Ric Hassani “Afro Love” Album Review

Afro Love

Ric Hassani

  • Genre: Afro-Pop
  • Date: 8 Dec, 2023
  • Content: Not-explicit
  • Track(s): 15
  • @ Riverland Records/Mad Solutions L.L.C.

Ric Hassani &Quot;Afro Love&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 22, 2024

With a brand-new fifteen-track album named “Afro Love,” “Gentleman” vocalist Ric Hassani is back. The album includes the already-released tracks “Ngozi” and “Amina” and is his first since 2021. He also collaborates with Bayanni and Bella Shmurda. Hassani’s ability to experiment with various musical genres and styles, fusing pop, R&B, and Afrobeat, is evident throughout the album. “Afro Love” demonstrates Hassani’s development as an artist and his capacity to engage listeners on a deeper level with its poignant lyrics and ethereal melodies. The album showcases Hassani’s growth as a songwriter as he delves into love and self-discovery themes. His soulful vocals and heartfelt delivery add emotion to each track, making it a truly immersive listening experience. With “Afro Love,” Ric Hassani solidifies his place as one of the Nigerian music industry’s most versatile and talented artists.

Album Art

Ric Hassani &Quot;Afro Love&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 22, 2024

The album art is a black-and-white portrait of Ric wearing glasses and displaying an expression of silence as he poses for the camera. Similar to earlier album covers featuring his face, It embodies Ric’s intriguing character, with the monochromatic image highlighting his classic aesthetic. His expressionless visage invites listeners to explore the depths of his music while the spectacles lend a touch of refinement.

Tracks And Features

The first song on the album to listen to is “I.G.D.T. (I go dey there)” with Bayanni. Ric returns to his early sounds as this Afropop feel highlights the themes of love and relationships permeating the entire album. The duo serenades their love interest with lovely words while singing of their love and commitment to each other. This song, which showcases Ric’s ability to fuse modern Afropop beats with traditional African sounds, sets the tone for the rest of the album. Heartfelt words and catchy melodies combine to produce an engaging experience that profoundly affects listeners emotionally.

The next song, “Ngozi,” is one of the album’s best tracks and was also released ahead of the album. In the song, Hassani begs his sweetheart to stay with him rather than go. Relationship problems are highlighted as he sings about the important things to him, which makes for some wholesome listening. Hassani’s rich vocals and the track’s poignant lyrics give it depth and help the listener feel something. “Ngozi” is a gripping and relevant experience for everyone who has ever feared losing someone they love, showcasing Hassani’s ability to capture genuine emotions and express them through his music.

The song “For Instance” is a love ballad as well. The songwriter creates fictitious scenes while expressing his desire to marry and take a woman on a tour. The vocalist says his wish for adventures and long-lasting memories with his significant other in the lyrics, which eloquently depict their future together. Listeners find “For Instance” to be an engaging and realistic love song because of the deep emotions it conveys.

On “Call on Me,” Bella Shmurda shares the melody with Ric on the beats, demonstrating the Amapiano components. They reassure their love interest that they are dependable, dependent, and capable of being there when required. Ric Hassani is still appealing, and the Bella poem flows well. They sing beautifully together, resulting in a catchy song highlighting each singer’s unique talent. Fans of both musicians should listen to the song since it has a distinctive and energizing touch due to the Amapiano features.

“Love Again” begins with the vocals of his backup singers as they render a sonorous chorus and usher in Ric, who glides on his signature Afropop-type beat and serenades the listener. The backups deliver commendably. Their harmonies blend seamlessly with Ric’s smooth vocals, creating a captivating atmosphere. Together, they bring the song to life, evoking a sense of nostalgia and warmth that resonates with the listener’s heart.

The song “I’m Falling in Love,” the wrapping-up track, is also exceptional, showcasing Hassani’s skill and effectively portraying his lover boy persona. Hassani’s heartfelt vocals blend well with the soft tune, capturing the unfiltered feelings of a budding romance in no time. “I’m Falling in Love” is a compelling example of Hassani’s ability to write incredibly relatable songs with emotional lyrics that convey passion and vulnerability.

The closing track, “Amina,” is a jivey way to end the album, as Ric tells Amina that he is aware she doesn’t love for free and that she’s more interested in the money he has. But he still decides to give her a chance to speak for herself, and she tells him her thoughts and wants. The track puts a gloss finish to the listening experience and ends the musical journey. With its upbeat tempo and catchy melody, “Amina,” also released before the album, serves as a fitting conclusion. Ric’s decision to allow Amina to express herself showcases his willingness to understand her perspective, even if it may not align with his own. This final track adds a vibrant touch to the overall listening experience, leaving listeners with closure and satisfaction.



1 I.G.D.T (I Go Dey There) [feat. Bayanni] 2:44
2 Ngozi 3:43
3 For Instance 3:28
4 Oshé Mama 2:18
5 For Life 2:25
6 Angel of My Life 3:06
7 I.L.U (I Love You) 2:40
8 Kaku – Late 2:15
9 Confidence 2:43
10 Call on Me (feat. Bella Shmurda) 2:39
11 Love Again 2:53
12 Ayiba 2:34
13 Catch Cruise 2:58
14 I’m Falling in Love 2:08
15 Amina 2:45

Album Summary

With the release of his latest album, Ric Hassani continues to embody his lover-boy persona while disclosing his true feelings about romantic relationships and related matters. He and his partners attempt to depict love—whether lost, pursued, or found—through 15 tracks. This grand endeavour solidifies Ric’s legacy in the developing Afro-pop genre. Ric Hassani skillfully conveys the nuances of love in every song with his characteristic soulful vocals and poignant words. The album showcases his growth as an artist as he explores different musical styles while staying true to his romantic essence. Each track is a testament to his ability to connect with listeners on a deeply emotional level, making this album a must-listen for any fan of Afro-Pop music.


Back to top button