The Last Dinner Party – Prelude To Ecstasy Album Review

Prelude To Ecstasy

The Last Dinner Party

  • Genre: Indie Rock
  • Date: 2 February, 2024
  • Content: Explicit
  • Track(s): 12
  • 2023 @ Island Records

The Last Dinner Party - Prelude To Ecstasy Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

The Last Dinner Party is an impressive five-piece band that has taken London’s live music scene by storm. Their beguiling songs blend gothic romance with sparkling luxury, creating a captivating world that draws in audiences worldwide. With their swift major label deal, they have continued to align their image and artistry, bringing their signature silken ball gowns and raucous energy to stages worldwide. Their debut album, ‘Prelude to Ecstasy’, is a testament to their extravagance, melodrama, and ambition, delivering on the hype with a formidably polished sound that leaves no room for doubt. Their commitment to glamour, costume, and theatrics is evident in their performances and is the foundation of their success. The Last Dinner Party lives up to its name, bringing a sense of occasion to every performance and delivering a feast for reasons that will leave you hungry for more.

Album Art

The Last Dinner Party - Prelude To Ecstasy Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

The album cover is a visual feast for the eyes, showcasing a stunning portrait of the band in exquisite detail. The band members are captured in striking poses that convey their musical prowess and individual personalities. The portrait is set against a table decorated with beautiful flowers, jewellery, and flickering candles. The table also features several religious symbols, such as the rosary, which adds a spiritual dimension to the composition. This album cover is an actual work of art that perfectly captures the essence of the band and their music.

Tracks And Features

“The Last Dinner Party” is making waves in the music scene with their unyielding fearlessness and fresh take on modern music. The album’s opening orchestral instrumental sets the perfect tone for the rest of the record, creating a beautifully sad and introspective atmosphere that carries throughout. The listener is then launched into the high-energy opener, ‘Burn Alive’, which pays tribute to the legendary Joan of Arc with lyrics that celebrate her bravery and sacrifice. The dreamy gothic new-wave backdrop adds depth and emotion to the song, reminiscent of the iconic Siouxie Sioux. The album displays excellent artistic merit and offers a compelling listening experience for those who appreciate thoughtful and energetic music.

The band’s debut album showcases their unique sound and style, and ‘Burn Alive’ is the perfect introduction to this. The song’s energy and intensity grab the listener’s attention and hold it throughout the rest of the album. As the album progresses, listeners are treated to ‘Nothing Matters’, a track that launched the band’s career. This song is a masterclass in orchestration, with motifs from the album’s most memorable moments arranged in a crescendoing style. The Roxy Music-like stomp and fatalist lyrics create a sense of dark escapism that is both captivating and unforgettable.

The album’s songs ‘Sinner’, ‘On Your Side’, and ‘Caesar on a TV Screen’ blend well, creating a fresh perspective and renewed appeal. The tracks contribute to the overall beauty, like intricate details in a grand painting. The album’s recurring themes of girlhood, regret, intimacy, and unsatisfying relationships are expressed through strings, groovy guitar passages, and twinkling keys in every verse. The album features various songs, from a hollow torch song (‘On Your Side’) to a melancholy ballad (‘Caesar on the TV Screen’), offering a melodrama uncommon in modern mainstream pop. James Ford’s [Arctic Monkeys, Jessie Ware] slick production adds to the album’s charm.

The Last Dinner Party effortlessly fuses elements from a variety of historical periods, such as the Renaissance, cabaret, and Victorian Gothic, into their music, creating a unique and captivating sound that has captured the attention of Gen-Z. Their song ‘The Feminine Urge’ is inspired by a popular meme that lists actions that signify girlhood, and the lyrics of this song are based on seemingly frivolous tweets. However, the band has transformed these tweets into a haunting body-horror drama that masterfully reflects girlhood’s complex and often overwhelming pressures. With vivid and evocative imagery, the song paints a picture of young girls’ struggles in a world that often demands conformity and perfection.

Another one of their songs, ‘Beautiful Boy’, is a touching piece that strikes a deep emotional chord. In this song, the band takes a more subdued approach, led by the flute, to create a relaxed and poignant atmosphere. The change is noticeable when the band dials down the energy, as seen in ‘Beautiful Boy’, which quickly peaks with a panpipe section.

‘Gjuha’, a call to home song sung by keyboardist Aurora Nishevci in Albanian, contains some beautiful, contrasting falsetto. These moments don’t take away from the overall quality of ‘Prelude to Ecstasy’; they demonstrate that the band has successfully incorporated many ideas into their music.


Their album features indulgent singles that showcase their unique sound, but the closer, “Mirror,” captures the intensity felt. This slow-burner song wrenches at the heartstrings and starkly contrasts with the rest of the album. With its powerful vocals and emotional lyrics, “Mirror” is an absolute powerhouse that leaves a lasting impression. Clearly, “The Last Dinner Party” is a force to be reckoned with and undoubtedly one of the most exciting new bands on the scene.

Album Summary

The sounds in “Prelude to Ecstasy” by The Last Dinner Party have touched many. The album is like a lavish feast, where each track is served on a silver platter. It takes you through various themes and musical styles, leaving a lasting impression on your heart. While it’s difficult to categorize this album as a concept album, it still has a strong concept at its core: The Last Dinner Party. The band’s debut is a towering masterpiece that will leave you ecstatic.

The Last Dinner Party’s melodic certainty is evident throughout the album, even during their most exaggerated moments. The songs “My Lady of Mercy” and “Burn Alive” stand out due to their rhythmic assault and the chunk of moping reverb, which convey feelings of suffering and displacement. The band’s remarkable ability to pay homage to their art-rock ancestors, such as early Julia Holter or St. Vincent, while standing out from the crowd is due to their charisma and self-belief. This album is a testament to their creative ability and will undoubtedly leave a lasting impression on your soul.



Track Number Title Duration
1 Prelude To Ecstasy 1:37
2 Burn Alive 3:22
3 Caesar on a TV Screen 3:50
4 The Feminine Urge 3:27
5 On Your Side 4:28
6 Beautiful Boy 3:48
7 Gjuha 1:30
8 Sinner 2:57
9 My Lady of Mercy 2:56
10 Portrait of a Dead Girl 4:58
11 Nothing Matters 3:03
12 Mirror 5:25


Back to top button