Pentatonix “Holidays Around the World” Album Review

Holidays Around the World


    • Genre: Holiday
    • Date: 28 Oct, 2022
    • Content: Not-explicit
    • Region: USA
    • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2022 RCA Records, a division of Sony Music Entertainment

Pentatonix, a pop acapella group, has released “Holidays Around the World,” their sixth Christmas album. The LP is their first Christmas offering since the release of Evergreen in October. In a press statement from September, the album’s name and the day of its release were both disclosed. The album’s lead single, “Prayers for the World,” was already released internationally a month prior.

Album Cover Art

Pentatonix &Quot;Holidays Around The World&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 13, 2024

The silhouettes of all band members striking different stance poses can be seen in the background while the attention is focused on the blue and black globe hanging from a thread and glowing on one side.

Tracks and Features

The album opens with a Meghan Trainor-featured track, “Kid on Christmas.” The group harmoniously blend their vocals in sublime fashion and sound as amazing as always. The track makes references to the wishes many would hope for in the Yuletide season. Meghan’s sonorous vocals soar on the track as she gives a terrific rendition.

The next track, “Jingle Bells” features Lang Lang. This is an edited version of the original popular Christmas song as the group churn out verses that add spice to the original tune as we know it. The group’s vocalizations and the way they complement each other is a beauty to listen to as the background piano chords gives the listener a nostalgic feeling for the season.

“It’s The Most Wonderful Time of the Year,” another edited version of the original tune as we know it, comes next and the group gives this track an “African touch.” The rendition and modulations on the track make it a lovely listen and a great playlist choice for Christmas. The next track, “Love Came on Christmas,” is also an edited/cover version of “Joy to the World” and also features interpolations of Grace Lokwa’s “Kumama Papa.” The track’s arrangement is excellent and the group does a wonderful job of delivery as per usual. The lyrics lay emphasis on spreading love always and especially in the season of Christmas.

“Star on Top” sees Pentatonix giving listeners that lovey-dovey vibe while making references to the Christmas tree and the Star that was followed by the Maggi, generally painting a beautiful picture of lovers who truly care for each other. The beat is Pop-like with fantastic composition too. Hiba Tawaji is featured on “Hark, the Herald Angels Sing” and along with the rest of other edited/cover versions of originals on the album, this definitely deserves all the plaudits it can possibly get. Hiba adds an Arabic touch with her vocals and alongside Pentatonix Crew, makes this track a beautiful listen.

“Christmas in Our Heart” features Lea Salonga. The beat-boxing is pretty excellent and could be easily mistaken for instrumentation, even. Love on Christmas and the appreciation of the reason for the season serve as the song’s gentle messages. “Feliz Navidad” features La Santa Cecilia. The Latina feel of the track and the banjo chords are unmistakable! The group render a soothing version of the popular Christmas song and send their Christmas wishes in a melodious tone. Features with Shreya Ghoshal on “Invincible” and Hikakin & Seikin on “Last Christmas” are both beautiful tunes worth the listen and re-listen. The closing track, “Silent Night,” features The King’s Singers. This version, as seen with the others, is an edited/cover. One fully accapella and slightly different from the original but still an amazing listen. A real emotional and serenading way to end the album.


1 Kid On Christmas (feat. Meghan Trainor) 3:22
2 Jingle Bells (feat. Lang Lang) 2:46
3 It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year 2:50
4 Love Came On Christmas (Joy To The World x Kumama Papa) [feat. Grace Lokwa] 4:08
5 Star On Top 3:23
6 Prayers For This World 3:42
7 Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (feat. Hiba Tawaji) 3:26
8 Christmas In Our Hearts (feat. Lea Salonga) 3:25
9 Feliz Navidad (feat. La Santa Cecilia) 2:48
10 Invincible (feat. Shreya Ghoshal) 3:17
11 Last Christmas (feat. HIKAKIN & SEIKIN) 3:17
12 Silent Night (feat. The King’s Singers) 4:25

Album Theme

Bringing back the Christmas cheer while giving Holiday songs a new, different touch.

Production Credits

The album was produced by Ben Bram, Ben Parry, Brandon Paddock, Gian Stone, Jon Levine, Martin Johnson, Oussama Rahbani, Pentatonix & Toby Gad.


Back to top button