Nas “Magic 2” Album Review

Magic 2


  • Genre: Rap
  • Date: 21 Jul, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Region: USA
  • Track(s): 11
  • ℗ 2023 Mass Appeal

Nas reunites with Hit-Boy, the studio architect behind his most recent run of success, for “Magic 2,” a song that sees him bringing the fire of his 90s recordings into a new era. This will be Nas’ fifth album in the last three years. ‘King’s Disease,’ his critically praised work from 2020, brought Jones his first Grammy Award. ‘King’s Disease II’ and ‘Magic’ were dropped the following year.

The latest album the New York icon released was ‘King’s Disease III,’ the third and concluding installment of the ‘King’s Disease’ trilogy, which came out last year. The album also features 21 Savage and 50 Cent, the two rappers we never thought would ever collaborate with Nas. Impossible is truly nothing.

Album Cover Art

Nas &Quot;Magic 2&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, May 23, 2024

The cover album is more or less a before and after. Nas reimagined the old shot and appeared with a replica of the old outfit and headphones but with a different appearance. A more mature one, indicating growth.

Tracks and Features

Following the introduction, the first track, “Abracadabra,” is a glittering trap opener with Nasty Nas threatening to make anyone who tries him grimy.

While “Office Hours,” featuring 50 Cent, finds the two formerly feuding artists working together over a soulful boom bap instrumental, with a group of Fredos obviously alluding to The Godfather II. Unfortunately, the 50s verse could have been lengthier. If you’ve been following hip-hop for a while, you’ll know Nas and 50 Cent have had a long feud. As a result, we never saw the two artists collaborate when they were in their twenties and thirties. So, it’s better late than never, right? Nas and 50 eventually chose to combine in “Office Hours,” at 48 and 49 (respectively), and they don’t disappoint.

On “Motion,” Nas gives his most spectacular rap performance to date. The NYC rapper says his stuff early and frequently, propelled by this cunning, sinister sound. Along with bragging about the sizable checks he’s getting, he also flaunts his outstanding cars and disheartens his rivals. Nas seems quite competitive throughout this song, which is impressive. Yes, the flows he plays with are excellent, but his aggressive tone really stands out.

Beyond the intro, “Black Magic” is the shortest and unquestionable the best track on this album. Your attention is genuinely captured by Nas’s vigor and his exceptionally consistent flows. Additionally, you’d like the way his lyrics explore the curses that people cast on others, frequently motivated by jealously. If you’re a Nigerian, you’ve probably heard warnings about things like this. Not to be forgotten is the captivating beat Hit-Boy provides for Nas in “Black Magic.” It emanates an enigmatic, odd, and soothing attraction all at once, sort of like Brittany Spears.

Back in 1991, if you had told Magic Johnson that he would ultimately win, he probably would have smacked you in the face for being impolite. In addition to his long list of outstanding accomplishments, he just made history by becoming one of the few minority owners in the NFL. Nas’ ode to the Lakers’ all-time great, “Earvin Magic Johnson,” is flawless. Nas discusses his come-up with his chest out in the song, which is fittingly propelled by this jubilant beat. He also mentions providing his squad with some outstanding assists and earning a number of chips on the streets. You’ll be energized by the song’s hook. It also has boss-like bars that ought to motivate you to perform well.

“Bokeem Woodbine” keeps things dusty by switching up the bells and strings with more keys to provide encouragement for the trappers living ounce-to-ounce. With lush orchestration, “What This All Really Means” recalls the first time he ever saw his name on a flyer, yet “Slow It Down” admits he needs money every day to return to the boom bap.

“One Mic, One Gun” is all about growth and development. 21 Savage and Nas talk about becoming kings, ignoring rumors, making investments, and reaching greatness in the song. While the former uses a sneaky, mellow rhyming style over the joyous Hit-Boy-produced beat, the latter takes a more bouncy and enthusiastic approach. When rappers adopt a mature approach to settling conflict, it’s admirable.

“Pistols On Your Album Cover” hooks up the kicks & snares with a mellow loop reminding that he can still murder anyone on wax & forget where they buried.


1 Intro Nas 0:39
2 Abracadabra Nas 2:46
3 Office Hours (feat. 50 Cent) Nas 3:52
4 Black Magic Nas 2:36
5 Motion Nas 2:52
6 Bokeem Woodbine Nas 3:00
7 Earvin Magic Johnson Nas 3:27
8 What This All Really Means Nas 3:00
9 Slow it Down Nas 3:30
10 Pistols On Your Album Cover Nas 3:23
11 One Mic, One Gun Nas & 21 Savage 2:49

Album Theme

A mature display of growth and success. Most importantly, it preaches the gospel of burying the hatchet like grownups.

Production Credits

Hit-Boy executive-produced the album.


Back to top button