Duran Duran Unveils “Danse Macabre” Ahead of New Album Release

Iconic Band Embraces Dark Themes and Celebrates Halloween in Upcoming Album

Duran Duran, the legendary rock band, has ushered in a new chapter with the release of their latest single, “Danse Macabre.” This new track, infused with undertones of darkness, was teased earlier this month and is now available for fans worldwide. “Danse Macabre,” which translates to “the dance of death,” serves as the title track for the band’s 16th studio album, set to be released on October 27 via Tape Modern/BMG.

The upcoming album, described as a Halloween concept project, was inspired by a special live performance in Las Vegas on October 31, 2022. It promises to be the soundtrack to the band’s ultimate Halloween celebration. The album will feature three new compositions, reworked songs, and covers of tracks by renowned artists such as Billie Eilish, Talking Heads, The Rolling Stones, Siouxsie and the Banshees, and more. In total, the album will span 13 songs, blending new themes with reimagined versions of Duran Duran’s classics.

Danse Macabre Track List

1. “Black Moonlight”
2. “Love Voudou”
3. “Bury A Friend”
4. “Supernature”
5. “Danse Macabre”
6. “Secret Oktober 31st”
7. “Ghost Town”
8. “Paint It Black”
9. “Super Lonely Freak”
10. “Spellbound”
11. “Psycho Killer” (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
12. “Confession in the Afterlife”

The single “Danse Macabre” stands out with its unique sound, opening with a fog horn followed by a synth riff reminiscent of their earlier hit “All She Wants Is.” Collaborators on this track include former guitarists Andy Taylor and Warren Cuccurullo, Paper Gods collaborator Mr. Hudson, and producer Joshua Blair. Simon Le Bon, the band’s lead vocalist, delivers a captivating performance, rapping out the opening verse. The song is a celebration of the joy and madness associated with Halloween, as shared by founding band member and keyboardist Nick Rhodes. The idea for the album, he added, stemmed from their Las Vegas show, where the allure of gothic visuals combined with a dark soundtrack proved irresistible.

This release follows a whirlwind year for Duran Duran, marked by their induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2022. The band also headlined London’s Hyde Park, performed at the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee concert, and embarked on a North American tour, which saw them perform at iconic venues like New York’s Madison Square Garden and the Hollywood Bowl.

With “Danse Macabre,” Duran Duran offers a glimpse into their evolving sound and personality, ensuring that their legacy continues to thrive and resonate with fans across generations.

Back to top button