Carly Rae Jepsen “The Loveliest Time” Album Review

The Loveliest Time

Carly Rae Jepsen

  • Genre: Pop
  • Date: 28 Jul, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 13
  • ℗ 2023 School Boy/Interscope Records

Carly Rae Jepsen &Quot;The Loveliest Time&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 15, 2024

On 28 Jul 2023, 604, Schoolboy, and Interscope Records jointly released Carly Rae Jepsen’s seventh studio album, The Loveliest Time. It is a companion album to The Loneliest Time (2022), and it includes songs recorded during the record’s making.

Carly Rae Jepsen &Quot;The Loveliest Time&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 15, 2024

The Loveliest Time, The third instalment in Carly Rae Jepsen’s “Side B” trilogy, interacts with the melancholy The Loneliest Time. Many of the songs from that album, including “Far Away,” “Bends,” and “Go Find Yourself or Whatever,” gave the prolific singer-music songwriters a melancholy, even hesitant, mood. As its name implies, the Loveliest Time’s happier, more upbeat songs act as a sonic and thematic counterpoint. Making straightforward pop music without being overly simplistic is Jepsen’s artistic forte. She rejects the idea that art must be sinister or complex to be expressive, and she isn’t afraid to speak her mind or even come off as nerdy. Even though Jepsen’s lyrics are not always autobiographical, her songs have a vulnerable quality that feels intimate.

Album Art

Carly Rae Jepsen &Quot;The Loveliest Time&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 15, 2024

In the Album Art, Carly is dressed in gold and striking a pose for the camera. She leans her head backwards, her lips slightly parted, and her hair flowing down. She exudes a “lustful” vibe and sells it convincingly. Carly’s captivatingly confident demeanour adds to the allure of her album art. Her seductive expression and the elegant gold ensemble create an irresistible visual that perfectly captures the essence of her music.

Tracks And Features

The project’s opening song, the reggae offbeat “Anything to Be with You,” has lazy lyrics and an odd, nagging vocal delivery, which, regrettably, is a common trait of the bad songs on the album. These bad songs lack depth and fail to captivate the listener, leaving a sense of disappointment. However, amidst these missteps, the album does showcase a few standout tracks that exhibit the artist’s true potential.

Although “Kamikaze” is the second song on the album, it is significantly better than the first. It is one of the album’s best songs and will probably be a hit because it is so catchy and instantly recognizable. It sounds like a Weeknd song and extensively uses the current 80s synth/r&b trend. The production of “Kamikaze” is top-notch, with its pulsating bassline and infectious melodies. The lyrics also stand out as they delve into themes of love, passion, and the thrill of taking risks. Overall, “Kamikaze” showcases the artist’s versatility and ability to create a captivating sound that resonates with listeners.

Though it’s not the album’s standout track, “Aeroplanes” uses an intriguing chord progression to keep listeners engaged despite its simplicity. The song’s melodic hooks and catchy lyrics also contribute to its appeal, making it a pleasant addition to the overall album experience. The subtle use of layered harmonies adds depth to the track, enhancing its overall sonic texture.

The disco standout album’s lead single, “Shy Boy,” is groovy and builds to a great pre-chorus, but after that, the vocals start to get to the listener once more. Many listeners will like this, though, especially with the sampling of Midnight Star’s clunky bass and keyboards from their 1986 R&B single “Midas Touch. The infusion of Midnight Star’s iconic sound adds a nostalgic touch to the track, creating a sense of familiarity for fans of both disco and R&B. However, some may find that the vocals overshadow the instrumental elements, detracting from the overall enjoyment of the song.

The spacey “Kollage,” which she sings in a breathy soprano, isn’t immediately popular upon first listen. A slower song with some Lana influence that you might like more after giving it a second listen. The ethereal quality of her voice combined with the dreamy instrumentals creates a mesmerizing atmosphere that may take a few listens to appreciate fully. The haunting lyrics and subtle nuances in her delivery make “Kollage” a captivating piece that gradually grows on you.

The almost-glitchy vocals on “Shadow” detract from the song’s overall quality, making it difficult to fully appreciate its other positive aspects even though it is a soundtrack. The buzzing mess of vocals undermines the potential enjoyment that could have been derived from this otherwise good track.

However, Psychedelic Switch was better. Prog rock and filter disco are contrasted in “Psychedelic Switch.” The album’s most overtly “pop song”—a guilty pleasure—or this surprisingly catchy song will be up for debate among listeners. While Prog rock showcases complex and intricate musical arrangements, “Psychedelic Switch” leans towards a more experimental and trippy sound. The album’s fusion of psychedelic elements with catchy hooks creates a unique listening experience that differentiates it from the filter disco genre.

The next song, “So Right,” will become a hit with the audience. This dance-pop banger is perfect and has Dua Lipa-like influences. The bass in this song is fantastic. The synth from the 1980s is also there. “Come Over,” the music after “So Right,” is oddly similar to the one that came before it and seems out of place, mainly because it isn’t as attention-grabbing. The main difference is that “Come Over” doesn’t fit the song and has a slight disco revival slant without adding anything new.

“Put It To Rest,” track number 11 from Carly, is another exciting banger. The appeal of this one is obvious to many fans. The album’s final two tracks, “Stadium Love” and the glitched-out closer “Weekend Love,” clearly draw influence from 1980s hair metal. They both feature electric guitar solos and blend subtle drum ‘n’ bass with futuristic R&B. These tracks showcase Carly’s versatility as an artist, seamlessly blending different genres to create a unique sound. “Stadium Love” and “Weekend Love” provide a captivating end to the album, leaving listeners craving for more of Carly’s eclectic musical style.


1 Anything to Be With You 3:17
2 Kamikaze 2:59
3 After Last Night 3:28
4 Aeroplanes 3:20
5 Shy Boy 3:29
6 Kollage 4:16
7 Shadow 2:49
8 Psychedelic Switch 4:32
9 So Right 3:36
10 Come Over 2:54
11 Put It To Rest 3:17
12 Stadium Love 2:51
13 Weekend Love 2:42

Album Summary

Jepsen’s latest album, Loveliest Time, takes a different approach than her previous works. Rather than trying to replicate the success of her 2015 album, Emotion, she embraces a more relaxed and experimental concept with B-sides. The result is intentionally fragmented, but it complements her existing discography well. As the title suggests, Loveliest Time’s upbeat and lively tracks contrast sound and theme.

Carly Rae Jepsen’s latest album, “The Loveliest Time,” maintains a similar subdued style to her previous work, with standout tracks like “Kollage” featuring exceptional lyricism, and “Put it to Rest” incorporating classical-piano fusion. However, the album also sees Jepsen exploring more mature themes, as evidenced by the alluring cover art depicting the singer in a seductive pose. This marks a departure from her previous image, where she often dressed in sweaters and sang about yearning for the ideal partner, as seen in her hit song “Call Me Maybe.”


Back to top button