Blaqbonez “Emeka Must Shine” Album Review


Blaqbonez has ignited the music industry once more with the release of his highly anticipated album, EMEKA MUST SHINE. Released Friday, October 27, 2023, under Chocolate City Music, the 14-track masterwork confirms Blaqbonez’s extraordinary range and broad talent.

Blaqbonez’s latest release, which features hit singles like “Like Ice Spice,” “Like Bezos,” and “Cinderella Girl (Where You Day)” featuring Ludacris, skillfully blends a variety of sounds, including Afrobeats, hip-hop, drill, R&B, and alté, pushing the limits of his musical style to levels that were previously unthinkable.

By fusing his musical personas on various tracks, Blaqbonez continues to cement his status as a very distinctive and captivating artist by fusing his musical personas.

Album Cover Art

Blaqbonez &Quot;Emeka Must Shine&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 19, 2024

For his new album cover, Blaqbonez chose to use a throwback photo of him from when he was a little boy celebrating his birthday, shown by the cake he was about to cut. Little Emeka was shinning in his special birthday outfit, which is the idea he channels for the new project.

Tracks and Features

ROAD RUNNERS opens the project with a strong guest feature from Ghana’s adored singer, Black Sherif. In the brief intro, the artists complement each other as they count their blessings and duck the haters. Sherif’s emotional rendition raised the vibration following Blaq’s chill leading verse.

He invites Projexx on 6 BUSINESS DAYS, and if you’ve been following Blaq’s music for a minute, you’ll know this is a full circle moment for him. In his debut album, “Sex Over Love,” the rapper had quoted a line sang by Projexx in his feature on Wizkid’s “True Love,” off his “Made In Lagos” album, which means he’s always been a big Projexx fan. And on the track, both artists flex on the ladies, creating schedules for female appointments because they’re superstars.

The London-produced KILO comes next, and the classic Blaq misogyny rides on. Though he claims to have a babe, he would still convince another chick to get down, his reason being “nobody holy.” Of course, another delightful highlight of the track is Don Jazzy’s killer ad-libs, which no one saw coming.

On the summer hit, LIKE ICE SPICE whose viral success inspired the change of the album title, Emeka doesn’t care if it’s your girlfriend because he will lay that pipe after making her whine to his jam. NYEM EGO takes the vibe back to Blaq’s traditional roots, rightfully featuring the undeniably talented indigenous rapper, Jeriq. Similar to the hook in the opener, the sweet melody and sing-along style of the track’s chorus just makes everything better, as both artists stay focused on the moolah.

Victony comes through on NAIJA SHAWTY, where he creates magic with Blaq, as they show major love to the sexy ladies of the motherland. The song’s only flaw is its playtime! How dare Blaq tease us like that?! Yes, it boosts the replay value, but come on! That sick collaboration deserved more.

Luckily, he allots more time to the next track, DOLLERZ, featuring Odumodublvck, the man of the moment. Of course, it’s strictly murder business, as both artists slay their individual renditions. Trust Odumo to always bring along his hard Okporoko melodies and deep pocket flows.

On MASQUERADE, Blaq and British rapper, M24, realizing where they’re coming from, celebrate their present soft lifestyles. Blaq’s reputation of creating sick flows and melodies precedes him at this point.

BAD TILL ETERNITY with Zlatan recounts their rise to the top, while showing their gratitude for overcoming all the hurdles and finally making it out of the trenches. Blaq is just as good a singer as he is a rapper. CINDERELLA GIRL (WHERE YOU DEY) with the legendary rapper Ludacris closes out the album on a chill vibe. Blaq wishes to normalize the idea of polygamy with his babe that wasn’t originally flying with her. Luda’s laid-back OG energy and hard bars become the icing on the cake.


1 ROAD RUNNERS (feat. Black Sherif) 2:26
2 6 BUSINESS DAYS (feat. Projexx) 2:39
3 KILO (feat. Don Jazzy) 2:24
5 NYEM EGO (feat. Jeriq) 2:35
6 NAIJA SHAWTY (feat. Victony) 1:48
7 DOLLERZ (feat. Odumodublvck) 2:54
10 BAD TILL ETERNITY (feat. Zlatan) 2:53
11 NO SLEEP $$$ (feat. Young Jonn) 3:07
12 BEZOS 2:42
14 CINDERELLA GIRL (WHERE YOU DEY) [feat. Ludacris] 3:35

Album Theme

The album captures Blaqbonez’s accomplishment on many levels, with themes of achievement, development, versatility, and a resolute determination to leading Nigerian hip-hop on his shoulders heavily included.

Production Credits

A-Q, Blaise Beats, DRO, Jaylon, Joker, London, Masterkraft, NorthBoi, Northboi the oracle, Ramoni, Reward, Sess & Westen Weiss produced Blaq’s third studio album.


Back to top button