G Herbo “Survivor’s Remorse: A Side & B Side” Album Review

Survivor’s Remorse: A Side & B Side

G Herbo

    • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
    • Date: 10 Oct, 2022
    • Content: explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 25
  • ℗ 2022 Machine Entertainment Group LLC, under exclusive license to Republic Records, a division of UMG Recordings, Inc

“Survivor’s Remorse” is the product of all that G Herbo has gone through; it contains duality from struggle to victory. It includes heavy-hitting peers like Jeremih, Future, Offset, Gunna, Benny The Butcher, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Young Thug, Meek Mill, Conway, and Kodak Black and was created with some of his most amazing songs to date. It has all the makings of a historic and pivotal cultural statement. He first put out Side A before releasing the B Side.

Album Cover Art

G Herbo &Quot;Survivor'S Remorse: A Side &Amp; B Side&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, June 14, 2024

Herbo is in a room with other people, but with the spotlight graciously pouring down its rays on Herbo, somehow those other people in the room don’t matter as much anymore. Now in the red shadows, they appear like random acts in a movie that are only there to support the lead actor and give shape to the Herbo story; the story of a survivor. One burdened with Survivor’s Remorse.

Tracks and Features

The 25-track album opens with a Yoshon feature. The track titled “FWM(F**k With Me)” begins with a phone convo between himself, his son and his grandma and which ends with his son’s voice in the background. Herbo talks about his steady rise before jumping straight to slick talk while recognizing the fam. Amazing Trap instrumental, great vocal delivery: perfect blend.

The second track, “Flashbacks,” features Jeremih and begins with the sonorous background vocals of a lady which ushers in Herbo’s verse that is riddled with messages for his critics on a typical Trap beat. The song content follows goes the same route taken by the opening track: slick talk. Jeremih swoops in to save tbe day by rendering a sultry chorus which gave the track structure while he stayed highlighting the struggles faced on the road to success and brotherhood love.

Offset comes in on “Aye” to join in the slick talk party. Herbo being the party host of course follows suit but also speaks against fake friends saying how much he “hates those.” G Herbo and Future collaborate on “Blues” and it is a great listen. It’s well-composed Trap tune that hosts awesome delivery of verses and chorus by the duo respectively. Beside the usual slick talk, the wordplay on the track is commendable to some extent.

The track featuring Benny the Butcher, “Real Rap,” is what it thinks it is. From the fantastic beat sequencing and composition, to the lyrics that would have you nodding to the excellent deliveries. “Real Rap” is indeed real rap. Benny and Herbo go god-mode on this track, telling their stories while dropping inspiring messages. They, at some point, drift off into some slick but what’s new?

“Paid,” another great song on the album, begins with a dialogue and a crying child, believed to be baby Essex. The slick talk shows up again even as he also tries to highlight family bonds. He touches on personal struggles and how he has had to work hard in order to shoulder his kin and generally his evolution overtime. “Shordie” features Gunna who talks about his love interest and his undying admiration for her.

Other features on the project including A Boogie-with-da-Hoodie on “Me myself and I,” “Breathe Slow” with Yung Thug, “Machines” with Conway the Machine, and “All That” with Kodak Black, came together pretty good and will definitely leave fans of these featured acts in awe of their fave’s delivery. The closing track of the album is a tribute to Juice WRLD and is titled “Letter to Juice.” Herbo comes in humming before delivering an emotional message in his lyrics. He gives credit to the work and rise of the deceased rapper and pays his respects.






1 FWM G Herbo & Yosohn 2:21
2 Flashbacks (feat. Jeremih) G Herbo 2:53
3 Aye (feat. Offset) G Herbo 2:11
4 Blues (feat. Future) G Herbo 2:25
5 Shaderoom G Herbo 2:33
6 4 Minutes of Hell, Pt. 6 G Herbo 4:39
7 Real Rap (feat. Benny the Butcher) G Herbo 3:13
8 Paid G Herbo & Essex 2:38
9 Shordie (feat. Gunna) G Herbo 2:56
10 After That G Herbo 2:55
11 Outside Looking In G Herbo 3:59
12 Survivor’s Outro G Herbo 2:50
13 Sleepless Nights G Herbo 2:18
14 History G Herbo 2:46
15 Change (Gun Shots) G Herbo 2:25
16 Me, Myself & I (feat. A Boogie wit da Hoodie) G Herbo 3:41
17 Breathe Slow (feat. Young Thug) G Herbo 3:36
18 No Guts, No Glory G Herbo 2:45
19 Machines (feat. Conway the Machine) G Herbo 3:44
20 Torn G Herbo 2:54
21 It’s Something In Me G Herbo 2:42
22 Him G Herbo 2:40
23 All That (feat. Kodak Black) G Herbo 1:49
24 Remorse Outro G Herbo 2:14
25 Letter To Juice G Herbo 4:29

Album Theme

On the new album, he considers his journey while reminiscing about everything he has accomplished and displaying brave vulnerability.

Production Credits

AriaTheProducer, ATL Jacob, Ayo Sim, Bans, Bobby Kritical, Boi-1da and host of other producers handled the album’s production.


Back to top button