing her versatility and expanding her artistic horizons while at the same time providing a sound that appeals to all listeners.

In general, “Heaven knows” is an excellent album that solidifies PinkPantheress’s position as one of the most significant up-and-coming pop musicians of the present day. Pink’s intensity is perfectly complemented by the guest appearances on the album, which offer a variety of viewpoints on the turbulent path of love. But Pink’s brilliant performance is what really sticks out, as her seductive, delicate vocals flawlessly blend with the catchy tunes she creates.

Album Cover Art

Pinkpantheress &Quot;Heaven Knows&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

PinkPantheress sits in her white tube gown, resting sideways on a black sofa while posing for a shot. A dove in flight can also also be spotted directly above the singer.

Tracks and Features

The first track, “Another Life,” featuring Afrobeats superstar, Rema, evokes a melancholic desire with its deep organ and record scratches. This is a great contrast to PinkPantheress’s energetic vocals and the song’s overall joyful vibe. Pink also manages to include church organs, jungle rhythms, and a screeching guitar solo, although Rema’s flow impedes the song’s smooth progression.

“Feel Complete” expresses the artist’s dissatisfaction with an alcoholic and features curling strings, classical guitar loops, and chanting similar to DJ Mustard’s.

“The Aisle” has more substance than anything else we’ve heard from her, with percussion work and glossy disco inflections layered over top of jittery synths. The song’s references to disco and 2Pac’s “California Love” are not intended as a genre experiment, but rather as a service to popular pop consumption. Although PinkPantheress’s parody is undoubtedly less “cool,” she pulls it off with unexpected ease. She also has the rhythms to support it.

The story of “Ophelia,” which is set in the moments following a woman’s drowning at the hands of her lover, is told with the aid of several cinematic elements. The Flume-like “Capable of Love,” which clocks in at nearly four minutes, feels monumental by PinkPantheress’s standards, with big drum fills, EDM-style drops, and pulsating electric guitars.

As the title implies, “Feelings” delves into her well-known themes of desire, anxiety, and overall ambiguity. However, with its dazzling production choices and more assertive vocal delivery, the song feels thoroughly executed, even though it has a similar nighttime tinge to early ’00s R&B. She abandons any hesitation or half-steps throughout the record, embracing the bright confidence of her newfound fame.

PinkPantheress describes herself as an intuitive writer, stating that the reason her songs are short is because she believed they should be longer. The comparatively epic length of songs like “Capable of love” (three minutes and forty-three seconds) is something she doesn’t seem to want people to read into, but it’s a very different listening experience. “Capable of love” is a patient tune that reveals its melodies gradually, allowing for subtle repetition and tumultuous dynamics that she would not have allowed in her earlier, smaller songs that hurried through their themes.

The fluffy club banger, “Boy’s a liar Pt. 2,” featuring Ice Spice, soared to the top of the Hot 100 earlier this year. The dazzling production of that song and the captivating performance of PinkPantheress symbolized her pushing the envelope of her ambition and reaching new heights. While the starry, breakbeat-infused “Nice To Meet You” features one of the album’s strongest choruses, Pink’s natural charisma contrasts with Central Cee’s monotonous delivery, which feels uninspired.

The song “True Romance” has a strong Indie Pop flavor to it, reflecting the early 2010s music trend. This track’s tone and melody have a Gothic tinge to it, reminiscent of the Indie Pop Rock made popular by newer artists. A famous musician is the subject of this song in which Pink expresses her desire to be in a relationship with them.

The vocal performance of PinkPantheress on “Mosquito” is excellent, especially the flow with which she sings. It adds interest and engagement to the song. PinkPantheress sings about falling in love with her wealth and her possessions in this song. The song “Bury Me,” featuring Kelela, is completely different from anything we have heard thus far on the LP. This is a slower Drill song with a really hard tempo and a lovely tune.

Kelela and PinkPantheress both have amazing vocals on this song. PinkPantheress’s gentler tone sounds fantastic on this lovely song, and Kelela’s rich tone complements the beat’s gritty quality. In their song, PinkPantheress and Kelela discuss attempting to avoid falling in love with troublesome people.


1 Another life (feat. Rema) PinkPantheress 2:52
2 True romance PinkPantheress 2:16
3 Mosquito PinkPantheress 2:27
4 The aisle PinkPantheress 2:45
5 Nice to meet you (feat. Central Cee) PinkPantheress 2:42
6 Bury me (feat. Kelela) PinkPantheress 2:04
7 Internet baby (interlude) PinkPantheress 2:11
8 Ophelia PinkPantheress 2:35
9 Feel complete PinkPantheress 2:43
10 Blue PinkPantheress 3:01
11 Feelings PinkPantheress 2:40
12 Capable of love PinkPantheress 3:43
13 Boy’s a liar Pt. 2 PinkPantheress & Ice Spice 2:11

Album Theme

The album urges listeners to experience the adventure of youthful love while warning against the pitfalls of clinginess. Even in the midst of PinkPantheress’s heartbreaking suffering, she promotes love and emphasizes that happiness frequently results from being with a special someone.

Production Credits

PinkPantheress, who also served as executive producer and writer, worked with both new and old collaborators on the 13-track project, including Greg Kurstin, Cash Cobain, Count Baldor, Danny L. Harle, Phil, and more.


Back to top button