Bnxn “Sincerely, Benson” Album Review

Sincerely, Benson


  • Genre: African
  • Date: 05 Oct, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: NGA
  • Track(s): 15
  • ℗ 2023 T.Y.E. / EMPIRE

After much waiting, talented Nigerian singer-songwriter BNXN fka Buju has finally released his much awaited debut album, “Sincerely, Benson.”

The album “Sincerely, Benson” has fifteen songs in all, each of which has been painstakingly designed to provide a distinctive listening experience. This album stands out not only for its rich and varied musical tapestry but also for its incredible roster of guest musicians who have contributed their extraordinary talents to enhance the album.

Internationally renowned artist Popcaan, talented writer Headie One, melodic Kizz Daniel, brilliant Seyi Vibez, burgeoning artist Taves, and legendary artist 2Baba are among the collaborators on the project.

Album Cover Art

Bnxn &Quot;Sincerely, Benson&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

An image of BNXN’s statue is used instead of the previously released version which was a photograph of him laying on his back in a varsity jacket. The replacement goes even harder. There are papers flying around the statue and flowers sprouting from it, which probably represents his fine penmanship and the flowers he received from himself throughout the new record.

Tracks and Features

“My Life” sets the ball rolling. BNXN quickly lets us know from the jump that this project is packed with vulnerability and openness. He starts off by telling us how things used to be before the limelight, how he hustled and the criticisms he had to face on the come-up, which somehow is still ongoing. But he sees through the shades and discovers it’s but a desperate desire to want to be like him. He tried his best to summarize loads of experiences under 3 minutes using melodious flows and skillfully-written, thought-provoking lyrics. Fantastic production too! In “Best Of Me,” he shows gratitude to God for lifting him to the height where he’s at currently, which also serves as the perfect sub for his ‘enemies.’ Jae-5 blessed the track with a hard, OG production. Benson and the award-winning producer already have a great collaborative synergy, so it would be wrong this didn’t come out as mad as it did. BNXN really does write his ass off.

Bnxn &Quot;Sincerely, Benson&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

BNXN teams up with one of the finest UK rappers, Headie One to wreck “Maximum Damage.” Their musical genius and chemistry is just unbelievable, though it felt like Headie kinda stole the show. Both artists seemed to come at the song with similar vibrations, like they had both gone through similar situations in life and in career. They flexed on their nonbelievers and bragged about being hard workers for the soft life they live. The chill “Mukulu” comes on and finds BNXN dropping life gems conveyed through beautiful melodies and great songwriting.

Kicking things up a notch, BNXN invites Kizz Daniel and Seyi Vibez to turn up the party with “Gwagwalada.” A fellowship of hitmakers is sure to produce nothing short of a hit. All artists complement each other so well and glide smooth with the terrific Amapiano-infused beat. You can tell Buju isn’t a party guy, as he quickly slips back into the calm, introspective vibe with “Pidgin & English,” a cry for forgiveness and re-acceptance from a dear lover.Bnxn &Quot;Sincerely, Benson&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

“Sweet Tea (Aduke)” continues the relationship sadness, as the singer tries to figure out what happened to a girl that used to be into him. His boy, taves assists with a pretty cute chorus in “Realize,” in which both singers try to win their love interests back. Their beautiful musical chemistry and the way they worked the beat make it one ill collaboration.

BNXN makes a foray into unfamiliar waters with “Party Don’t Stop” and totally achieves what we think he was going for, which is perfection. If enquiries are made and BNXN ends up being a Jon Bellion fan, it wouldn’t come as a surprise.

He brings the bounce with “Right Energy” and flows so clean like the beat was his idea. From there he takes us to church with the somber Magic Sticks-produced “Pray,” a track that displays his reliance on God and how far the man upstairs has brought him.

The groove continues in “Say My Name,” where he offers his 24/7 availability and delivers with an immaculate flow. “Toxic” will make you wonder if BNXN has ever had any luck with women. He sings about a woman he used to love who, in a nutshell, showed him serious pepper. The perfect breakup song that would totally resonate with those freed from such draining connections.

The legendary 2Baba shows up with one love in “Regret” and delivers the exceptional OG package BNXN ordered. For the closing tune, “Final Answer,” BNXN links with Dancehall icon, Popcaan, for a melodious song of gratitude and motivation.


1 My Life 3:00
2 Best Of Me 3:51
3 Maximum Damage (feat. Headie One) 2:51
4 Mukulu 2:43
5 GWAGWALADA (With Bnxn, Kizz Daniel & Seyi Vibez) 3:08
6 Pidgin & English 3:38
7 Sweet Tea (Aduke) 2:29
8 Realize (feat. taves) 2:13
9 Party Don’t Stop 2:42
10 Right Energy 2:34
11 PRAY 2:57
12 Say My Name 3:12
13 Toxic 2:36
14 Regret (feat. 2Baba) 3:14
15 Final Answer (feat. Popcaan) 2:32

Album Theme

BNXN is an artist who finds inspiration in his vulnerability. His lyrics and melodies are carefully constructed to evoke feelings in listeners. Before the album release, BNXN had indicated that he would tell his truth, express his feelings and his emotional state, and address the issues he had previously chosen to avoid. The album “Sincerely, Benson” is built on BNXN’s perspective on love and other relationships, success, and even his flaws.

Production Credits

Tempoe, Kheil Stone Music, Magicsticks, SAK PASE & Sarz worked the album’s production.


Back to top button